We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No clean rooms!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilanta Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pilanta Spa Resort
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No clean rooms!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel would be vey good if the rooms were more clean. It was like they didn't clean anything, the mirrors, the bathroom, everything in dust and awful smell. I don't suggest it, there are so many better hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    63
    39
    33
See reviews for
27
132
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel as our true "luxury hotel" of our 3 week honeymoon travelling around Thailand. What a disappointment!

It was unfortunate that the weather was overcast and a bit miserable during our 4 days here but that meant there was literally nothing to do.

The rooms are large and spacious with a lovely jacuzzi type bath. That would've been great but not once did we have any hot water to fill up the jacuzzi bath to be able to enjoy this. This also meant we had 4 days of cold showers.

The bathroom and the room, on the surface looked clean but there were little bugs crawling everywhere.

The swimming pool was filthy as the trees next to it meant there was just a lot of sap and leaves in the pool and it doesn't seem to be cleaned much. Beers by the pool are unbelievably expensive too!

You are not very close to the beach here either. To get to the beach means you have to leave the hotel and trespass your way through one of the neighbouring hotels to get to the beach. Once on the beach tho, it was lovely.

The staff at breakfast were incredibly slow. Every morning we went down, not once was there a table that was cleared. We had to do this ourselves.

The icing on the cake was the New Year 'gala dinner' that we were apparently booked on. We booked our hotel accommodation through booking.com and I don't know whether it was them or the hotel that missold us this. They were advertising this so called Gala Dinner (that was being held at another hotel and we'd need to get a transfer) in the hotel for around £40pp. We, however, were automatically charged £120pp onto our credit card to go to this. We were never informed of this during booking or never was it highlighted on our receipt and we certainly never wanted to go on it! Thankfully the receptionist informed us that morning and from there we had a battle to get our money back - thankfully we did.

The only good thing about this place was the lovely fish restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was the worst vacation experience I can recall. The hotel was dated and dirty, the rooms musty-smelling, the location very poor, the pool was disgusting, I could go on and on. Even simple things like cheap towels and ancient bed linens really diminished the quality of our stay. The staff at the front desk are rude with the exception of the tours booking agent. This was awful, awful, awful! Do yourself a favor and go further south on the island, find a better place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbhiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I arrived the day before Christmas. No one greeted us or helped us with our bags. We checked in, and carried all of our bags to our room. Our room was rather far from the reception, which we preferred as it was further away from the pool so we thought it would have been quieter.
Our room was ok. The "plunge pool" was 1m deep and dirty. The pool pump was only turned on in the morning and turned off around 3pm daily. It wasn't private at all as advertised. The shower was dirty, and looked grotty. In the 7 days that we stayed we had hot/warm water on one occasion. We had to repeatedly ask for toilet paper as we were never provided with a second roll. The sheets smelt and had several marks on them. I once saw an old blood stain!!!!

We had to request for tea in the room, and when we asked for fresh milk they said they wouldn't provide that to us. Whenever we were chasing something up, we found the staff to be unhelpful and hard to communicate to.

On the first day we arrived we sat down for some food, which was horrible. It took 45 minutes to serve us a few sandwiches and honestly they were just pitiful. The restaurant across the road saved us from hunger.

In the 7 days I went to breakfast once. No selection, and only one option of fruit.

The experience was horrible. If we had not paid up front we would have left.

It is about 15 minutes walk into the city or to the beach, so location wise it was fine. However I would have loved to stay down the road on the beach and had views.

My tip, this place is a no go zone!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Well on first looking at the previous reviews on this hotel I was expecting a real disaster of a hotel, why did I stay? Well most of the close by hotels that had better ratings were all booked up due to the time of year. Words of advise book up real early for somewhere really decent.

Anyway back to this hotel, yes it's a bit hidden away from the main beaches on Koh Lanta but it has quite a few positives.

The rooms are spacious, well designed, look great, jacuzzi bath, huge beds, spare room so you can hide away all luggage.

Pool is large, with a smaller pool for tiny tots, showers available close by.

DVDs library available as one or 2 English channels which are news channels, though DVDs are pirate they start in Thai Language, there is a setting to turn to English. Some are good quality some are poor.

Lots of hot water!

No bugs as described in other reviews!

Staff were nice and friendly, helpful and looked to be very attentive apart from breakfast staff.

The biggest positive is the restaurant across the road from the hotel, it has great staff and the food and drinks are very good as well and cheap, book a table as this is very popular!

Easy enough to get around via taxi service, taxi bus etc

So as you can guess from previous reviews there are some bad points

Pool does not look clean.
Water does not look clean when showering or bathing, wouldn't drink.
Mosquito heaven - do a thorough sweep of room and put towels down at bottom of front door.
Breakfast - it's just shabby - make the most of what is good even if there is not much
Room cleaning not great - needs more attention to detail
Room maintenance - again few things broken and needed repairing
Wifi - hardly worked..ever
Credit card machine didn't work properly.

This hotel suffers poor ratings based on little annoying things which could be easily fixed, shame they do not get fixed, as its almost not bad at all but not worth the money that we paid but I suppose prices increase for the Xmas period........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

When we arrived at this place we thought we landed in heaven; Deluxe rooms with jacuzzi, good Kingsize bed - really a place with potential. So what's wrong with this place; is it:
- that the location is not on the beach? It can only be reached by trespassing the grounds of
the nextdoor hotel; alternatively you can walk the mile (if you know the way).
- the Breakfast, which is of poor quality and .........cold.
These are all problems which can be overcome easily.

There was no running water on the last evening and and the next morning of our stay. The owner(?) fixed this during the last evening so we took the change and took a shower (within half an hour the pressure dropped again to and remained that way untill we left on the next morning. I have been advised that the whole issue took about 3 days untill solved.

For all of the above we contacted the management and staff, who could not help or were not able to help, not even with possible solutions that were handed by the guests.

It's a pity this place is not mine, since they are sitting on a goldmine and for which their income can easily be doubled.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_H_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
454 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is on the false Location, have the false management and havn't the minimum standard of a 2star hotel
++
Rooms are nice
The staff is always very friendly
- -
The long way to the beach
You have to have a bike or motorbike
- - -
The breakfast remmered me to the first traveling to thailand in 1988. At this time I always slept in inexpensive, but very hospitality guesthouses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#29 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilanta Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilanta Spa Resort

Property: Pilanta Spa Resort
Address: 399 Moo 1 Tambon Saladan | Ampher Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#20 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilanta Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pilanta Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing