We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Funky Fish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Funky Fish
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Oakland, ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I wish I had read some of the reviews before stumbling upon Funky Fish. Their location is great, very close to the beach but the two main staff members and most of the restaurant workers are rude and apathetic. On my first day I kindly asked for a standard amenity in the bungalows to be fixed and experienced the staff member telling me to talk to various other people to get it taken care of, after attempting to do so I went back to him and asked him to please take care of it himself instead of having me do so. He was incredibly rude and disrespectful about it and after staying there for 7 days, no one ever fixed the problem.

At the restaurant the main lady was often rude and disrespectful when I asked simple questions or asked for any advice.

If there had been openings at any other location I would have moved but ended up being forced to stay here during my time on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssfOakland_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    6
    10
    15
See reviews for
2
15
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here for 600 baht-reasonable value right next to the beach.
The room was what you expect in a backpackers place-cheap furniture
a less than stellar A/C. There was a huge home fridge in my room which
didnt work but hey nobig deal.The guy who seemed to run the place had a
laiisez faire atttitude to virtually everything.I kept having to ask
him to reboot the modemon the wi-fi which he did when he got round
toit.I watched him having asked him 10mins before to reboot it-which
he hadn't done only to give the password to someone looking to use it.
The place was average in my view.
The Traveller

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORDOS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We only stayed for one night even thou we had booked for four. We stayed on a bungalow near the beach (they also have bungalows a couple of hundred meters against the main road). The bungalow was basic and ok, but they should take a little bit more care on the surrondings. The owner/ boss is not the most helpful or charming person that we met in Thailand and it rubs off on the rest of the staff as well. It could have been a real good place in the best part of Long beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboise, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hello to you, I came few days ago with my brothers and it was really great as the service that the room rent and especially a super friendly! Familly and staff, continue as it is really a super cool place to spend good holidays.

and if you ever voyer this message esque you could pass on my email to all waitress and boss :)
Thank you
see you later :D
Timothe.poulain @ gmail.com

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I gave funky fish a chance despite the reviews, but the reviews we're very correct . On arrival I waited at the bar whilst a really rude lady kept writing bar dockets and asking have you booked have you paid ...?i booked via booking.com who advised that the hotel would let me know at check in if they had taken payment etc anyway eventually she got another guy to take me to a hut. On the way 3 different sets of people come up to him to complain about something in there rooms. On the outside the hut looked quite cute. Inside the room was very basic. And very dirty looking but hey ... The bathroom had phooey water in the toilet and dead bugs on the floor . I tried rearrange the room to make it more comfortable and noticed something big crawl under the bed . This was the last straw I went up the beach and found another hut at sea pearl lanta. There huts were cleaner and they were friendly all for the same price too. Be warned please don't stay here .... I lived in hostels for a year but this was awful !

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The worst place we had stayed on our trip to thailand was funky fish.
We reached there after 6 hours of travel and were very disappointed to see the place we had booked. Dirty shacks from inside and cheap furniture on the inside. The sheets, pillows and towels were very old and had lots of stains. No toiletries, toilet paper or glasses/cups in room.
Didn't deserve more than 200 baht and we paid 700 for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uglykidjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Lanta no less than 7 times over 8 years!! We've watched it change from a backpackers hideaway to a family island, and it still retains most of its beauty and charm! It is more touristy now, with the tailors and souvenir shops like Phuket, but it's still a wonderful place to visit!

We've stayed at LD, Arrow and Funky during this visits, all if which have been for 3 weeks at a time and my boyfriend stayed at Arrow for 3 months in 2005! We keep going back to Funky because its reasonably priced, the garden bungalows are large and they are quiet. We never choose the aircon ones, the fan is fine. They also have hot water and a big fridge. The beds are typical of Thailand, they are hard, but we like that! The rooms are cleaned regularly, the cleaners live at the end of the row of bungalows. If you feel your room needs a clean, or you want new towels, go and ask them, they don't bite! They come along with a trolley and empty the bins every morning and sweep the steps to the bungalow.

The restaurant isn't the greatest, we always eat at Somewhere Else, but for their rooms, they are cheap and good! You will be treated as you treat them, worth remembering!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisamaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#53 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#52 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#45 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#65 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Funky Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Funky Fish

Property: The Funky Fish
Address: 241/1 M.3 Long Beach (Phra Ae), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Funky Fish 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Funky Fish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing