We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in a Secluded place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2010

A little paradise on an amazing part of the island. Really close to the pier and a ton of tour agencies & few 7-elevens as well.
All in all great. Probably the best hotel we've stayed in, definitely the best for the price.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank uncl-nis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Crown Lanta is a really good deal if you get one of the many discounted deals. We paid around 60 US-$ the night and stayed 12 nights. We had the cheapest room category but the room was really good, spacious, clean, nice bathroom, a couch and a lounger on the balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful but most ot them didn't speak much English. The breakfast buffet on the lovely Hill Top terrace was ok, could have had a bit more diversity. The Cliff restaurant was overpriced and not better than all the other restaurants in my opinion, so we mostly ate in Saladan or along the beach. We often used the free Shuttle to Saladan at night (18.00 + 20.00 to town and 20.00 + 21.00 back to the hotel). It's an easy walk to the many restaurants on the beach. If you don't want to walk far, try the restaurant at the Kaw Kwang Beach Resort next door. They had lovely curries to reasonable prices. There is a small library next to the lagoon pool if you get bored. Ask at the reception for the password for the wireless hotspot. They give you a card with a username and a password and I was told I get 1 hour free Internet every day. But on some days I definitely used it way more than an hour and the connection never stopped.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Very friendly and service minded staff. Clean and nice rooms. Good breakfast and free internet. Situated a bit outside Saladan, but free shuttleservice into town, which we used every night. Nice see view from the restaurant, but the food was rather expensive.
Our room was overlooking a big poolarea, which was really nice. The private beach was rather small and rocky, but Klong Dao Beach is just a few minutes walk away.
The hotel area is very hilly, so it can be difficult to walk around if you have walking problems or travelling with small children, but there is free shuttle service within the resort whenever you like.
We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Koh Lanta, which we hope we will someday!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriella_karp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Great hotel, with nice and spacious rooms (elegance deluxe rooms), bathroom and balcony with nice seats to relax and enjoy the view.Great place to rest. If you book an elegance deluxe room, make sure to ask it with sea view. Very good service, eficient anf friendly staff. 2 nice and very big swimming pools, a small private sand beach and another rocky beach where you can appreciate the sunset over Koh Phi Phi and the sea. Gym facilities, free kayaks available. Free wifi and free internet at computers available in the lobby. Good buffet breakfast. Nice restaurant for dinner with good food (western dishes and thai dishes adapted to the western taste), but too pricey for Thailand. Better to eat outside, real thai spicey food. Free transport many times a day with the hotel shuttle to Saladan town (2 ways), where you can eat, shop and rent a motocycle (recommended for visiting the island, going out for dinner or go to the beach).
Very good price in the low season (through booking.com, better rate than Agoda), a bit pricey in high season.
Tips for visiting around: motocycle to visit Koh Lanta, take a tour in one of the Saladan travel agencies to visit Koh Phi Phi and the islands around (4 islands tour), where you can snorkel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caracol07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Ahhhhh...the perfect low season getaway, but with prices increasing in Koh Lanta at an alarming rate, I'm not sure how long it will remain a value-for-money retreat. But what you see on their website (those lovely pics) is really what you get! And the staff were nice and friendly with all smiles.

We stayed at the direct pool access room which was absolutely fantastic. The pool was well-maintained and was large enough for a good swim (unlike other hotels which "boast" small pools). The direct pool access definitely made it convenient to go for a dip any time of the day, even in the middle of the night! The hotel also provides free shuttle services at 11am, 2pm, 5pm and 6pm to and from town, which is useful for you to stock up on your snacks at the local grocery and book your island tours through the various local agencies.

Breakfast is served at The Peak which located at the top of the hotel and is a bit of a climb. However, when you get there, you are treated to a breathtaking view of the sea overlooking Phi Phi island. Breakfast serves from 6am to 10am which is early enough for guests who needs to leave early for island tours, and late enough for guests who just wants to sleep in and wake up late.

The two beaches exclusive to the hotel are very small and may be a disappointment to many guest, so don't get your hopes too high. The room comes with a DVD player and you can borrow movies from the reception in case you are bored though we didn't try that service out.

The hotel does make an effort to improve which is a rare find these days. For example, they took a previous review to continue the breakfast buffet during low season, despite the low guest rate. So I'm hoping they take into consideration my suggestions for improvement.

Room for improvements:
- Have printed instructions in english explaining the hotel facilities, services, etc.
- Install removal shower heads as the current shower heads don't really focus anywhere
- Free WiFi (we were not sure if it is already provided as there were no proper instructions)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The Crown Lanta is a beautiful hotel, very close to 5-star. We stayed in the beach side segment, which seemed quite a bit more upscale than the pool side near the property entrance. The rooms, public areas, swimming pool and restaurants were nicely decorated, built with many excellent touches, and take good advantage of their ocean scenery. Our room was most comfortable, clean and spacious, with a large sitting area on the outside balacony overlooking the pool. The pool is large, good for lapping, and superb for relaxing in the many chaise lounge chairs with a cold drink. Thye staff is super attentive and friendly, and eager to get to know you. From the seaside pool there are steps to a very long beach (2 miles long or so) that is great to walk, rent a surf board to try the local waves, or to sample the other restaurants in this section of the island. Kids will love the pool and also love trying to catch the crabs darting around this beach. The hotel's recommended dive operator, Go Dive, was an excellent choice and we couldn't have been happier. And the special BBQ night was much fun while the food was terrific. The Crown Lanta is more than a walk into town for the average person, but the hotel does offer scheduled free rides into and back from town, and charges a nominal fee for taking you in at other times. It is very quiet here, a big draw for us. Finally, we would recommend scheduling your pick up/drop off transportation through the hotel - their luxury vans are reasonably priced, very comfortable and very responsive to your time requirements. We highly recommend the Crown Lanta!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltyDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the last 2 weeks in October. Just out of season we managed to get a fantastic deal and when we arrived we felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves at some points. Rooms were modern and clean, staff was very friendly however they could do with learning better english! Hotel is located on beautiful peninsula that has almost 360 degree sea views. There was some noisy dogs next door to the hotel which had barking fits at points in the day, but other than that was blissful and very relaxing. Reccomend fishing off a kayak from the private beach. Hotel restaurant was ok but a little expensive for what you got. In town there are some great restaurants that are fantastic value for money.

We really liked Koh Lanta, it is a little under developed tourist wise, and some of the trips and tours are a little unprofessional but also very unspoilt and you felt very close to the locals who all seemed to appreiciate you being there. A great holiday despite the odd day with bad weather.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeGourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
10.4 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
11 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $70 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing