We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ko Lanta is great place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lantawadee Resort & Spa
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ko Lanta is great place to be”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Hotel is located not far away from nice beach: around 5 minuts walking. Rooms are small and simple but ok. Last day when we didn't left tips for cleaning stuff they didn't clean our room at all! Breakfast is ok: you can choose from menu. There is currency exchange, spa, bars and restaurants. But place is quite and area is good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia88-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
6
63
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We found this nice little resort the only available option for our Christmas trip to Koh Lanta. The first time on the island, I had really no idea which hotel/ location is best, but I definitely didn't want to spent an awful lot of money either. Lantawadee is a very cozy small resort close to Long Beach - in my opinion a very lovely beach to just relax and chill. We got a bungalow in the back, with 4 poster bed, TV, hot shower, AC and terrace. It was sufficient and nice for a beach stay as usually you don't spent much time in the room anyway. The breakfast was included and tasty, during the day there is not much to eat as well as in the evening. You have to take a walk along Long Beach where is plenty of beach restos or take a tuk tuk to the nearby areas. We rented the Bike from Lantawadee and also extended our stay from originally 2 nights to 4 nights - it was just too comfy and lazy to leave early. Overall I enjoyed the stay with Lantawadee, nothing fancy but a quiet and nice bungalow, 2 minutes walk to the beach, friendly staff and laid back atmosphere. Internet only worked in the Lobby area, but at least free to use!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mona_bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I booked lantawadee for 3 nights, but finally extended to almost 2 weeks. I've stayed in different bungalows (sometimes I extended too late for the same bungalow:-)), and all were pretty clean and quiet (especially in the rear part of this resort). It is possible to bargain a good deal, especially if you stay longer. There are some computer for internet, wifi and a pool table in the lounge. It is not hard to contact other travelers in this resort and it was good fun with the staff of lantawadee, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonleyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We "accidently" stayed at Lantawadee after finding out the resort we originally booked across the street was more of a building site than a resort (check our review on Pearl Beach Resort). Lantawadee is called "Resort and Spa" but there is no spa facilities, unless the river running by would be considered as one? It would then be more a SPM than SPA (Sanum Per Mosquitoes rather than Sanum Per Aqua!). There was not even possibility of a massage in low season, nor bar and restaurant service. The bungalow was average, not immaculate, but good enough after 24 hours traveling. The resort is located quite far from anything. We payed 800 baths for the night, which really was expensive for what we got. After that night, we checked in Lanta Castaway, and got much better value for less money! (read our review). I can't say for high season but I would definitely not recommend Lantawadee in the low season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLR881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I originally booked into this resort for 2 nights with a view to look around and find alternative accommdation on arrival, this is because i booked from the internet and to be honest wasnt to sure if the pics would live up to the real thing.

However i ended up extending my stay to 7 nights and obtained an excellent deal in doing so.

For THB800 i had a double room exc brkfst, four poster bed, air con and a hot shower!

Like another review the only down side was the horrendous live music bar that went ontil the very early hours, i didnt get a great sleep the whole stay!!

Room Tip: ask for a queitroom away from the river (mozzies)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Lantawadee is a nice resort on Long Beach, the staff and the owners are very friendly and very helpful, everything is very clean and well mentained, the large garden is also very nice. The bungalows are large, beds are very good. So a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magstk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I have to agree with the review that "JandJontour" posted

Had planned to stay at the "Pearl Beach Resort" in Ko Lanta, but on arrival,(Without having made a prior booking), all their bungalows with AC had been in use by other guests. They did, however have a bungalow available with Fan only. Having lived in Asia for 3 years beginning back in 2005, I have grown accustomed to AC and prefer having the option of having AC available if I find it too hot but more importantly humid.

I therefore opted not to take the "Bungalow with fan only" at Pearl Beach resort. The owner/staff member I spoke to at Pearl Beach Resort was very helpful, spoke with perfect English, and suggested I try the Lantawadee resort.
I walked across the small laneway adjacent to both resorts and found that the "Lantawadee Resort and Spa" did indeed have a bungalow available with AC.

The girl I spoke with there was also very helpful, and again spoke very good English.

Beautiful, spotlessly clean bungalow, Large bed, Very clean sheets , towels etc.

Best bits... Cleanliness. Veranda with Hammock.... (Spent quite a bit of relaxing in the Hammock watching the regular heavy rainfall during late afternoon, which usually lasted for no more than an hour at most.....extremely relaxing). The sound of the numerous water features dotted around the central area which was surrounded by the few bungalows there. The "Toilet/Shower area", which as described was in an annex attached to each individual bungalow, but had a different roof than the bungalow itself. My Toilet/shower area was covered with netting, so you get the feeling that you are outdoors as you look up at the trees, and the numerous leaves fallen on the netting... Very nice I have to say. Communal garden area with it's numerous water features was regularly maintained, and again was in perfect condition.

Whilst not on the beach itself the resort was literally only 3 minutes walk down a little laneway before your reached the sandy beach, which had a few nice laid back bars/cafes.

The reception area had free wifi for those so inclined, personally I try to leave the whole "technology reliance" back at home, when I holiday in Asia, but I suppose it can be useful if you need to organise flights etc online. They also had a computer with internet access for a small fee.

The resort's location was well described by other reviewers, the only thing I'd add is that it's about 10 minutes by taxi/ motorbike taxi from the pier where you arrive by boat from either Krabi/Ao Nang on the mainland or Ko phi phi , phuket etc .

The only negative thing I'd say about my stay at this resort, and it's nothing to do with the resort itself, but a comment on a bar/pub on the main road which is about 100meters from the resort. During my stay of 5 nights, my sleep on 2 of the nights was disturbed, (non existent might be a more appropriate term:), due to music from a Live band playing at the bar.... Volume on their speakers I believe was turned up to MAX!! This occurred at the weekend, and continued til about 4am each morning. Perhaps I should have been at the bar and not trying to sleep:)

Again, I stress that this bar was not in anyway part of the resort, but on the main road which ran close by to the resort.

Hints and Tips in general...

Boat trip from Ao Nang or Krabi to Kho Lanta...>> Whilst the Boat timetable quotes 1.5 -2 hours journey time, I would recommend allowing yourself more time due to unforseen delays in departure etc. I missed my flight from Krabi to Bangkok, due to the boat leaving Kho Lanta 25 minutes later than scheduled.

The motorbike taxis>> These are basically a motorbike with a basic "Sidecar" attached. They can have a tendancy to ride these far too fast, and in an unnecessarily dangerous manner, (ie, overtaking dangerously etc)... Just tell the Rider to SLOW DOWN!! (It's your life they are risking).. Having said that, I rented a moped for the duration of my stay, and whilst out and about on the roads riding the moped, I noticed several of these motorbike taxis riding very carefully, usually when carrying foreign tourists/expats? who had their children with them. I'm certain that the parents made certain that the riders were told to take care, and ride slowly.

Renting a motorcycle>>> You can rent mopeds from almost all resorts. Having lived in Vietnam for several years (Ho Chi Minh City),and ridden a moped there, where the traffic is simply "Crazy", I would strongly recommend that travellers take care on mopeds... Take your time, ride defensively, always expect the other Car/ moped to do something stupid and dangerous, (Invariably they will), watch out for and ride slowly over any sand on the road surface, watch out for pick up trucks overtaking you in a dangerous manner, (it will happen often!) ..... oh and wear a helmet. I have seen tourists on bikes wearing nothing but a pair of shorts and flip flops/thongs on their feet. All very well until they fall off at 40 mph.

"Hideaways"......... The main road passing by Long Beach (where this resort is situated) has numerous little laneways leading down towards the beach... initially these dirt tracks look like there is nothing much at the end of them.... I suggest you go and explore, particularly if you are on a bike, there are some amazing "hideaways" at the end of these laneways.... peaceful bars/ chillout resorts etc etc. Alternatively, from anywhere on the beach, just walk along the beach for several hundred meters and you will find these places also.

Prices..
Flight from Bangkok to Krabi with airasia>>>> Anything up to 100 euro
Taxi from Krabi Airport to Ao Nang...( From where you get the boat to Kho Lanta)>>>> 600 Bhat.....( I negotiated it down to 400 bhat). Time 35 mins. ( You can also get a boat from Krabi pier to Ao Nang, times of boats differ...)

Boat from Ao Nang pier (on mainland to Kho Lanta)>>> 470 bhat approx... 1.5 - 2 hours (see note above re delays).

Taxi from Kho Lanta pier to resorts on Long beach ...>> Max 100 bhat but I'm sure you could negotiate a better deal. (Note If you book the return boat trip at the lantawadee resort, from Kho Lanta to another island/mainland, the price for boat AND taxi was 450 bhat Total..(approx).

Moped rental on Kho Lanta... 300 bhat approx per day... fuel can be bought either at the main service station near the pier or from one of the numerous people selling at the side of the road... just look out for a table with a few bottles containing yellow liquid(the fuel). 40 bhat per bottle.... 3 or 4 bottles should easily fill most moped's fuel tanks, and that'll last you most of the day if you are touring the island.

Prices for the rooms at Lawantadee change throughout the season so just call them for latest prices.... Mid March.. Room with AC and breakfast... 1500 bhat per night. Without Breakfast 1300 bhat per night.

The island is definitely a more tranquil island than others I've been too, and I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for big loud parties etc...
On the island there are numerous activities to partake in, including the obvious beach activities, snorkelling, scuba diving,(Several dive shops), Elephant Riding.

There's also a large national park with several animals to see in their natural habitat.

And for those of you who like Leonardo di Caprio, he apparently has a house on the Island, somewhere in the centre of the island. It's location is marked on some of the maps available at resorts. I chose not to seek out Hollywood "A" listers myself.

That's about it, enjoy!!!

Oh and buy Mosquito repellent spray!
...and watch out for the frogs:)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcanthony987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.7 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#27 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#41 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#53 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#47 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantawadee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantawadee Resort & Spa

Property: Lantawadee Resort & Spa
Address: 178 Moo.3 Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantawadee Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lantawadee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing