We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week for fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

i stay 1 week in the houben hotel with very nice swinning pole and very good service for room and for feed.
the hotel desing is modern and during the day it is very quiet .

the breakfaest in the morning was very good and many choice.

the owner walter was vey helpfull and friendly.

i will sure come back to this hotel as soon as possibel.

Room Tip: i stay in the deluxe room with jacuzy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Walter D,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor . It was so great to hear that we could make you enjoy your stay at The Houben Hotel . Please let us know your plan to Koh Lanta , you are always welcome .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 735 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned after spending a few days at this lovely boutique hotel.
The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
In a nice quiet area but there are places to eat great cheap food and it's only a short walk to the "why not?" Bar.
Great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domodomo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Domodomo1234 ,

Thank yo for your kind review on Trip Advisor . The Houben Hotel strives on providing a memorable experience for our guests each and every time. Please let us know if you plan on returning to Koh Lanta as we would welcome you to stay with us once again.

Warm regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent property, very clean and great pool area with very spacious jacuzzi.

Included breakfast is a la carte, but the food is fresh and well cooked. The staff never bothered greeting us, and my "good morning!" to them were ignored during our entire stay!?

We had dinner once at the Red Alert restaurant, the experience wasn't great. It would appear the service people actually cooked our food (because they were missing the entire time in the kitchen after we placed our order), the taste of the food was odd, and there was hair in the cocktail (which we were being asked to pay for at check-out, despite the request to remove it from our bill).

There was some confusion around the rates. You can get ~15% off by booking through another website that's linked from Agoda. Although the manager (or maybe owner) tried to explain to us around the systems, processes, etc etc etc that resulted in the "mistake", no attempt/offer was made to adjust the price of our stay. It was only $20USD difference we're talking about per night which I didn't mind paying, but it did bitter our overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Plu 81,
Thank you for kind sharing your experience from The HOuben Hotel at Trip advisor .
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and the view of our hotel . I am however concerned about the poor experience you had during your dinner . Please accept my sincere apology and rest assure that your comments will be used in the most constructive manner. I further appreciate your feedback regarding the rate which your found. We are very aware of the rate , we won't never take higher rate when the customers book direct with us . Please accept my deeply apologize and really do hope that we would have a chance to welcome you sooner.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just spent 2 glorious days at this place.
Its a bit expensive by Thai Hotel standards but definitely worth the extra money.
Super clean,classy Villas perched right on the cliffs edge.
Good food at the restaurant and super friendly,helpful staff.
Really you could not ask for a better place to stay on Ko Lanta.
Recommended

Room Tip: If they are available get 1 of the 2 villas right on the cliffs edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snozzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear snozzau,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Trip Advisor . We love reading about how much our guests enjoy their stay not only in our hotel but in our peace island. Your comments will pushing us keep forward to and keep our better standard .

Please let us know any time you are returning so we can personally welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just stayed at the Houben just recently in May. The experience was amazing. The hotel room, service, staff, and facilities are top notch. Koh Lanta is a small, sleepy island - so the hotel you stay at is key, because they will help you with most services, and you will spend a lot of time there. The Houben exceeded in all areas - Shana is one of the main stays at the resort, and she helped us rent a scooter, find all the great beaches and places to visit on the island, even cooked us dinner and made great drinks when we ate at the hotel resturant. She also was very helpful in arranging transportation for us to and from the island - took away all the worry and planning for us! Every room at the Houban has a balcony with a sliding glass door to a poolside view, that also looks over a cliff to the Ocean - fabulous. Just stay here and you'll be happy and well looked over.

Thanks for a wonderful Stay Shana, and the Houban. We hope to be back someday.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Ocean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear j0r3x ,

Thank you for your kind sharing the experience at The Houben on Trip Advisor . Great to hear that we could make you enjoy at here and i would never forget to share your kind comments to our team . Looking forward to having you back in the nearly future,.

Warm regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is a perfect hideout if you want to get away with the busy life. A 2 hour-and-a-half ride from Krabi International Airport including 2 Ferry rides. But the wait is all worth it.

Beautiful scenery from the hotel which located on top of a cliff facing the sea. Big and clean rooms. Pool is always clean. Food is great! But I think the highlight of the place is Shana, the daughter of the owner of the hotel. A very hospitable person who extends her personal touch of serving you. Thank you Shana and the team!

I will definitely suggest this place to everyone.

/Rex

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank j0r3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear j0r3x ,

Thank you for posting your experience at The Houben Hotel on Trip advisor . Fact! the distance from Krabi airport to Koh Lanta will take time but reaching here , its out of the world . Escape your busy life for a while , recharge the energy and get back to the real world with full of power . I'd never forget to share your comment to our team and please let us know your returning , the loyalty programme is ready to serve .

warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

When we stepped into the lobby of the Krabi airport, Shana (the owner's daughter) was waiting enthusiastically with a placard. The car and the ferry rides, took us more than an hour to get to Ko Lanta, a charming little village. Houben was a modern and elegant hotel, perched high up on a cliff. We had a lovely private bungalow. The breathtaking view, the lovely yet comfortable rooms, a red pool, the scrumptious (but pricey) food especially the Thai green curry and the konji, and the impeccable service of Shana, Yana and team would definitely make us visit Houben again. Beware : Houben really haunts you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prabitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear prabs30,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Houben Hotel on Trip advisor . I've shared your review with our team to let them keep our hospitality standard to reach the customer ' mind. Let us know your vacation plan , we ar looking forward to serving you .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,560 reviews
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#11 of 85 in Ko Lanta
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.6 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $69 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing