We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Tapas in a lovely setting”
Review of Red Snapper

Red Snapper
Ranked #31 of 307 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cool and hip road side restaurant where you can indulge yourself with creative flavours of the world. A wide range of delicious sandwiches and other goodies during daytime. An exciting list of small plates,starters and main courses during the night. A nice bar environment with fine wines,cocktails and spirits.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas in a lovely setting”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had been in Ko Lanta for almost a week and fancied going somewhere special for our Valentines Day dinner. After speaking with our hotel, they suggested we make a booking as it gets very busy and we managed to get in for 8:30pm. It was still quite busy at this time - definitely make a booking as there aren't many tables.
Set in a lovely leafy garden, Red Snapper offers a selection of Tapas and Western mains. We opted to share some tapas and were not disappointed. For 2 we had about 6 tapas and 1 salad. Probably slighty too much for 2 but we managed to finish most of it.
The Indian Lamb Curry dish was a standout and we enjoyed their take on a Ceasar salad (grilled asparagus, sundried tomatoes). The tortilla was a bit average compared to all the bold flavours of the other dishes.
Decent selection of wine with glasses for about $5USD.
Obviously compared to the other local restaurants on the island, this is pricier though lovely for a special meal or if you are craving western treats (I sure as hell loved their brie with cranberry compot!).
Service was fine - the waitress we had was lovely though another brought us some of our dishes and she was quite abrupt.
Definitely worth a visit while in Lanta.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    158
    68
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Why red snapper is a snip - eat early so you don't miss out”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Westerners living locally rate this their favourite restaurant and no wonder. The food is delicious and the service is efficient and friendly. We paid half the price we'd expect to pay for a similar meal in the UK. The Dutch pair who run Red Snapper have devised an extensive and interesting menu. I was in a party of six. We hadn't booked and arrived about 8pm and were lucky to get the last table in a corner of the attractive outdoor setting. I'd advise booking - would hate you to miss out. And yes, red snapper is on the menu. If you enjoy fish, it's cooked to perfection but don't leave it too late to order in case they've run out. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great western food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you're looking for a break from thai food without having to eat outrageously bad tourist fare, look no further. Everything we ordered was refined and tasty, and the meat quality was surprisingly good considering that you are in remote Lanta. I would especially recommend the lentil soup and the roasted duck breast with caramelized pears. The desserts were a bit disappointing compared to the rest of the dinner, so I would recommend to focus on starters and main courses.
Ko Lanta is a very inexpensive place, but I still found the prices reasonable in this restaurant, given the quality of the food. Service however was fairly poor, inattentive and unfriendly, but it was compensated by the food and nice outdoor setting.
I would recommend to book in advance, as they seem to be fully booked every evening, even during lower season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nordavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed the food here. Chorizo risotto was a favourite. It's only overpriced if you are used to paying for thai food in a beach shack. Still half the price of what we would have paid in UK. Definitely recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank HNelson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice food but overpriced”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambience nice food too, but bit overpriced i think it s because it addresses to foreigners but is too much.. But the food is really nice. Only disappointing was the coffee at the end wasn t espresso just a black light coffee. But in thailand is rare to find good strong espresso.

Helpful?
Thank Johnout4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Snapper also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing