We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rooms with an unbeatable view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top rooms with an unbeatable view.”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

If the Wifi would not have been out of order, I would rate the hotel - all in all - the best we have ever stayed in. Fair price, very nice rooms - allthough you have to like the design. The sea view - which all rooms have, we stayed on the second floor - is amazing. Helpful staff, pier pickup was complementary for us. When staying on Ko Lanta you can not really go wrong with the Houben.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlefT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Aleft,
Thank you for your positive comment and for staying at the Houben.
We will surely improve on the wifi system as well our service and further .
Looking forward for your next stay with us again soon.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    104
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
506
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

After staying at Alanta Villa we figured it could not get much better on Koh Lanta. We were wrong! Due to a miscalculation on my part when booking accomodation back in Feb I was one night short before our return flight. Why not spoil ourselves for one night. After consulting Trip Advisor again I settled on The Houben at Kantiang Bay. We booked two adjoining rooms and it was quite cheap in comparison to what we would pay in Australia.
We were picked up by the Houben Hilux utility, cosy to say the least and driven about 20 minutes further South. What a grand entry, there isn't a sign on the road yet it is so new, just a large concrete pillar, but then to reception with a large covered portico, grey concrete and the inevitable red, more red later. Smooth reception and taken away to our rooms on the first floor. There are only 15 units all up in two buildings with the restaurant, aptly named Red Alert below us. Nothing can prepare you for your first impression. Wow, as you look through the all glass frontage straight out to the sea beyond from the top of an incredibly steep cliff.
It is one large room, with the bathroom and toilet behind and to the side of the main room. Everything is immaculate. Oil burner adding atmosphere as we are shown around, first the bathroom and toilet opening out into the huge jacuzzi looking out to the sea and behind it a huge rain shower. You just can't get beyond the view.
Everything is beautifully done. Plasma TV and DVD player, free DVDs from reception, bar fridge, tea and coffee, it's all there, but done so much better than normal. Small touches like individual flexible adjustable reading lights, glass wall between the bed and the jacuzzi. Amazing.
Out on to the balcony, lounges and table, bean bags next door, and the pool! The red pool. It is tiled in red tiles and it looks like you are swimming in blood red water, with its' own spa at the end and a constant depth meaning it is not really not suitable for children. Damn.
There is a large spa/massage room below reception which we didn't get to use. we were the only clients during our stay even though they said there were more due in next day. Again nothing was too much trouble, again language was a difficulty, even though it was explained that they were in the process of staff training due to it being so new. We did have some difficulty with the wi-fi so they took us into the admin area and let us use their computer and printer.
If it was this good why didn't I rate it higher? Simply because of the restaurant. We had lunch and dinner in the restaurant. During lunch a huge rainstorm went through. There is only drop down clear plastic blinds on the front and sides and they simply could not cope with the downpour and the wind. There was obviously a blind on the other side as well but it had probably blown away at some stage and not been replaced. There was frantic mopping and sweeping trying to keep the rain at bay. I could only recommend they need proper bi-fold doors, or similar, for these sort of conditions.
The restaurant feels cold, it is all concrete including the benches along the wall and it just feels cold and impersonal. Maybe on a hot high season night full of customers it might be different.
The staff were lovely, but I feel must have been embarassed when every second thing we asked for was not available, due to low season. It is an extensive menu, a bit pricey compared to other restaurants, but dissapointing when so much wasn't available. The food that we received was quite good, but virtually no sea food in a sea food paradise and no bananas for banana fritters, in a land full of bananas. Not good enough. Our recommendation is to have a low season menu, limited to what is available at the time. we admit it must be very hard when you only have four people in the hotel, but that is what service is about.
Don't get me wrong, this place is truly amazing and it would not deter me from going again and I cannot believe it is only rated four star. It leaves many five star wqe have stayed in for dead. And then there was the amazing sunset that we thought we were going to miss out on during our stay in Thailand. A beautiful hotel in a magical setting. Well done The Houben!

Room Tip: Try for the higher floors for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Wow – the architecture is stunning, and the room we had was amazing. Really stylish, clean and very spacious as well. After the initial wow factor I was concerned as the manager Shawna who I'd read so much about was away for a few days. However, it was not a problem as any shortcomings the staff may have had in attention to detail was made up for with loads of friendliness, enthusiasm and charm – this applied to the helpful receptionist and the cheery restaurant staff equally. The hotel booked my onward ferry without any problems, despite my constant questions, and responded very well to all requests.
The only negative I can comment on is that the hotel was missing something in the general ambience. The restaurant was too empty to have any real atmosphere which was a shame as the food was good. The pool area was also good and it was only a short walk to the beach and village with other restaurants and a small shop etc.. We hired a scooter from the small tour office 50 metres from the hotel entrance which I'd also recommend. Overall, a really stylish and clean hotel I'd recommend for a good value short stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The Houben is the best hotel ever. The service was great, the staffs are friendly and attentive. They try to help as much as they can. Stayed in Deluxe first 2 nights ~ the room was awesome, bed was comfortable except there is a bit noise coming from the ventilation. But either than that it was perfect.

Changed to Suite Room for the other 2 days. It was great as well but i think the deluxe is much much better. The breakfast was delicious. I've never had such delicious tea before =). We had dinner 2 nights at Red Alert (the hotel's restaurant), it was also delicious. I especially love the Tom Yum with Squid. My bf loved the Roasted Duck with Tamarind Sauce. Very very very good!

Ive had to say that the nearly 3 hours trip to get there was worth it. I will pick this hotel again without a doubt even i had a choice to choose a hotel at Aonang. It was all worth it!

The pool is gorgeous! It was something different with the red tiles. Love the design soo much! Very unique! Love all of Houben's design but the Suite Room can improve abit. Like a place to put our luggage and the shower bigger then it is perfect. No complaints to Deluxe Room, everything is perfect!

Keep up the good service & good food!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room, get the highest floor perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icebabyx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. Very clean and spacious room with great view from a very big and relaxing balcony. The biggest bathroom and biggest shower room I have even been in my life. The Houben is very generous with breakfast and the quality of breakfast is brilliant! All fresh. Lovely time in the pool and watching the sunset. There are some monkeys in the jungle next to the hotel, they are shy and not aggressive. So it gives you a real nature touch!! The service is great, the staff are a bit slow but great service mind and friendly. We were really happy and have nothing to complain. Such a great value and lovely hotel. We even recommended our friends to stay at The Houben and they also love it and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyStromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Houben was the perfect way to end our holiday in Asia. We loved its location - on the quiet part of the island on Ba Kantiang Bay, and we loved that it only had 15 rooms so it had an intimate feel and we got to know the staff who looked after our every need.

I can see how it may not be perfect for everyone, however. The pool has no shallow end, except for the spa part, so it may not be suitable for families with babies or young children. The hotel (and Ba Kantiang) is also the kind of place where you go to relax and not do much so it's very quiet. But all of this suited us and was perfect for what we wanted.

The restaurant is fantastic - yes, it's a bit pricey compared to places in the small town, but not really compared to prices at home and we were very happy with everything we tried.

It's true the wifi works in the restaurant/bar area only, but it's not an unpleasant place to spend your time.

The staff were lovely, welcoming, friendly and helpful. It's tricky sometimes for a small hotel to find the right balance between attentive and intrusive, but the staff at The Houben were always discreet and unobtrusive.

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. And as with all the other rooms, it had a sublime view over the water and an awesome sunset.

We can't wait to get back to The Houben!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We had very high hopes of our stay at the Houben and we were not disappointed. The staff are such a friendly bunch and reminded us of one big happy family. Nothing was too much trouble and as arranged we were picked up at Saladan Pier.
Our room was lovely, it was very spacious with a couch and had a 7' bed which looked out over the sea. The bathroom had a great walk in shower and a jacuzzi tub. We were on the top floor and the window from floor to ceiling must have been about 18'.
We stayed during Songkran (Thai New Year) and were invited to join in the fun of helping to soak people travelling past the hotel, it was hilarious.
We hired a scooter whilst there and tootled around the island, we never experienced any body driving fast or dangerously and felt very safe on the roads.
We really enjoyed the tranquility around the pool, which most days we had to ourselves and wished we could have stayed longer.
If travelling around Thailand I would make The Houben your last stop as it is the perfect place to re-charge the batteries and totally relax.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,441 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,055 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Property: The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing