We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Resort with great views and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

- Excellent resort with superb facilities and location
- Rooms on the upper part of the resort with views are exceptional
- Pool is great for relaxing - Bars are really nice (especially the Crown Reggae)
- SPA (prices are a bit steep, but use the discounts and special deals)

- No sandy beach (but excellent beaches not very far)
- Need to use a cart to go the lobby (walking a bit long)

Room Tip: - Rooms on the upper part on the second floor have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just return for a 6n/7d accomodation in Crown Lanta.
Very good hotel, staff always very friendly and ready to help.
Rooms always perfectly clean, swimming poll amazing, breakfast with lot of variety.
Easy transport to saladan by 1,25€ per person.
2 small private beach and 3 min walking to a public beach ideal for kids with bar and massage area.
The only not soo good point is the food a la carte... Too expensive. Can get the same by 1/3 of the price outside.
No doubt i would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The crown lanta is a beautiful place to stay. I loved our room with pool entry, it was lovely. The food at the hotel was tasty as well (since I had food poisoning from before I got to the hotel) just the peace of mind of not getting sick was great.

The breakfast was a light summery style breakfast. The rooms were clean and had everything that you need. It is a big hotel but they are happy to pick you up from your rooms. We borrowed movies for a quiet night in from the front desk which was great. When we left the hotel early morning they also had breakfast boxes for us so we didn't miss out on our breakfast. The staff were friendly and the travel desk was great at helping us organise our airport transfer (which consisted of a private speed boat and felt very James Bond esq having to be at the airport super early).

A highlight for us was the reggae bar... We loved it! The vibe and music was so chilled and relaxed, the cocktails were great (especially 2 for 1 happy hour) but the view was great. It was so peaceful at night time and I have some of the most beautiful night shots from my trip whilst at the bar there. The fire shows were great, we watched them three times while we were there!

It is also great you have beach access. We went swimming and snorkelling at the beach and it was lovely. Very private and we got to see lots of fishes.
The hotel isn't the cheapest by any means but you are getting what you pay for and for me it was a treat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

While we enjoyed the staff at the bar and restaurants, my partner and I's experience with the reception staff ruined our stay. Upon arrival we were quizzed about a third party that was booked - we had only ever booked for ourselves, and received several calls after being placed in our room about this to different reception staff, even after we had fallen asleep for the night. We received a fax from our travel company regarding our transfer times but were not given it until we requested it from reception three days later - they hadn't planned on giving it to us unless we requested it!
The day before check out we were offered a late check out of 2pm but on the last morning received a call at 7.00am informing us that they 'needed the room for a another booking' and could we please get ready to leave! Woken up and angry I told them that we wanted at least out minimum check out of 12pm.
Upon 11.30am as we were packing our bags, a staff member bursts through our front door (we had paid for the most expensive room with a private pool) without even a knock, and demands to take our bags away while the cleaner stands at the front door trying to get. Absolutely ridiculous! We told them we were still packing (and my husband getting changed in the bathroom) so they waited in a buggy outside our room talking loudly till we left.
While the room and private pool was nice, there were no nice, sandy beaches in the area like the photos and the resort was nice, but very hilly if you wanted to walk around with small children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacI376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I are just returned from a 14 night stay at the Crown Lanta resort and can report that it was a nice hotel, certainly nothing less or more. The resort was very well landscaped and wherever you are you are surrounded by lush vegetation and feel the privacy we crave on holiday. Our room (pool access, 1st floor) was perfectly acceptable and the housekeeping staff kept it clean and well services for us. The breakfast was OK......but having stayed at other Thai hotels I have found much better. To not have an option of a live noodle bar for breakfast was a disappointment to me.
Drinks (in particular) and food at the hotel were a little high compared to other places nearby.
The previous posts which mention how hilly the resort is do not talk it up at all!. This is a seriously hilly resort and after a few days I was dreading the trek to the restaurant for breakfast (the only meal we took there) or to the main pool which was even further from our Pool Access room. Yes, there are golf buggies which you can request via Guest Services but it was always hit and miss as to whether one would arrive so walking (or should that be climbing) was the order of the day.
The hotel has a nice location on the north point of Klong Dao beach. To walk to the busier area of the beach for the bars & restaurants does take a good 15/20 minutes but the beach walk is a pleasant experience in the early evening. To try to sunbathe on the beach is challenging if you are looking for a beach lounger as there are no commercial beach facilities. The loungers out on the beach are part of the hotels which are positioned on the beachfront (the Crown Lanta isn't) so not available for use. There are deck chairs outside The Indian Bar half way down the beach which you are free to use.
The hotel is conveniently located for an easy Tuk Tuk ride into the main town of Ban Saladan with a fare of 100 Bht one way) and there are always a few Tuk Tuk's outside the hotel entrance so no waiting. The hotel does run a complimentary shuttle bus but it only goes a few times a day so not worth bothering with.
The town is well worth a visit as there are numerous restaurants and shops to stroll around. There are a number of 7/11 type small supermarkets where it is good to pick up a few beers and wines to stock up the hotel room mini bar.
One gripe I would make is that the wi-fi is chargeable and not cheap at that. When compared to most of the most basic bars and restaurants in the area which have free wi-fi this is a poor offering for what is an expensive hotel. Surely they could provide that? I don't book holidays based on wi-fi facilities but to have it would have made the stay more pleasurable......
The pool area was quiet(ish) with few children around to spoil the quiet and the pools were very clean and tidy.
All in all, we enjoyed our time there and would return to Koh Lanta but would probably give the Crown Lanta a miss this time as there are many more places to try out on the island. When it comes to a rating, I have given this a 4 and feel that a 3 would be harsh. If there was a 3.5 I would go for that :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The resort looks better in advertising material than in reality. It's great having pool access from your balcony when staying in deluxe gazebo pool rooms.

Apart from that, the best things with Crown Lanta are the spa and breakfast. Their breakfast cater especially for Scandinavians, serving 3 types of brown bread, 5 types of yoghurt, plenty of fresh fruit, all types of eggs and a few Asian alternatives.

The most negative with Crown Lanta is the fact that most of the staff don't speak good English and have limited knowledge of the area. Not having a proper beach was also a surprise for us. There are pretty steep hills to access the facilities of the property which might be a problem for some. However, you can always go to the reception and ask for a golf cart to drop you off if you don't like walking up those steep hills.

Room Tip: Stay in the holiday deluxe gazebo pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maccke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Overall the resort was beautiful. The rooms were very clean and luxurious. The service was great with timely room services in the late morning and turn down in the evening. Most of the resort has a beautiful view over the ocean including the two restaurants (however only the ocean view rooms have a view, the other ones are on the other side of the resort). The pools were beautiful and the resort did not seem too crowded. Please note it's not on the beach it's on the hill but it's very close to a few beautiful beaches.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic with lots of western and thai options. You do need to walk up a steep hill to get there or you can get a lift up from reception.

There were free kayaks available too so no need to hire on from town.

The day spa is really nice but way overpriced. There are places just as good in town for a fraction of the cost. At the moment they have a 2 for 1 deal on Mondays but even with that it was expensive.

The resort is well set out with the ocean view rooms on one side with the day spa, the main pool and one restaurant. In the middle (at the top of the hill) is the gym and peak restaurant (where breakfast is served). At the front side are the other rooms with an L-shape pool for the pool-access rooms. There's a small bar there with the same menu as room service.

Unfortunately, we found that everything in the hotel was very expensive compared to other places in Thailand as well as places in the area. Things such as room service food, laundry, the day spa, restaurants and the mini bar were hugely overpriced. For example, our laundry in town would cost about 100 THB but in the resort they wanted to charge us about 9,000 THB. Even the tourist information desk at reception charged significantly more to book tours and ferries than those in town. We also found the shuttle bus wasn't at convenient times forcing you to organise your day around them, pay a tuk tuk to take you into town or walk.

The staff spoke very poor English. I was really surprised by this due to the nature of the hotel. We found that even people in the town working at shops, massage places and restaurants spoke better English.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
2.0 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $69 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing