We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Prostejov, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

rooms:
We had rented villa orange. Rooms are spacious and offer sufficient privacy for 2 couples. Daily we were in the room fresh drinking water and the rooms were tidy. The terrace is large and offers a beautiful panoramic view.
service:
The hotel staff was always very helpful and advised us with everything. We recommend to use the reception of the organization of trips, transport etc.. Even if we could build a fire on a borrowed grill, very happy to help us guard evening.
Location:
Beautiful view of the sea and the jungle. 100% recommend to all travelers to rent a scooter. I can not imagine going out to sea on foot hill is really difficult.
excursions:
4 islands recommend, riding on an elephant, a national park not recommend it - unclean water, beach ...
Thank the team Baan Kantiang See an amazing holliday.

Room Tip: orange villa offers privacy and beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duxyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    45
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
195
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I had a great stay here (blue villa). Families would love it too as each villa has two very nice rooms. The kitchen is equipped for cooking and the views are amazing. Rent yourself a motorbike (moped) the first day you get there and have a blast going all over the island instead of having to wait on transportation. If you want the quieter part of the island then this is definitely worth looking into staying at! Each and every villa is spacious and with a great view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gte861s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had an amazing time at in the Yellow villa at BKTS - stayed for 10 days with our girls aged 8 and 10. There was so much room for the 4 of us, I'm sure the villas could cope with more. We loved having a spacious family area, a proper kitchen, and the deck with the covered and open areas, and in the bedrooms the linen was good quality and the aircon excellent. We also loved the pool and spent plenty of time cooling off in there - it was nice that it was a salt water pool and not full of chemicals, and the view down over Kantiang Bay was superb. Vivian was fantastic and helped us with almost everything, from travel to/from Krabi airport, trips to Roi Thai (Mr Toey's cooking school), the elephant rides at South Lanta Safari and going to Lanta Animal Welfare, and when she wasn't there the team stood in for her and were just as helpful with organising our Koh Phee/Koh Talabeng sea kayaking trip. All of the staff were so friendly, and worked so hard to keep the whole place clean, looking beautiful and well maintained. As others have pointed out, the hill up to the villas is steep, but it isn't a long walk and it is great exercise after a fine meal down in Kantiang Bay at the Why Not Bar, Kampong Restaurant or the Drunken Sailors. BKTS definitely gets the 5 stars from us - thanks and hope to see you again!?!?!

Room Tip: Yellow villa - close to pool but right at the front with uninterrupted views down to Kantiang Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We are a family of four and stayed for seven nights in the Yellow villa. I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough, the villas were clean and spacious with fantastic views over Kantiang Bay. The pool was lovely and it was so relaxing to sit/swim and take in the views.The staff, Vivian and Kitty, were both extremely helpful, from booking our transport from Krabi airport to arranging boat trips/dinner bookings and advising on where to go in the area. The hill to the accommodation was steep, as other reviewers have commented on, however it only took about 5mins max to walk it so it is "do-able" and we did it several times in the middle of the day in the heat! I would highly recommend this accommodation especially for families due to the space in the villas, having a kitchen with fridge & microwave, and the lovely service you will receive.

Room Tip: Yellow villa-great views and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed in the Blue and Red houses with a family of 8 adults. Absolutely wonderful time. Overall 4*...

5* for bed and bed linen, 5* for views, 5* for friendliness of staff, 5* for cleanliness of villas, 5* for great food/drink delivery service, 5* for fantastic in villa birthday celebration meal meal cooked by chef and her helpers, 5* for Khun Kitty (the GM) and Vivien in looking after us and getting the rental cars and improvements to transfers sorted out (see below) including taking me through the insurance documents for the two cars we hired, 5* for helping me arrange mini-van transfers either side of the speed boat journey vs. the open back Toyota trucks that South Online Travel operates on Koh Lanta (which we took on the way to the resort).

3* for privacy of villa windows. Blackout blinds need to be installed over the top of the current bamboo (?) blinds. Not great for a romantic anything since you are lit-up from the outside on the side windows, which depending on the villa you choose, can be seen by other guests. So rooms only get 4* overall.

2* for South Online Travel (not owned by Baan KanTiang See, but arranged by Baan KanTiang See), on-boarding at Krabi was over some very rickety old wooden docking pier and on arrival at Koh Lanta the boat captain requested all 11 passengers to disembark by climbing up a wooden plank that a) was positioned at a 45 degree angle and b) had a hole in it. After watching the captain almost loose his footing I told him there was no way my family would be attempting the climb. When the other passengers concurred, the captain, to his credit, didn't loose his cool and simply motored around to a small beach landing - which was absolutely fine and should be the standard operating procedure in low tide (low tide was the reason for the 45 degree angle of the plank vs. the boat which was lower down in the water and further away from the docking pier steps).

5* for whatever Khun Kitty said to South Online Travel for an improved return journey.

Others have commented on the climb up the hill. We found it good exercise and there are plenty of local taxis to take you up and down if you don't fancy walking. Wasn't an issue for us.

Overall a great stay. Would give 5* if Baan KanTiang See hadn't been let down by the ground transport.

Room Tip: Blue and Red villas were both great for pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in purple villa.

Like:-
1) View was to die for
2) Design and built of each villa were perfect. There was ample space for kids to run around and pool was very lovely esp. at night.
3) Excellent conditioned bed+linens and air con so we had a good sleep
4) Excellent communication handling before arrival
5) Service to order+delivery foods from famous restaurant" same same but different" at surcharge only 100 Baht
6) Kids stay free with extra beds. (But no proper blankets were provided)
7) Foods for the first morning were quite generous (One gallon of water, loaf of bread, jam butter, juice, eggs, ham, sausage, cooking oil)


Dislike:-

1) Black round insect invaded houses every night once we turned on lights (20 of them or more in the house crawling and also in the outdoor shower) . Door and windows are not 100% sealed once closed so they can get through quite easily. Kids were so scare of them and we had to turn off lights.
2) Refrigerator cannot cope with hot weather.(not sure whether it was broken or because of the heat) Temperature is not cold enough to store foods and milk. Ice creme melted in the freezer. This could not be fixed by engineer who came and said will be back again to recheck within an hour but have never shown up.
3) Very terrible quality toilet paper roll. (message to owner- please do not save money on this, it was really terrible...never use any paper with such a cheap quality before)
4) The towels had smell like they are not dried properly and they were low in quality
5) The owner should consider putting one fan at the dining table as we were sweating while eating every meal in April (the hottest month)
6) No washing machine in room
7) Be careful when taking shower, at certain spot you could be seen by people at another villa higher up.



Tips

Avoid staying during April as it is terribly hot to stay even refrigerator cannot cope with heat. In cooler season, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I feel churlish not giving this place 5: the views are amazing, the place is very well maintained and the staff are lovely. I agree with most of the positive comments previous reviewers have mentioned so I will not repeat them.
However, the road up really is very steep (a couple of switch-backs would have helped). As we were a family with a small child who like to eat & drink out scooters or cars were not very practical and we had to rely on finding a taxi up every time we went out. Admittedly this was exasperated by the very hot weather we experienced there making the climb up unrealistic.
Also, the cleaning was not very well organised. I did not expect 5-star standards, but we went 4 days without a towel change (after I mentioned it we did get a mountain of fresh towels everyday). Then the cleaner forget to bring any toilet rolls for the last 3 days. We were there 10 nights and the bathroom was not cleaned once. It was not busy while we were there and I think these problems were just a case of bad record keeping/management so it seems a shame.
The reception staff were very nice, and extremely helpful. Although I was disappointed with the 'private boat' option for the 4 Island boat trip that was very strongly recommended. We were told we would be able to go where we wanted and follow our own schedule, when in fact our boat just followed a larger boat and we ended up in the same log-jam of people at the same places at the same times. They also didn't tell us there was a chance we would have to go to the other side of the island to catch the boat, so instead of a 2-minute drive down to the beach we were expecting we were stuck on the back of an uncovered truck for over 30-minutes with no-idea where the driver in front was taking us.
My final gripe are the blinds. I think I saw someone else mention this. At night, when there is a light on in the room everybody outside can see in. They also block virtually no light so you are up at sunrise everyday.
It really is a great place. The road up would probably prevent me giving it a 5, but a little more organisation of the cleaning schedule, blinds that offer some privacy, and better tour recommendations would make it very close indeed.

Room Tip: The Green villa has great views (especially of the sunset) and is handy for reception. The gardeners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diggerwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
7.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
10.0 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,055 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)

Property: Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Address: 263 Moo5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PANORAMA VILLA RESORT" Our villas (176 sqm). The villas are suited for two couples or families offering two bedrooms with queen size bed, two bathrooms with outdoor showers, fully equipped kitchen with all you need for making meals at home, living room with 37" a flat screen TV and monitor for international channels, wireless internet, and computer usage. Extra beds for kids are available. Baby cots are also available upon request. Each bedroom has an individual controlled air-condition unit. In addition, for those who prefer to sleep with open doors and windows, there are mounted mosquito net and ceiling fan ready for you to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kantiang See Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing