We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting and delicious food.”
Review of Red Snapper

Red Snapper
Ranked #31 of 291 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A cool and hip road side restaurant where you can indulge yourself with creative flavours of the world. A wide range of delicious sandwiches and other goodies during daytime. An exciting list of small plates,starters and main courses during the night. A nice bar environment with fine wines,cocktails and spirits.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delightful setting and delicious food.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

You NEED a reservation. The restaurant opens at 17:00.

No matter what you choose, it`s going to taste really good. The big platters are enough for one hungry adult but just for the sake of it, order some of those small dishes as well. Have a blast!

Don`t buy cocktails here. They are so watered down that I could successfully do open heart surgery after 4-5 rounds.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vdodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    158
    68
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best food I've had in Thailand”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was extremely impressed with Red Snapper. The atmosphere was great, with a tastefully lit garden setting. Tables are well-spaced so you have privacy. The service was very friendly, and the food was beautiful- I have never gotten so excited by a ceasar salad, but the perfectly cooked asparagus, delcious dressing and incredible home made bread made this one more than a cut above the rest. On the drinks side, the cocktails are wonderful- I recommend the Thaipirosca. they also do an excellent coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fyrelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great meal, interesting little place.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed our meal so much , we went again!!! The menu mainly consists of tapas style dishes, although there is a section of 'Large Plates'. We liked choosing about 4 tapas sized dishes and sharing. All very tasty. We booked a table both times which we were glad about, because some people were turned away because they were so busy!!! Their good reputation makes them very popular.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vgaymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAINES UPON THAMES UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Tantalising Experience for the Tastebuds”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful ambience, and a gastronomic delight.
The food was delicious and superbly presented, and my group of 4 all had different starters, but for the main course we all had red snapper which was delightful.
Just one criticism-They do not accept credit cards, so when we came to pay the bill we didn't
have enough cash-but the ATM was a short distance away.
All in all a wonderful experience, and a romantic setting, and would highly recommend
this dining experience, and it was a welcome change from Thai food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank perryoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Forest Setting”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very good food and service. Extremely popular restaurant and no tables were available without reservations. Very nice setting in the gardens. Friendly staff and excellent food. We had tomato soup, chicken, meatballs and blueberry tart. Of all the restaurants in the Saladan area Red Snapper is the best. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Snapper also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing