We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here with my son and family and paid more for pool access,very hard to enter pool as there is no step to get in with. To eat you had a very long walk up a very steep hill. the staff were unhappy and the food was bad and out of date. would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 243kathiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the ocean sunset villa for 2 nights. The resort itself is huge and has pools everywhere. It is quite beautifully located on a hill and therefore the hotel operates golf carts to get you to your rooms (and trust me it is needed). Apart from the rooms are absolutely amazing, the view from the bed of the ocean especially when you wake up in the morning. the sun deck in the room is the best place to relax especially at night (if you can keep the bugs away). Overall a beautiful place to relax and very conveniently located from the beaches in Ko Lanta. The only issue we faced was that the staff was not very conversant with english which can be a let down especially when you staying at such a nice place. Also, most of the stuff served for breakfast was canned food and not very nice.

Room Tip: Stay in the ocean sunset villa and get aa package without breakfast as its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank udayahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My family and I went to this hotel at the beginning of this April and stayed at a Ocean Private Pool Villa for three nights and a Grand Villa for two nights. Although, it's the second time for us to visit this hotel, we had more enjoyable, wonderful time than before. At Krabi airport, one of staff of the hotel was waiting for us at the designated place and welcomed us with cold towel and drink.
When we arrived the hotel , many staff welcomed us and said to us " I remember you ". Could you imagine how much we were glad to hear their words?
We felt like this hotel was the second home of us. In advance I already paid our lodging fee, so the process of check-in was very simple and speedy. Thanks to their kind consideration ,early check-in, my mom, almost 80 years old, could lie on the comfortable bed and feel refreshed.

The Ocean Private Pool Villa was nice and the scenery from the villa was wonderful than before. Because our villa located in the west side, we could watch the sun set over the ocean. The spacious living room, comfortable bedroom and cozy bath room inspired a feeling of euphoria.

The Grand Villa was great gorgeous ! We could see 180 degree breathtaking scenery and feel cozy breeze from the ocean. The room was composed of 2 bedrooms, 2 living rooms, 2 bath rooms and a big spacious nice pool. The bedroom of the east side was connected to the living room and from there, we could jump into the pool directly. This room has a jacuzzi tub and toilet without shower. Although it's not easy to full the bathtub with warm water, the scenery from there was marvelous ! The another room was divided into a bedroom, a shower booth and a living room which has a kitchen environment. The terrace was like on a rooftop and the scenery from there was more breathtaking than from the restaurant. The big pool, the terrace with a nice view and pretty green garden were well organized.
One thing we were a little bit worried about was brightly-colored caterpillar crawling on not only leaf but also terrace and deck chairs. When we first found them, we were surprised to its color and grotesqueness. But after watching them several times, we got used to it and thought they were cute! (Please find the attached photographs)

As for breakfast, many kinds of menu were served and I loved delicious breads and Thai cuisine menu.
One time, we enjoyed tasty set dinner at the Peak restaurant. I was surprised to see the volume so it's hard to finish eating all dishes. Since it is quite a large amount , it is best to order in a group. Of course the quality and taste were nice!

During 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. we enjoyed HAPPY HOURS at the pool bar. We were offered " 1 get 1 free " service. At the same time we could have kinds of free snacks to go with drinks. That kind of service was nice to have a opportunity chatting with not only my family but also hotel's staff.

Anyway, we could enjoy everything in Koh Lanta as well as at the hotel .
Thanks to the staff's warm hospitality, we were satisfied with all things and could feel at home. I really think Crown Lanta hotel is one of the must-visit hotels in Thailand. Although there are other wonderful hotels in Koh Lanta, this hotel gives you gentle mind, comfortable breeze, and people's nice smiles. You feel like you can absorb nature's power. I recommend you stay at this hotel to enjoy your life.

In closing, I would like to express my great appreciation to Ms.Panita-san and Ms.Oh-san. Thanks to their sincere warm hospitality as well as flexible service in diverse situations, we could enjoy excellent stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: The pool villas are located on the hill but you can be satisfied with everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

spent 8 wonderful days here. one of the most beautiful holidays i have had. the staff fantastic. tours well organised. shopping fantastic. food great. people friendly very hospitable. snorkelling fantastic. weather good. cant fault anything. recommend to anyone who enjoys hot weather, swimming and tropical beaches.

Room Tip: we had the deluxe pool rooms - very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband recently took me to Crown Lanta Resort and Spa in Ko Lanta. We had a room that walks straight into one of the pools this is definately recommended with the heat. The service was great, staff wer'e friendly and very accommodating. The views are spectacular and the food was great. We had a very relaxing, memorable stay. We would love to go back with our children. The only comment we felt worth mentioning is that the staff should speak better English.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1980lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I had very good stay in the hotel. Just one thing to highlight but it's not hotel's fault. The driver (from outside company) stole our money when we carelessly left our wallet in the private van while we went to buy something from the convenient store. So, Traveller !! Always keep your money with u!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Crown Lanta for 6 nights in April 2012 in a pool-access room (#1112). The room was spacious, comfortable and above all very practical. There is a sofa if you want to sit down and there is plenty of outdoor furniture on a pretty massive alfresco. My favourite feature is that you can switch the air-con off and enjoy a great night sleep as you can leave the alfresco door open and just close the flyscreen. The pool access feature is great but our room was right next to the main pool entrance (pool bar and sun lounge area) so it wasn't as quiet as the other rooms in the complex. I don't have children but they seem to wake up at the same time as the chickens and jump in the pool and start screaming like crazy well before 8am so that was the only negative of being right next to the main entrance.

The location is slightly isolated but the resort offers a free shuttle-bus service several times a day to Saladan. In case you wish to go at any other time, tuk tuk is 100 baht for a couple each way and there are always a few parked at the gate. If you arrive by ferry, transfers from the pier by a tuk tuk shouldn't cost you more than 100-150 baht. The resort also offers the option to organise motorbike hire on your behalf. In most parts of Thailand, I would be hard pressed to recommend getting on two wheels with only a helmet to protect you from a lot of pain but Lanta IS very quiet and you can easily ride 20km/h if you like (just stay to the left of your lane) as there is barely any traffic.

We haven't tried the main pool on the hill as it was slightly more crowded and the small resort beach wasn't as appealing. However, there is a beach (Khlong Dao) which starts right from the adjacent resort (not even a 5min walk from the reception). The water is clean and Crown Lanta is at the quietest part of the beach but there is no shade for those who like it. All in all, not the best beach in the world but pretty secluded and still very good.

The staff were professional and very polite so it's a 5/5 from us. Their Thai-food was delicious and relatively well priced (remember that you are not actually paying just for the food when you eat so no complaints there at all) and we often had dinner at the restaurant. Even their pizza was tasty (the only non-Thai food we had during our entire stay so can't comment on the rest of the international menu). Breakfast selection was very good and the only suggestion to management would be to put some ceiling fans in the restaurant area. It does get pretty humid (especially in the morning after the rain) and this would make a huge difference. The highlight of the dining experience is definitely the view from the restaurant. You can see the Phi-Phi Islands from the restaurant and it is mesmerising to watch the sunset (my tip: go to dinner a bit early to enjoy this stunning view).

One thing to note is that the pool access rooms (the front section) are at the foot of the hill on which the resort is situated. The restaurant is located some 150 metres up the hill so it gets the heart going in the morning when you follow the path and the steps. For the lazy visitors or the ones with limited mobility you just need to call the reception and they will send the car/golf buggy for you so this is not something that should deter any potential visitors.

Paid WiFi is available but from memory it wasn't as expensive as some other places but the resort also offers free internet (using their PC) at the reception.

A very enjoyable stay for couples/families/those wanting a break. Almost a perfect 5 out 5. No hesitations at all in recommending this wonderful resort and their staff.

Room Tip: If you are after a pool access room try to get one away from the main pool entrance - you should get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dzigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
10.4 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $90 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing