We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel really grows on you....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I am writing this while lying by the pool at the hotel- the point being the excellent - and free wifi in all areas of the hotel. We were not sure when we first arrived- the distance from beaches and the town , and the distance of the rooms from the lobby were a concern, but this is more than compensated by shuttle on demand from the rooms to wherever you want to go in the hotel complex. We never waited more than a couple of minutes for a shuttle to arrive.

The rooms are ok- a bit tired, but super clean and size able with a great bathroom and good size balcony.

We hired a scooter ( 300 baht per day) so getting around was no problem - but there are hundreds of tuk tuks if you don't want to do this. Salad an town is only a few minutes away.

The greatest asset of this hotel is their people. Literally nothing is too much trouble for them. Complaints ( or even suggestions) are taken very seriously and immediately rectified or addressed. All the staff, from the pool attendants through to management are super attentive and seem genuinely wanting to help. With that attitude the hotel has to be a hit.

If you want solely a beach holiday, then there are probably better options, but if you re looking for an oasis in the midst of the chaos that Koh Lanta can be, then I have no hesitation in recommending the Crown Lanta.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Me and my wife were in our honeymoon so we chose the Deluxe Pool Access Room and it was really fantastic! The room was big, comfortable and quiet. But for a 5 star resort, I wasn't expecting that they doesn't have a flat TV or card keys to enter the room, anyway, it wasn't a big deal for us, just an opinion as a frequent traveller.

The room's pool was very quiet, clean, private and great water temperature! We also tried the bigger public pool that's awesome, with a great cocktail bar! The Cliff Restaurant is near the pool and serves simple meals at acceptable prices. Due to the location, we need to have a good physical preparation to get to the Peak Restaurant where they serve the great breakfast buffet! But normally the staff gives everyone a lift to anywhere inside the resort if they pass by with their cars.

From the Cliff, you have access directly to the private beach that is fantastic! You have also a pathway that leads you to the Klong Dao Beach, another great and calm beach!

There are 4 different hours for the free ride from the hotel to the Saladan Town, and back. We normally get the ride to the town for dinner and shopping and come back to the hotel by Tuk Tuk (paying around 40-50 bahts) so we didn't have the stress of the time limit.

They have tourist desk that informs you about all the activities offers and where you can buy the tour packages.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, although most of them doesn't speak english well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macauvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel as such is quite ok, I would rate the quality of the rooms at only 3 stars but very clean, very friendly staff and beautiful views from some of the rooms. Both swimming pools are very nice.
The access to the beach is either down alot of steps at the side of the hotel in an abandoned area or out throught the main gate and through the neigbouring hotel. The beach as such is nice but not, in my opinion, the nicest on the island. Long beach appealled to us alot more so did the next one klong nin. It is close to Saladan for dining and some shopping which is a plus. The beds were very hard and unfortunately the sheets and all towels were very very worn and should be thrown away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eatthemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good location just outside the shopping area. Two huge swimming pools, great for kids and adults. Excellent breakfast, and very good service from the many hotel employees. Probably not ideal for elderly or handicapped people as there are no lifts and a lot of hills.

Room Tip: If possible, take a room with an ocean view or a room with direct access to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a good hotel, quite beautiful to look at, with pools at various levels throughout.

We stayed in the Delux Pool Access room which was fabulous, with a pool right at our door. The pool was really good, clean and it was great to swim along the whole length of the pool. The rooms are large, and comfortable. There is a musty smell in the rooms though, but we expected that given that the pool was at our door step.

The cliff restaurant was good, with a reasonable menu selection. We did not find that the food was overly expensive, the meals were quite simple and usually cooked well (we did have a problem with raw fish in the fish and chips, but that was taken back and we ordered another item).

The breakfast buffet is really good, with an egg station, western breakfast items as well as lots of fruit and some local food.

The staff are really friendly, and on hand to drive you from the entrance of the resort to the top of the resort at any time.

The problems with the resort are that staff generally do not have a good command of English or other languages.

Management are not on the property on the weekend so if you have a serious problem, you have to wait until they are back at work to have it sorted. We were told one night that the manager would call us (over the raw fish issue) which he never did. At all.

At the time we were there, in December (high season), the staff were doing alot of outdoor work, replacing some of the bridge over the pond. It was extremely noisy, with hammering, the use of electric saws and lots of other noise for a period of 3 full days. One would think that work like this could be done in the low season (after the rainy season) as there would not be as many people there.

There were no bicycles available as they had not serviced them. One would think they would be serviced in time for the high season.

There is a terrible smell on one side of the resort, I believe coming from a rubbish dump or the like....it really is stomach churning at times.

The tuk tuk drivers who park out the front of the resort (who are not hired by the resort) are incredibly rude. We speak Thai and as we walked past them, they said insulting things about us and then laughed altogether as a big group and then one of them spat in our direction....it was quite intimidating. We spoke to the management at the resort about it, as had someone else, and the management said that if we wanted a good driver, they would get one for us. However, that does not solve the problem of having to walk past the drivers and getting insulted every time you leave the resort. The tuk tuk rates are very expensive.

I would recommend this resort, but hope management see this review and manage their way to update the resort, to consider customer comfort and to ensure that customers' reasonable needs are fully met.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We was in an Elegance Deluxe Room with a nice sea view. Our room was big enough and suite our need.
My boyfriend like our room very much. In the evening we could sit at our balcony having some good time after traveling all day

The service was great and truly 5-star, all staff was helpful sweet and hospitable especially Ing at reception. The breakfast was okay and the seafood buffet at the Cliff zone was nice and good test.


Don't forget to visit a Reggae Beach bar, it is very nice to sit in the evening watching sunset, having some drink and a fire show. I would return. !!!

Ask for Room 2203 or 2204 with a best of sea view

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Tanit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I and my family stay in an Ocean Sunset Villa Room 2116 and 2117 last Friday.
The place was good and all staff was perfect especially a front desk team who was checked in me and my family. The room i had was totally perfect with a huge balcony and a nice sea view of Koh Phi Phi. i'll say, I loved the place, I do hope to visit again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NattapongTab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#10 of 85 in Ko Lanta
828 reviews
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,545 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
2 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
466 reviews
11 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $57 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing