We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, very steep hill.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Crown Lanta is set on a very steep hill, almost a 20% gradient. The lobby staff put on shuttle buses by request but my husband made me walk it. In that heat it almost killed me. I'm not overweight or old (I'm 29) but I am unfit and the hill is so steep. Don't let that put you off though, it is a beautiful setting.

We stayed in the Elegance Deluxe room which overlooked the sea and it was beautiful. The sunset is AMAZING and not to be missed.

Crown Reggae is a quirky little restaurant down by the sea and makes very good use of a small section of the beach.

The Cliff top pool is large and there are so many sunbeds around that there's plenty for everyone. They have parasols, fresh towels for everyone to use and the staff are so friendly. The food at the pool bar is delicious.

We walked past the swim up pool rooms and they looked nice enough but we preferred our room overlooking the sea and would sit on our balcony overlooking the sunset.

There's free wifi in the lobby and free to use kayaks both of which we took advantage of.

Long Beach (or Phra Ae) runs from Crown Lanta along to another resort and is a beautiful beach. A short 5 minute walk along the beach and you'll find so many Thai massage parlours where you can get a full body massage for an hour for 300 baht each (£6). There are also plenty of restaurants and bars with their tables in the sand so you can kick off your flip flops whilst you're eating and listen to the sound of the waves crashing whilst you sip a beer or Pina Colada.

There are a lot of Scandinavian families in Koh Lanta, we didn't come across any other English couples or even French / Spanish / German etc which we're used to seeing when we go to other holiday places.

Everyone rides on mo-peds so we hired one for 200 baht a day (£4 a day) and travelled round the island. It took 3 hours to go round the whole island. It is simply stunning and I'd highly recommend the island and Crown Lanta.

Saladan Town is only 5 minute car journey down the road and the hotel put on shuttle buses free of charge at certain times. A taxi only costs 50 baht each (£1). There's a market and several convenience stores and pharmacies etc there.

Saladan and Crown Lanta are right by the port for Koh Lanta and you can get a mini bus from Saladan port across to Krabi airport (obviously on the car ferry) for 300 baht each (£6 each).

There are several things you can do whilst on the island. We went Elephant Trekking, there are water sports and boat trips etc.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jezibella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay here in October 2012. The hotel is fairly big with a wide range of rooms available. Our pool access room with it's own terrace did not disappoint! The hotel is set next to the beach which is easily accessed via steps down to it and there are complimentary tuk-tuks into and out of town which was also a great service.
Staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the room and hotel were kept clean and tidy.
The happy hour at the pool bar was also an added bonus!

Room Tip: Pool access was great. Nice and quiet with your own terrace and a shared solarium if preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vesmith_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent three nights here in early January and just had a lovely time. The staff was always gracious and the grounds and facilities are in good shape.

The rooms are on two levels, each with a pool and pool bar. The lower level had pool access rooms (which we stayed in) while the upper level had rooms and villas and also most amenities: restaurants, fitness center, spa, crown reggae bar. The upper pool is busier and sometimes had chair hogs, but it was generally sunnier and possibly warmer. Lower pool is quieter and more private. Going from the lower to the upper level requires a decent walk or grabbing a ride in a golf cart and we never minded either option. We did speak to one parent who.moved to an upper level room because kids were tired of the climb.

From the upper level there is access to the private beach AND the public beach (some other reviews are incorrect on this point). The public beach access is not well-marked (I imagine they want people to stay on the property to eat and drink) but it is only a short walk.

The Crown Reggae bar is excellent with beach-side seating (cushions on the beach or a just-elevated balcony) with drinks and light fare (western and thai) and many cocktails with several drink specials. There is also a fire show Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday. The views of the sunset are amazing and this is my new favorite bar.

Room Tip: We loved the pool access rooms but decide if you want to make the trip up the hill for breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Based on our short 3 day stay: The location is convenient in a way as it is closer to the main pier, but it is not in the main town or along any of the main beaches. We got a complimentary pick up from the resort from the pier so we weren't hassled by the many touts. The resort ran free shuttles to the town at set times or it was I think 100baht for a drive in. It is on a peninsula, it is quiet. If you are looking for a place to stay where you can just walk out a few minutes a find shops, restaurants, bars, lots of people.... maybe this isn't the right place for you. We took the opportunity to hire a double sea kayak (complimentary) and paddle out to the main beaches for a day. It was a good workout and great to be able to just paddle along beach to beach eating, drinking, getting massages at our own pace. The private beach is small and rocky but we preferred it to the luxurious looking pool. Our room had a balcony facing the sunset which did not disappoint. The resort has some pretty big hills to walk up and down to get around but if you are not feeling up to it, call reception and they will send a golf buggy to pick you up. We always walked but were often asked by friendly staff passing in buggies if we wanted a ride.
We caught the shuttle into town to have dinner at a waterfront bbq seafood place. There's much more variety in town than eating in the resort, though the room service was good too. Also we loved our sunset over the ocean from our balcony room (2nd floor). Koh Lanta as an island didn't really have any appeal to us initially as we were just island hopping our way to Krabi from Koh Lipe. We enjoyed our stay at Crown Lanta Resort because I feel we made the most of what was offered. If you like the sound of our review, we would recommend equally adventurous but luxury loving hearts to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor sunset balcony room overlooking the ocean, away from the pool which is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishMash2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I enjoyed my 8 days stay very much. Very nice view, friendly staff, especially Nay from the reception made a terrific job. Pool access is my favorit room!

Also food is very good, and the reggae bar has not to be missed for a cool drink during sunset. I can fully recommend this wonderfull hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msaegesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved this hotel, but seeing the other reviews I can understand some of the issues. Firstly it is located on a point, so it is not walking distance to town (there are shuttles) and there is not easy beach access (resort is quite hilly, and access to the small private beach is down some steps - or a short walk away from the resort). Depending on where your room is, it can be a long walk (or golf cart) to get there. We were there in low season, so it was very, very quiet.

That said, it has fantastic views and great pools. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, and our room and plunge pool were fantastic. I would definitely stay there again if we were in Lanta. Food options were OK, and if you want something different, you can always shuttle it into town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Schweee nailed her review. This was a comfortable, clean hotel, with all the amenities... but was nothing special.

In fact, it left a pretty sour taste in my mouth as the first spot on our honeymoon destination. I left thinking "this cant be it?!" This hotel is pretty generic. The rooms are standard hotel rooms where you could be anywhere in the world. The saving grace was the swim up pool, which we spent most of our time in and loved. If you don't get a room with a swim up pool, I wouldn't bother.

The staff were pretty disinterested, so it was easier a lot of the time to do things yourself. Our screen door feel off on day one, and even after pointing this out to someone, it was never fixed.

The breakfast was so ordinary (hello peas?!) that we couldn't be bothered to get up in time for it, even though it was paid for. Room service was actually pretty good, which was great, because the town was just ok and was a transfer away (speaking of, the complimentary transfers only went about 5 times a day so we just got taxis), so sometimes we just couldn't be bothered!

They did host a "Jamaican night" at a new bar on the rocky beach one night which was quite fun with cocktails and a fire twirler, but I don't know how regularly this occurs.

The beach at the resort is rocky and small and I think there are far more interesting and friendly hotels to stay at (perhaps not as luxurious) further south on the actual beautiful sandy beaches.

We agreed we wouldn't stay at Crown Lanta again, and probably would give Koh Lanta a miss. I just think there are far better places in Thailand.

Room Tip: Get one with the swim up pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverwannagohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
10.4 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
11 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $71 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing