We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping it Simple and Chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keeping it Simple and Chill”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Though just a one night stay, I wanted to extend my stay for more nights. The resort, under a 5 minutes drive from Saladan Town and the pier, is well tucked away by the bay. Despite the proximity to the hustle and bustle of the town and pier, you wouldn't know it! A very comfortable, casual and laid-back resort that is great for both families and couples. The rooms are well sized and well arranged to provide comfort with a large balcony. The most memorable for me is the tucked away Reggae Bar which is so chill and cool and cozy. I was very lucky to have been offered by the GM to have a drink by the bar to watch the beautiful sunset. Have a Tom Yum Margarita, it's SO GOOD! Definitely a resort and drink to remember! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    422
    143
    59
    24
See reviews for
289
797
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel; it is the fourth and most expensive so far. We are coming directly from three night at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, and expectations very high.
Overall; The hotel is worn but still nice. The hotel area is clean and tidy and hilly (as described lots of other places). They do have free wi-fi which is fast enough to stream high quality tv from Denmark (www.dr.dk).
Downs so far;
1) Being a pricy spa resort we expected to be able to use a basic spa and a sauna without additional cost; you will have to pay for everything and the prices are extreme. 60 min of Thai massage is 1,100 bath - compared to 400 bath at the resort in Phi Phi and 250 bath in Bangkok - so we will not do that!
2) We had lunch at the cliff bar and it was also pricy; a smoothie for the kids was 185 bath per person - more expensive than a trendy bar in Copenhagen - and it was a very average smoothie. The food was uninspired and just warm. Burgers very not tasty and the pizza was burned. The did not have sushi despite on the list. Most average food so far on our three week journey AND pricy.
3) Within the first 24 hours the hotel had total power loss 4 times. When we called the staff it seemed to be a normal event "due to only two generators in the area"???
4) The hotel has 4 daily free tuk tuk rides to the nearest town. The distance is only 2 km. If you want to go at other times of the day the tuk tuks charges 50 bath pr person. In Bangkok we paid 50 bath for all four person for an equal distance. If you want to go to Long Beach 10 km away the price is 500 bath per person. In Bangkok we rented a taxi for 2000 bath for the entire day and it drove us for 5 hours to the floating marked and the bridge over the river Kwai. My point; it is really high prices to use Tuk Tuks here.
5) No pick up service at the pier; a lot of hotels had pick up service at the pier for arriving guests. There were nobody from crown Lanta there :-(
6) Right outside the hotel (100 meters to the left) there are a huge dumping area (waste) that has be burned and waste is all around the before-so-beautiful nature. It is sad to see the way the Thai people is destroying nature - especially since they have started charging "clean up" fees when you arrive to the islands - so far I have not seen one single Thai actually clean up nature! SAD and the overall reason why this is my second and last visit to Thailand.

Ups;
1) The fitness room is free and in a good condition with good machines.
2) Pool access is really nice and to pools are really clean with great underwater visibility.
3) Staff are friendly despite lacking English skills.
4) We attended a wine tasting / snack party yesterday. It was really good with Sushi and other great snacks. The price was fair 450 bath per adult for the 2-hour arrangement. The kids could snack for free and just pay their soft drinks (almost the same price hence the overpriced soft drinks here).

I would not recommend the place; they need to lower the prices on massage and other services at the spa. Food needs to be up to standard for a five-star hotel. That being said it is a very beautiful, hilly area and a clean and tidy hotel (despite old and a bit worn).

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there one night and we got the room with access to the swimming pool from our terrace. Magnificent- beautiful room and you open the door and you can go swim :) heaven for me! Me and my husband we are training for triathlon so first thing in the morning we went for run on the beach few steps away and than came back- temperature was already pretty high- and had the most wonderful refreshing swim in the pool! :) really happy with room, but very unhappy with the cliff restaurant. First of all we couldn't find it because of the misleading signs, than when we found it the staff didn't speak good enough to be able to recommend anything from their menu- my husband had already bad feeling about this restaurant but we were so tired and lazy we just didn't want to go elsewhere. After long time we finally ordered food that arrived cold and scallops seemed to be old and smelly so we didn't even touch them. Anyway while dinner staff was not very good as our table piled up with loads of plates from starter. The worst thing was that we didn't enjoy it at all and we were charged a lot of money like for Thailand. And in the end service charge was applied as well so we couldn't even say no we don't want to pay that for your crappy service!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
342 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Starting with the location I must say that it looked like it was closer to Saladan on the map than it was in reality. There's no way that you would walk in to town in the sun and in the evening it's too dark. The resort sais that they have free shuttle bus to town but in reality they only have four shuttles per day. This means you have to go with tuk-tuk which cost 50 baht per person.
The resort is nice in general but there are very steep hills to walk when going between the pools or going to breakfast, lunch or dinner. The prices at the resort are horrible, at least 2,5 times more expensive than any normal restaurant on Koh Lanta.
It's a gamble to pay extra for a pool access room since only four out of roughly 30 rooms have sun on the porch which means that you can't lie there to get some sun.
The rooms are good but they weren't very clean. There were stains and things on the walls which was't removed during the four nights we stayed there.
The staff was friendly but not very helpful. We asked to change our pool access room to another with sun but even though there were available rooms they refused to let us change.
Some great things with the resort was the big pool and also that there was a very nice private beach to use. They also have kayaks which you can borrow free of charge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the first stop on our tour of the region with Andaman Sky and was the most expensive place we stayed at, though the hotel in Phuket wasn't cheap either – the Ao nang hotel we chose was deliberately less expensive as we intended to take a load of excursions from Ao nang, where there are lots of cool excursions to choose from.
Back to the Crown, we liked our room, the food, the spa and the service (everyone was so nice in all the hotels we stayed in) but weren’t too thrilled by the ‘beach’ at the Crown, which is nothing to write home about to say the least. We only ended up staying at the Crown because Pimalai, which was out first choice, was full. Being glass-half-full type of people we decided we would have a great time anyway, which we did – we haven’t been together long and basically you could put us up anywhere clean with a/c and a comfy bed and we’d be happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AadhayaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were here during the New Year Break and were enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere very much. The Gala Dinner on a New Year night was great!! All staff at the front desk was very helpful and polite. They are always waiting and ready the help us all our needed. We did have a few issues but the hotel staff sorted these out straight away. Overall we would recommend this hotel; the location was within walking distance of the bars and restaurant nearby or take a Tuk Tuk only 10 minutes to Saladan Town for dinner etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markstrom_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at the Crown Lanta Resort with my fiance over New Years and it was a great experience. For anybody who has never been to Koh Lanta, the island has a main strip that runs down its West side with lots of restaurants, bars, and several beaches. Certainly not undeveloped, but also far from developed (i.e. all local businesses, and no chains except from the usual 7-11).

Crown Lanta resort is on the far North end of the island at the end of a peninsula. What this means is that to get to any of the main areas of the island, you need to take either a taxi or a tuk-tuk from the hotel, which costs about 300thb (~$10). There are some friendly tuk-tuk drivers waiting right outside of the hotel so this makes it easy. And you can rent a motorbike from the hotel - it does have a surcharge if you get directly from the hotel (convenience factor), so you could always get next door but for $3/day easier through hotel. Same goes for tours, also hotel transfer - 100thb or so more expensive through the hotel (~$3) so if you don't wan the convenience you can book in town, but it;s a pretty small price to pay for convenience.

The hotel itself is on a very hilly property with some of the rooms overlooking the ocean on the edge of a cliff. As other reviewers mentioned, they can take you to your room on a golf cart if you want. I think your experience here depends on your room - we got upgraded to an ocean view room which was right on the cliff, private deck with a pool and AMAZING views of the ocean every morning. As other reviewers have said, beds are REALLY hard which is one of my biggest complaints. Breakfast is at the Peak restaurant on top of the big hill - hike to get to the top but again amazing views. Pool area is great, Reggae Bar is down some stairs to one side of the Cliff pool, and there is a private beach cove that is beautiful and nobody uses right off of the cliff pool. A few little issues (i.e. the bathtub faucet broke the first day which they fixed promptly, and wifi is slow but it is slow all over the island), but otherwise a really beautiful property, friendly staff, and amazing rooms if you get the ocean view rooms. Also breakfast was wonderful spread of all kinds of foods. Can't speak to any other meals here since we didn't try the lunches or dinners.

If you want to be in the "middle of it all" then may not be the ideal spot for you, but if you don't mind a 15-minute $10 tuk-tuk drive to get into town (or if you don't need or want to get into town much) then I would highly recommend Crown Lanta for the beautiful property, pool, ocean views, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are amazing! Pool side rooms are closer together - some have a deck right on the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brand_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
685 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,049 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
#15 of 84 in Ko Lanta
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing