We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff and beautiful rooms make this the best place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilanta Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilanta Spa Resort
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
1 review
“The staff and beautiful rooms make this the best place to stay.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was staying alone for a few nights in January and a little nervous about being alone. However, the staff at Pilanta went above and beyond to make sure that I felt totally safe and happy during my stay. The hotel was clean and beautiful, but it is the staff that really makes this a special place. Every staff member was so pit and curious , and made sure that each guest had a wonderful time . I can't wait to return to this slice of Heaven on earth and I thank the staff for their kindness and wonderful customer service.
Donna Bradshaw
California USA

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinerdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    63
    39
    33
See reviews for
27
132
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Koh Lanta has miles of beaches, which is why all the best hotels have beachfronts to die for. Pilanta Spa Resort is as if someone came late, with money, bought up a last remaining plot, not on a beach, and built as many rooms as they could. The spa idea is not bad, but it clearly doesn't operate as a spa: if you want a massage, they phone up and get someone from outside. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed, but the bedroom itself felt small and dull (too much dark wood). The small plunge pool attached to the room was poor - loose planks, open electrics, dying plant (1), and the small low fencing around it felt like being in a trailer park (see photo attached). Location and room, therefore, for the price they charge, 3/10, max. But the breakfast was good, and the breakfast room, one floor up, looking out to the side of the resort, was probably the best location in the resort. The communal swimming pool is a reasonable size, but enclosed on all sides by buildings. The club sandwich I had for lunch was one of the best I've ever tasted, and the staff were uniformly excellent - so they do some things well. But overall, the location and 'overbuilding' count against it.

Room Tip: The 'luxury' rooms, with the tiny plunge pool, may be the least attractive. Would anyone use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really nice. We had a great room with big bathtub and our own pool. The location is walking distance to the beach, and 5 min drive to the center.
They have a nice breakfast with lots of options. There is also a pool bar serving both drinks and meals.
The people working here are really nice, helpful and service minded.
A pleasant stay. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in the middle of our honeymoon because we needed to be near Saladan after a day of diving. We chose the Pilanta after searching for a cheap resort -- it was US$90 after fees on Agoda, and given that price, it wasn't too bad. However, it's a shabby place. The staff is all very nice and tries hard, but it's just clearly not up to snuff. There's a PVC pipe "fountain" burbling into the pool, which is populated by tattooed blobs of lesser Scandinavia. The complimentary breakfast buffet is just barely edible. There are septic smells. That said, we slept well after making it halfway through one of their complimentary DVDs, had a good hot shower, and found the bellmen particularly friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Lovely huge rooms, each with a little balcony and a little sitting room. We couldn't get the jacuzzi bath to work but didn't really bother us as the shower was good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and a few spoke pretty good English- more than I expect in a foreign country. The location is a bit isolated but only a short walk to the beach and the hotel rents motorbikes which made things easy. Breakfast was good too. The pool was very green which was a bit off putting. Overall I was very pleasantly surprised as some reviews weren't that great. I would recommend the resort and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kturn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pilanta Spa hotel is a great choice for families with small kids as the pool area is great and the service level is high. The rooms are modern and elegantly furbished. The location could be better as it's located a couple of kilometers from the beach but a pickup service is offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is located near Saladan and is not very far from the beach. We stayed here during new years at high season however this hotel was overpriced and does not deserve the 4 star rating it gives itself. Pool is not inviting, the private pool in our room had stale water which smelled rotten for days. The Wi-Fi was of a very poor service. Breakfast is situated on a nice terrace and the food choice is adequate but not 4 star.
The room however is spacious, bed is comfortable and service was excellent with very friendly staff. I think this hotel would be acceptable if were not charged such a high price as it is a 4 star 'resort'., There are better options with bungalows on a beach at a far cheaper rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#28 of 84 in Ko Lanta
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilanta Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilanta Spa Resort

Property: Pilanta Spa Resort
Address: 399 Moo 1 Tambon Saladan | Ampher Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#20 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilanta Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pilanta Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing