We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset location, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Houben was the best place we stayed in Thailand not only due to the wonderful sunset sea location but also due to the fantastic staff who went over and above their call of duty to ensure our happiness and well being. They absolutely make the place into a 5 star location. We wished we had stayed longer as each day was fantastic and unique. The pool surrounds are wonderful with a jacuzzi. We stayed in the luxury suite room and had an uninterrupted private view of the sunsets and could even sit in our outdoor spa jacuzzi and watch the sunset. The food was outstanding with a lovely creative flair and at a good competitive price, making us not want to venture anywhere else. We immediately began planning our return trip as it was such a piece of paradise. It should fall into the Mr and Mrs Smith boutique hotel category. The rooms were large, private, quiet offering a fantastic chaise lounge, a huge comfortable bed, beautiful decor and was stunning beautiful. We just wish we had stayed longer.

The staff gave us a private dinner in our private garden which was incredible. Anything we asked they did - with a wonderful smile on their faces.

Room Tip: Choose the luxury suite - it is worth the additional privacy and view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesandTamsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear value guest, thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay at The Houben Hotel , we are very much appreciated to hear that you are enjoy staying with us and we hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back soon.
best regards,
walter houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 701 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed 7 nights in The Houben, and had a great time. Rooms are fantastic and quiet. I liked the bathroom and the flavoured shower products. View to the sea was awesome with daily sunsets! Staff was friendly like a big family. Breakfast was excellent where you can order everything (only fruits could be more), you just need some more time but you anyway are on holiday and should enjoy breakfast time :-) Few shops, restaurants and the beach are a few steps from there. To Saladan you need around 35 min with a motorbike (which is very cheap and useful to be flexible and go around the island). If you search for more luxury and a quiet stay then this is the right place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor and it would be great to hear that you were enjoy with our organic amenities served in room . On behalf of the staffs,we would like to say Thank you very much that we could please your stay at the Houben .
Please return to us , we will look forward to please and treat you.

Best Regards,

walter houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived at the houben after many days marching in HK and few days in Phi phi where we were killed by sand flies and mosquitoes. We immediately "felt in relax" with this place. The sea view, excellent cuisine, luxury but familiar service, friendly staff, peaceful environment, all a great vacation deserves! Usually we hate staying at Hotels swimming pools when travelling, but at the houben, the Sun set at the pool, reading a book and tasting a cocktail is something one's has to live once in a life.
What to say... Everything amazing and we managed to recover from the sand flies infection!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pechiche79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Peaceful and relaxing. A beautiful place to watch spectacular sunsets from your room. A very comfortable huge, huge bed! Friendly staff. Yummy, 'all you can eat' breakfast! We stayed on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator, so you get plenty of exercise walking up all the steps! Such a high standard and reasonable price. We will go back one day!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchyfeet124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We really felt right at home at The Houben. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the view of the Andaman sea was breath taking !!! Beautiful sunset and on one of the days we even saw a rainbow !! Really a good place to de-stress and chill-out. It was worth the 2 hours + drive from Krabi International Airport. If you are looking for a place that is peaceful and quiet and away from crowds, The Houben is the perfect place ! Will definitely come back for more ! - J T Li from Singapore

Room Tip: Choose the room on the 3rd floor for the perfect view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenqTyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Traveled at "low season" so the place was mostly empty (Highly recommended)
It was by far the most beautiful, cleanest & comfortable hotel we've been too in Thailand
Great staff & manager
Definitely coming back

Room Tip: The room on the highest floor of the north building !
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Wonderful time at the Houben. We loved talking to the staff there and felt looked after. They made us feel like we were home away from home addressing any questions/concerns immediately, with the exception of an odd experience that did leave one negative feeling: When we ordered the most expensive item on the menu (sparkling wine to celebrate our 1st anniversary), drink was in a bucket of warm water with no ice. Considering we've had top service, we were confused and left us questioning whether they know that alcohol such as this should be chilled. Thinking it was probably an inexperienced staff member that did this, we called to ask for ice to chill the bottle but were charged for it. We thought that was strange and inquired about it. We were still charged. Paying wasn't the issue; it was just confusing as the Houben had dealt with all other inconveniences right away and fairly. It could make some wonder negatively about the reason and the set up of it. If it is necessary to charge, our suggestion is to include this in the price itself as again, price really wasn't the issue. If it weren't for this experience, we would have called this a PERFECT experience and what experiences at hotels should be. This says a lot as we have stayed at 5 star hotels across the world.

With that out of the way, I'd like to leave on a positive tone that the Houben deserves, as all other and many more experiences were top-notch. The place was truly wonderful. Beautiful rooms, semi-private balcony (partitioned walls) with outdoor seats, and view of the sunset. The place is enclosed and faces the sea so you feel like you are in a quiet peaceful place. Infinity pool and jacuzzi part of the pool in the main outside area kept at great temperature. The amazing staff made sure to turn on the jacuzzi side of the pool whenever we were taking a dip. We felt they anticipated our needs and not only tended to but truly cared about. Some rooms have a private jacuzzi and a spa is onsite (though did not partake in spa). Not a single spot of dirt/mess noticeable.

Location: Although no direct beach access, it is only a short walk to the beach. Local travel agencies are close by for booking kayaking trips, motorbike rentals, and anything else to explore the island. For us, the location was perfect - exactly what we wanted.

My husband and I also appreciated the immediate warm welcome from the staff and the cold pomegranate drink upon arrival. Free DVD rentals to watch in modern hip rooms were nice touches to the service.

Overall, staff worked hard to make us feel at home, clean clean clean, great view, great location for us, great service generally, nice size rooms, and in sum - a fantastic hotel AND experience. I really can't say enough about the staff. We felt like so cared for and thoroughly enjoyed our conversations and interactions with them.

Absolutely would return again and have decided to think of this as "our" hotel on Koh Lanta. Will visit the island again knowing that the Houben is there. We have recommended this place to everyone and anyone we happened to be talking about our vacation. Next time, we will bring our respective parents/families as well.

Room Tip: If booking a room with a jacuzzi, tub takes long time to fill so plan ahead. Bathroom in our room is...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MinLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2011

Dear MinLe,
thank you so much for posting your review on this forum and I am pleased to read that you liked your stay with us at the Houben very much . I’d like to say deeply apologize for this unusual service that brought you annoying during your anniversary. This incident wasn’t the standard of The Houben so I will address with the F&B department , definitely it will be found out and improved shortly.
Once please accept my apologies that we failed to provide you with the perfect anniversary that you ’ve come to expect. I do really hope to get a chance to serving you by myself.
Best regards,
walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,477 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,089 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $74 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing