We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondeful and relaxing stay!”
Review of The Houben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Houben Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wondeful and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My fiance and I had an amazing 5 night stay at The Houben this past July. It was a very last minute jaunt to the beach when we were traveling in Bangkok. The Houben is towards the south of the island, but in a little village with a few restaurants, great little massage places and places to rent motor scooters, scuba trip operators, etc. The hotel restaurant is fantastic, but it is nice to be in a place that is not completely isolated, like some of the hotels on the island. The rooms are gorgeous and full of amenities. The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning. In one direction you get the open sea, in in the other you see the green luscious hills of Koh Lanta. There is a nice beach a mere 6-7 minute walk. It's a pretty small hotel, which we loved; we got so much personal attention and though most other rooms were occupied, we always felt like we had the place to ourselves. Would give it 6 stars if we could!

Room Tip: We booked a premium room and had a great jacuzzi in our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrearv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Andrearv,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your latest stay with us at The Houben Hotel . It was great to hear that you were happy with our two color of the surrounding view. Front side as ocean blue from Andaman Sea , on the other side is totally green from mountain. Please lets us assist your next return to Koh Lanta , Looking forward to serving you .

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    103
    18
    11
    1
See reviews for
41
498
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Houben in May and couldn't fault it. The service, led by Shana, was excellent, the room and surrounds beautiful, with everything you could possibly need to make a stay enjoyable. We meant to eat out in the surrounding areas more than we did but the restaurant food was so good that we ate our way though most of the menu while there and loved the meals so much that we organised a cooking class in their kitchen - thanks Shana! Ko Lanta is a great little area & The Houben a must visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_wehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear h_wehl,

Thank you very much for your vey kind words in regards to your last stay at The Houben Hotel . We are very happy to hear that we were able to make this the best stay of your life and I am sure the staff will be very pleased to read these lovely comments. They work hard to make sure that each guest has a great experience when staying with us and this this will be a great review for them to read. We thank you very much and we all look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the very beautiful, modern designed boutique hotel The Houben. Very nicely located on a cliff on the southern part of Koh Lanta Yai at Ba Kan Tiang beach. According to the locals and most travel guides this is the most beautiful beach of Koh Lanta. The beach can be reached in max 10 minutes walking.
We traveled from Trang by minibus and were dropped off in Klong Nin beach, where the owner was already waiting for us to transfer us the last 7 km.
Staff in the resort is very good and goes a long way to do everything to cater your needs. Food in the restaurant is very good as well.
The hotel has 15 rooms, 8 standard, 5 deluxe ( have jacuzzi) and 2 suites/villas. Rooms are large and very comfortable, all with splendid view over the ocean and the infinity pool. as it is a small, luxury resort it is especially suited for couples. Kids under 12 are not allowed due to the nature of the resort. For us thus was a plus.
This is really a fantastic hotel. We had a lot of fun with the Belgian owners.
We can really recommend this place!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniqueEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear MoniqueEdwin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us great feedback from your most recent stay with us . I am glad to hear that it was your great stay and that you enjoyed our large room and infinity pool. Looking forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wonderful hotel with an amazing cliff top view, infinity pool, friendly staff and fantastic rooms. We loved the hot tub with view out to the sea in our deluxe room. The only thing that could be improved was breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear qwerty123London,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your latest stay with us at The Houben Hotel, Koh Lanta. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely time at the Houben and the jacuzzi deluxe sea view experience was a great one. We will also bring the advise to our chef for improving what the missed. Please note that yours and every customers 's advise is super valued for us .

Please let us know how we may be of assistance for your next visit to The Houben Hotel , koh lanta.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Modern and stylish architecture , breath taking view of the sea on top of a hill next to the jungle. Friendly and well trained staff , great service , lovely peaceful rooms..

Thanks guys for making our stay wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mondonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mondimond,

Thank you and Thank you for your definition of The Houben Hotel .I will make sure to keep our standard and share it with our staff and thank them for a job well done.

Looking forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stay for the second time at "The Houben", in Ko Lanta. This time for 11 nights! Like the first time, it is a pleasure to arrive; warm welcome from the owner and his staff! It is like coming home again! We stayed in a Deluxe room, with Jacuzzi Wow! The room, the decoration, and of course the view! all the luxury and amenities are there that you wish...
We hat breakfast and a couple of dinners in the restaurant. Value for money and everything of excellent quality! Nothing to much for the service staff and not to creepy to serve you one coffee more! This is hospitality!
For us this will be the fixed hub in Thailand; to relax and to enjoy..
Strongly recommended to everybody how like quality, relax, hospitality, value for money and nic people!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Werner H,

First of all , Thank you so much for your returning to The Houben Hotel . As your booking directly to us so our system shown on that you were our loyalty . Really do hope that you would enjoy our sparkling wine , best rate for loyalty and food item voucher as complimentary .

Looking forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future again and again.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family came to stay at The Houben in July. It really is a fantastic place that caters for any needs that you may have. Shana is amazing and no hotel has service like this one. If you have any issues or need to find something out just ask Shana and she seems to sort it all out in no time at all. The food in the restaurant is outstanding and doing some cooking classes in the kitchen was a memorable experience. I would recommend this place to anyone and make sure you go to relax. Ko Lanta is a sleepy little island and it's the perfect place to unwind and relax in a beautiful hotel like The Houben!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rst1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear rst1985 ,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your last stay with us. I am glad that our staff was able to adapt and customize your stay for you so that you had a memorable experience. I will be sure to thank shana and all the staff that made this possible and I am sure they all look forward to having you back with us it the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Property: The Houben Hotel
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing