We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Best House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best House
Ranked #36 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at best house for three weeks this February. Our experience could not have been better or more pleasant. The owners Bao and her husband were very kind and accommodating. The location of the hotel and the cleanliness of the rooms were highlights. Will most certainly go back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SohiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have booked the room in a "Best house", after I arrived there and asked the lady if i can see the room before i pay for my stay she said: "It is the last room, you don't have to take it, I am not going to give it to you". And that's it ! I was left without the place to stay during high season on the island! Unbelievable. Very unplesant, rude and unstable woman. Besides there is no hot water in the rooms, if you want to take a shower you need to go to another hostel. The area and the hostel itself is very dirty. Surely it's not a BEST HOUSE......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allohame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Best House in January for about a week and were perfectly happy with the value for money.

We spent 700THB a night, which yes, is more than some of the cheaper beach bungalows, but equally we had a spacious room that was cleaned every day, clean sheets, clean towels, a comfortable bed - what else could you ask for?! We only had a cold shower which could be challenging at times, but mostly it's 30°C plus outside - so a cold shower isn't the worst thing in the world. (and we were made aware of it at the time of booking!)

The owners were very friendly and welcoming, helped us with any request we had.

We didn't have breakfast at Best House, as we preferred a breakfast location right by the beach, so can't comment on this.

There's a great book swap shelf where you will definitely find a good holiday read, no matter which language you are looking for.

Any insects...? Maybe a few ants somewhere, but as someone mentioned before: you are in Thailand - expect it!

The place is a one minute walk away from the beach, so very, very convenient.

By the way, coming from the pier and getting a tuktuk, you shouldn't pay more than 100THB to get here! ;-)

And if you're looking for a great place to have a snack: the guy with the tuktuk in front of the supermarket around the corner probably sells the best Phad Thai in Koh Lanta!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaE1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been to Lanta 7 years in the last 9, and we seem to end up at The Best House for the beginning of our stay every time! Lanta is very busy over the Christmas period, even more so this year (2013/2014) as there was a wedding at Somewhere Else for a regular guest there, Lachy, who's been every year since 2006! There were 150 guests, so most of the nearby accommodation was already booked and this year, we hadn't planned to visit, but ended up here due to a last minute change of plans!

Belle is the owner and runs it with her husband. As we've been many times (with my boyfriend originally coming in 2005 for 3 months), we have a friend here now, who manages Arrow House. We messaged her to help with finding us somewhere and she said that Belle had a room, downstairs in the main building. We have only stayed upstairs previously. We paid 700 baht a night for 4 nights, even though we were only supposed to stay for 2 nights until our accommodation at Arrow was ready (we didn't end up at Arrow, but are staying somewhere equally as nice, at Peaceful House!).

Yes, The Best House is mostly a backpacker's accommodation, that's what it was originally built for, and it has mostly fan rooms with cold water showers. Back in 2005, there was only one or two resorts on Lanta that had hot showers, which is why you see bungalows and rooms advertised as "hot shower" on the boards outside the accommodations on the island! Most rooms were also fan rooms and not air con, but you're paying 700-900 baht a night at The Best House, not 1500-2500 for air con with fridge, hot water and TV!

Of all the rooms we have stayed in over the years, they have been cleaned every day, with towels replaced nearly every day as well. The sheets and towels are usually new, and they are always clean. You will experience some noise, whichever room you stay in, because you are on the beach where the bars are! There is a slight issue with doors banging as guests come in and out of their rooms, but if you're reading this, then you've either been to The Best House or are planning on going, SHUT THE DOOR QUIETLY and don't let it bang! It's down to the guest to close a door and not slam it!!

They don't do food, except a "light breakfast" which is advertised when you're at reception. They do have tea/coffee for 30 baht a cup in reception and not in room services, and no, there isn't water in the room. It's budget accommodation! We had 5 friends who stayed in 2005 for 3 months in 3 rooms, with no complaints!!

I would recommend The Best House as a stopping point, to get your head down, whilst you look for another place on Long Beach, because it's cheap, central and you can book online.

On the note of the "insects" that people have mentioned on here, you're in Thailand, you get insects! You can stay in Rawi Warin or Pimalai and get cockroaches, mosquitoes and flies, it's because it's a tropical climate and they get in!!

Room Tip: You will find it quieter on the ground floor, on the LD Bungalow side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisamaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

After arriving by boat at the harbour of Ban Saladaan (north of Lanta Yai) we visited a few places where to stay.
We finally chose the Best House Guest House.
The price was very good for the value.
We negociated 1000 bath per day for 4 nights (25 euros per night).
The room had air conditioning, a big bathroom, 2 good beds and a terrace in front of the beach.
We were very satified by our choice. Good price for the value. Nice room. Smiling service.
Nice location 100 m from the beach.
Beautiful beach, good restaurants and bars on the beach.
Not far from Ban Saladaan (10 minutes by motor bike)
We recommend to rent a motorbike at least one day. The prices are low and the roads are good.

Room Tip: ask for a room in front of the beach this muslim island is quiet : better for families and couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and clean, Wi-Fi has excellent coverage. Owners were very friendly and the room service was also very good. However we missed a hot shower which would be convenient especially during rainy days and also a free drinking water would be nice, we got used to it in similar types of accommodations. The adjacent area is full of budget backpacker guest houses that can generate a party noise during night.

The beach was very close and one of the best of Ko Lanta thought don't expect to have it for yourself. There is a volleyball down field, where locals play and you can join the game, probably daily around five.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P4l4di4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best House provides good value accommodation just a minute or two from the beach. My upstairs fan room cost 800 baht a night and was clean and spacious, with a balcony that offered a sea view and was a lovely place to enjoy the afternoon breeze. The decor was simple, clean and functional; a very comfy bed, desk/ dresser and wardrobe. The room was cleaned every day The staff were pleasant, and the breakfast (not included in the price) was fine. I would definitely stay here again. The only downside was nothing to do with the hotel itself- the loud 'doof doof' music from Pirate Bar, situated on the beach. On Sundays they go on to the early hours- either join them or bring earplugs.

Room Tip: My room was upstairs, on the left of the corridor. Rooms on the right are probably quieter as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,049 reviews
0.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peaceful House
Peaceful House
#16 of 210 in Ko Lanta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best House

Property: Best House
Address: 5/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Best House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing