We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY IN PARADISE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STAY IN PARADISE”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in the hotel already 3 years ago. I was very satisfied with the service at that time.
I need to say that it has only improved since then !
The food in the restaurant is delicious ( western and thai ) and the prices are fair.
Now you also have a variety of belgian beers. So home stays very close .
Shana is the model manager and chef of the restaurant. You can almost ask everything to her.
She has always big smile on her face. The owner Walter ( papa from Shana) entertains the people with talks and also takes personally care of the transfer to the airport.
The beach is very close to the hotel , but we prefered to take a rest next to the fantastic red swimmingpool of the hotel. Shana took care of our cocktails .
We booked at the reception by khun Dee a tour to Phi Phi Islands for 1 day which we enjoyed very much. Only watch out for the sun while snorkling because i forgot to put suncream on and i still feel it.
I will certainly come back one of the years. Take care Shana, Walter and all the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dendax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Dendax,


First Thank you for your returning to The Houben Hotel and Returning to TA.for such a beautiful review . It was great to hear that our staff was able to provide you with a beautiful stay + a loyalty program for the guest return to making your stay comfortable and relaxing. I also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our food that fair price and further .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    104
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
48
509
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

So relaxing, so beautiful, so good! Long terracotta pool. Andaman Sea wall to wall, huge deluxe room on the 3rd floor with balcony where one can watch the celestial sunset daily. King bed too comfortable. Great breakfasts, all services offered, staff more than helpful, papa Walter and daughter Shana - great team. Strongly recommended, we would definitely go back. Thank you for enhancing our holiday.
Laure and Dina from Toronto (Canada)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laure H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Laure H ,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at The Houben Hotel . We 're very appreciated to serving you and definitely we are looking forward for your return to Koh Lanta /The Houben Hotel .

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I spend 4 weeks in Thailand, traveling from Chiang Mai to Pai then down to Koh Lanta for 8 days. By the time we arrived in Koh Lanta we had experienced the wide range of accommodation available in Thailand having stayed in six hotels. We hired a scooter in Saladan and headed south along the west side of the island, checking out hotels, bungalows and resorts along the way. The Houben was significantly nicer and correspondingly more expensive than any properties we visited. That said, just a little further south is the Pimalai Resort which may be even a little better, certainly more expensive. With only 15 units the place usually feels deserted, perfect for winding down or honeymooning I suppose. The food and beverage operations was excellent as was housekeeping. For me the only drawback is that it is missing the charm of Thailand's more rustic holiday options. It is concrete and glass, European in design. Set on a cliff there is no immediate beach access. That said there isn't beach sand everywhere either.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are more expensive but have a roof overhand that cuts the sun exposure. All rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredhead166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear fredhead166 ,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your experience with us. We 're very appreciated to have the last chance to look after your stay and we all look forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My partner and i spent 8 nights at the Houben in early March and have to say we loved every minute of it. following a hotel arranged collection from the airport for a cost of around 2900 baht (£60 odd) for a 2 1/2 hour drive is more than reasonable, Walter drives you himself which i think is a nice touch. Once we arrived at the hotel i have to say i was happy to see how stylish and quiet the hotel was in the early evening. Our room was brilliant, overlooking the pool and out into the sea.
The food at the hotel was incredible, the Thai dishes to the western food. i really was impressed with the food and that was my main worry when going to Thailand. the hotel will also recommend other great restaraunts locally ( noon sunset was my favourite, go around sunset and its great). yes the prices in the hotel are slightly more expensive than else where around the island, but for those nights where you are just around the hotel its well worth eating there. Shana and the staff are great also. the breakfast in the morning is fantastic, freshly cooked as well as cereal and pastries. when you consider it is part of your room rate it is very good.
cant say enough good things about the hotel and its staff.
will hopefully be there sometime in the future and hopefully Walter will still be the owner and there to pick us up :)

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view, maybe one on the higher floors a preference but not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear powlo981 ,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It was great to hear that our staff were the highlight of your stay with us, and I will be sure to thank them all. The staff have always been our biggest asset, and we are so proud to get this feedback from you as a guest. We are all glad to hear that your experience with us was a good one and we all look forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 relaxing days at The Houben in the beautiful Koh Lanta. It's a contemporary resort with good amenities but because it's small and quite exclusive, it hasn't the choices you might have in larger resorts. If your goal is to relax and enjoy some quietness like us this is the place. The views of all the rooms are superb, including an amazing sunset. The restaurant offers Thai and International fares and is good, although a little pricey. The breakfast is also good and your eggs are made to order. Again because the Houben is small the service is always personal, warm and attentive. We had some minor inconveniences during our stay that were quickly addressed. We felt really welcomed by the owners and employees. Nearby you have a 7-Eleven, ATMs, cozy restaurants and a few local stores.The walking- distance beach (Ba Kantiang) is beautiful and not crowded. However if you want to have a beach just for you go to the next one- Waterfall beach or Ao Klong Jark- at the very end and I guarantee you'll have a bliss! We'd definitely return to this hotel and the beautiful Koh Lanta.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have very high-ceilings and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Marilene K,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. The Houben Hotel strives on providing a memorable experience for our guests each and every time. Please let us know if you plan on returning to Koh lanta as we would welcome you to stay with us once again.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcountry
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Quite a different property as it is very modern and quite functional. That said the room that we had was very spacious and sunny with doors out to a decking area and direct access to the pool. The bathroom was also very spacious with a large shower and Jacuzzi bath. The bed was extra large and very comfortable – unlike most of the hard beds encountered at other hotels in Thailand. The quality of the food and service was very good and for really excellent value it was a short stroll down the road to the Drunken Sailor.
I’m not sure that I am a big fan of the red pool but then I can appreciate how they want to be different. The sunsets from the pool deck were amazing as was the stargazing. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Smartmoney,

Thank you so much for taking the time providing us with some great feedback regarding your recent visit to The Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed yourselves during your stay. It was great to hear that our differentiate were the highlight of your stay .
Thank you for mentioned to our neighborhood , thank you for them .
Please let us know your return to Koh lanta , we are looking forward to serving you .

Warm regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent 2 days at the Houben mainly based on reviews from tripadvisor and it is a stunning hotel with incredible views. However it is a solid 4 star hotel and not a 5 star resort. Overall we had an enjoyable but will probably consider other hotels on a return trip to koh lanta.

Pros:
- The rooms are super private, spacious and architecturally beautiful.
- nestled on a hill, picture perfect view of the ocean from room and pool, sunset everyday
- gorgeous rooms, huge beds, comfy pillows
- spa rooms have jacuzzi with view of ocean
- no kids!! so perfect for that romantic get away
- friendly staff

Cons
- water pressure very temperamental, especially hot water, in the hotel guide it tells you how to properly mix the water, which we did, but still did not work properly, often going from hot to cold and back very quickly. On day 1, the water also stopped, so we couldn't use the shower or spa, so a bit disappointing, they spent the whole day fixing it. I think being on a hill probably creates some piping and pressure issues, but for a four-star hotel, water is a basic amenity that they should really consider spending some money on.
- no 24hour room service.
- not terribly helpful when asked to recommend a restaurant in town saying they're all good (which may have been true but after sampling a few, was definitely not the case)
- around 400-500m walk down a hill to the beach, not a big deal unless you wanted a resort right on the beach

Room Tip: Get a room with a jacuzzi - private spa watching sunset and the room has stunning high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear s j ,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that our hotel provided you with the super private room also the beautiful sunset with solid 4 stars . I further appreciate your feedback regarding the water issues , no room service and our staff couldn't bring you enough information to your enquiry during your stay. Please rest assured that i will take your feedback to further enhance our operation in the time ahead. Fix them all by myself , Looking forward to having you back in the nearly future .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,456 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,074 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Property: The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing