We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I lived here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As soon as they take you past the pool and up to your room, you'll want to stay here permanently. Just imagine your bedroom and balcony with a view of daily ocean sunsets. The sweet calm waters speckled with morning fishing boats carry the sounds of waves splashing against the cliffs below. This is your paradise. The rooms are modern, the pool is cool, and the service is first class. Ko Lanta is not a party destination, so only go there if you want to rest and relaxation. You can rent a scooter from the hotel at great price to ride around the island for a full 24 hrs. The island is a sometimes littered, but the hotel is immaculate. It is close to a 7-Eleven and also to the popular Phad Thai Rock'n'roll restaurant. The hotel is run by a Belgium father and daughter. The daughter is on site and manages the hotel very professionally and is welcoming to all guests. The father who drove me to the airport is friendly as well. Arrange with the hotel to take you to and from the hotel, it is worth the price. Taxis are not abundant on the island and it will probably double your travel time.

Room Tip: Every room faces to the sea, but obviously you want to stay on the 3rd floor which will give you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 704 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking for something secluded, romantic and fancy, Houben is it. As the title states, the view was breathtaking. I was in the privilege suite and it was worth every penny. Our sole purpose there was for some rest & relaxation, and rest & relaxation it was. The staff (can't recall all the names save for Shanna) were all very friendly and helpful. It was a fantabulous stay, so thank you. I would definitely make a trip back during the peak season.
If there was something they could look into, would be the taste of some of the food and also the DVD/VCD collection which could be more updated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moo_Salz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We decided to spend a couple of days on Ko Lanta Island. We found a bargain on Agoda website and booked a 1 bed apartment at The Houben. From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble.
The modern boutique type hotel only has 15 rooms all with a sea view so it is wonderfully intimate. The 1 bed apartment we booked had a private outdoor jacuzzi, a large picture window on the cliffs edge and a massive comfortable bed. The hotel was quite quiet whilst we were there so the infinity pool was ours completely. It was truly relaxing and had a stunning view over the ocean.
The breakfast was superb and we ate there one night and that was good too.
The local area was quiet as it was low season but we found the Why Not bar on the beach which was a short walk away. Had lunch at Pad Thai Rock n Roll restaurant which was lovely and just down from the hotel.
My only small gripe was there were no movie channels on the TV which was a shame but they did have a good selection of DVD's which you can borrow if the weather is poor.
Rent a motorcycle and take a trip around the island. It is beautiful and we found some stunning locations.
Will definitely go back again.
A special thanks to the young Belgium girl who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: The 1 bed apartments are worth the extra money as they are detached and completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluemoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear WheelsM,

Thank you for your kind sharing the experience at The Houben on Trip Advisor. Thank you for our team that they could reach your stay . Let me know on your returning date , our loyalty programme is well prepared to serve you .

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My partner and I stay in the one bedroom suite over a weekend getaway. The moment we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by the staff with welcome drinks and met Shana the owner's daughter. Its the low season so very few guests in the hotel. Stunning view to wake up to every morning, lovely breakfast. Shana was very helpful in every way accommodating to our needs. We rented a car and drove around the island to explore as it was the low season, not many shops and restaurants were open but what we found were more than adequate for food and drinks and chilling out on the beach. Not the right season to go if you are looking to swim in the ocean but good enough with a couple of cocktails and nice chill out music in the bars. Overall, The Houben is a young and sophisticated boutique hotel tucked away from the hustle of the town that every traveller or honeymooners would love to experience here in Krabi, Thailand. The Houben is my only choice of stay whenever I would visit Krabi again. A huge thank you to Shana and team from The Houben for making my stay a very memorable one.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more to get the one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheels M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

i stay 1 week in the houben hotel with very nice swinning pole and very good service for room and for feed.
the hotel desing is modern and during the day it is very quiet .

the breakfaest in the morning was very good and many choice.

the owner walter was vey helpfull and friendly.

i will sure come back to this hotel as soon as possibel.

Room Tip: i stay in the deluxe room with jacuzy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Walter D,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor . It was so great to hear that we could make you enjoy your stay at The Houben Hotel . Please let us know your plan to Koh Lanta , you are always welcome .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned after spending a few days at this lovely boutique hotel.
The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
In a nice quiet area but there are places to eat great cheap food and it's only a short walk to the "why not?" Bar.
Great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domodomo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Domodomo1234 ,

Thank yo for your kind review on Trip Advisor . The Houben Hotel strives on providing a memorable experience for our guests each and every time. Please let us know if you plan on returning to Koh Lanta as we would welcome you to stay with us once again.

Warm regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent property, very clean and great pool area with very spacious jacuzzi.

Included breakfast is a la carte, but the food is fresh and well cooked. The staff never bothered greeting us, and my "good morning!" to them were ignored during our entire stay!?

We had dinner once at the Red Alert restaurant, the experience wasn't great. It would appear the service people actually cooked our food (because they were missing the entire time in the kitchen after we placed our order), the taste of the food was odd, and there was hair in the cocktail (which we were being asked to pay for at check-out, despite the request to remove it from our bill).

There was some confusion around the rates. You can get ~15% off by booking through another website that's linked from Agoda. Although the manager (or maybe owner) tried to explain to us around the systems, processes, etc etc etc that resulted in the "mistake", no attempt/offer was made to adjust the price of our stay. It was only $20USD difference we're talking about per night which I didn't mind paying, but it did bitter our overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Plu 81,
Thank you for kind sharing your experience from The HOuben Hotel at Trip advisor .
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and the view of our hotel . I am however concerned about the poor experience you had during your dinner . Please accept my sincere apology and rest assure that your comments will be used in the most constructive manner. I further appreciate your feedback regarding the rate which your found. We are very aware of the rate , we won't never take higher rate when the customers book direct with us . Please accept my deeply apologize and really do hope that we would have a chance to welcome you sooner.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,099 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $77 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing