We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple accomodation but a great bar & location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Ranked #49 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“Simple accomodation but a great bar & location!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over New Years 2012/2013. The price for our stay was higher than we had paid elsewhere in Thailand, however being high season and New Years Eve you can expect this everywhere you go. I feel that in low season the prices would better reflect the standard of accommodation however in high season you might feel that you are paying more than you should!

Room: Simple but had everything we needed. We stayed in a 3 bed bungalow with a/c. It had one double and one single, wardrobe, television, fan & ac, and en suite. When we first arrived the accommodation was not ready (despite us arriving after the given check in time) and we had to wait a few hours before being able to get into our room. Once we could, the room was still a little messy but nothing we couldn't deal with. I think the room was cleaned a couple of times during our stay but don't expect it every morning (and you have to ask for toilet roll at reception).

Site/Location: The bungalows are situated in a garden with a nice pool in the centre. Despite it being "high season" we had the pool pretty much to ourselves most times (although the weather was not that great on some of our days!). The beach is beautiful and right on your door step. We saw some stunning sunsets and there are some great restaurants and bars along the beach.

We love snorkelling however we were unable to see anything at the beach here due to the low vis. Might be better at other times of year though? The sand is lovely and the water is warm but as many other people have said there are lots of rocks in the water along most of the beach which can make swimming a little difficult especially at low tide. However the rock pools are great for exploring and we saw some amazing marine life.

Koh Lanta is a beautiful island and is very quiet compared to the rest of Thailand. We were there at the busiest time of year and we were still able to find peace and quiet (just walk up the beach for 5 mins and you pretty much have it to yourself!) During our 5 days we had a lot of rain (just an unusual storm set apparently that unfortunately hit just as we arrived there- usually the weather is meant to be really good in dec/jan!) so we didn't get to explore that much of the island- but what we did see was lovely.

The onsite bar was amazing (Freedom Bar)- we spent most evenings in there listening to music/playing games and watching the sunset and the staff were great! On New Years Eve they put on fireshows and it was great watching the fireworks and lanterns along the whole beach!

On site restaurant food was ok but better to go to some of the other places along the beach which have a nicer setting.

Overall would recommend- if you can get a cheaper price and don't mind a very simple level of accommodation. The best thing is definitely the location being right on the beach (although bare in mind there is not a lot nearby - just a few other resorts and small shops so might be worth hiring a car or scooter for exploring the rest of the island) and don't come to Koh Lanta looking for full moon craziness!

However that is what makes Lanta so special- it's feeling of remoteness, the peace and quiet and definitely the lack of idiotic drunks you get in so many other resorts!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    20
    5
    17
See reviews for
29
49
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for Christmas & news years, only time of our 2.5month trip we booked in advance. Overpriced, but I guess that's everywhere during the holiday season. Rooms are a bit old, and the door joining to the neighbors room is not soundproof. Staff are friendly (except the owner). Breakfast is OK, lot's of fruit which was nice. The restaurant was quite poor though, tasted very unnatural, like they use lot's of ready made products. Nice pool, nice garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dms25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Arriving in to Ko Lanta is quite an overwhelming experience! There was 6 of us hit with a barage of taxi/tuk-tuk/hotel reps trying to flog us their hotels and rides. We decided to sit down for 5 minutes and grab a drink whilst we looked over the couple of flyers we'd been handed. Was such an intense/stressful 20 minutes being bombarded by thai's going for the 'Hard sell'. In the end we chose The Lanta Emerald as she was offering us low season rates, so for what we paid and what we got was great. Great location, facilities etc.. my only moan would be that the staff looked misreble and weren't very outgoing.. almost like they didn't want to be there, which was a shame. Didn't really spoil our stay - we just accepted that and didn't ask them for anything.

The rooms we had were spacious and clean. Pool was good and you have as much beach as you want on your doorstep. Sunsets are amazing and some great places to eat/drink in the evenings with in 5 minutes either side of Lanta Emerald. The food at the Emerald isn't anything special so apart from breakfast, would suggest looking for alternatives. Overall, we had fun and a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great time here at Lanta Emerald - we arrived in the middle of a major tsunami warning but were well looked after by the staff, who were super friendly and made us feel very safe. Our room was a bit more than we wanted to spend, but very comfortable. The decor could use an update, but overall we had a great stay. The bar was a highlight, we were able to watch soccer, eat a great mix of Thai and Western food, and the people were easy-going and friendly. The balcony overlooking the ocean was beautiful. The pool is another highlight, we loved having some relaxing swims. We found overall the place was very quiet and nice and other than a decor update the place is a great stay! Definitely take the time to walk up and down the entire beach, it's in the most beautiful and wonderful location.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest bungalows at the back of the property - I found they were close to a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I got simple single bungalow, fan room. It is ok cuz i wanted cheap room. The bungalow area is very fantastic. Quiet private, beach connected (not so WOW beach but ok has sand and can swim there, relaxing). and the bungalow has bar by the beach! I would love to go back exploring Lanta island during the day (got motorbike rented from bungalow) or chill our by the beach of bungalow and drinking at the bar at night. : ) swimming pool is additional thing i didn't expect for such a cheap bungalow.

Excepts...small ants in my room thats...annoying!!

oh one more thing, the bungalow close to tsunami evacuation point as well so dont need to worry if there is any EQ!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank isaraklahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I work, travel and live on Phuket and have done so for 5 years and had my family join me for a 2 week holiday, we decided to give them the ultimate experience and take them to one of Thailands little treasures KOH LANTA, we made no plans as we had been many times before, take the ferry get off at Saladan have a cold beer and make a few calls,on the ferry from Phi Phi, a pleasant Thai girl aintroduced her families properties showed some pics etc and we thought well lets do 1 night what harm could this do 1,200THB per room including breakfast not cheap but certainly not 5 star but okay, and if we are unsatisfied we can move on, on arrival, thoughts where what the !!, go to reception to be met with an aggressive male, handing or should I say throwing keys at me, shouting and pointing go that way room go that way room, a pleasant thai welcome where my thoughts, however go to room OM! this left nothing to the imagination, I was on the internet and called a few places and got another reservation for the following morning. We then head out for the evening and must say surrounding area was okay,the ajoining bar to Lanta Emerald, which I believe must be under different management and where welcoming and helpful, next morning on check out we ate breakfast whilst waiting on pick up and handed in keys, then got a demand for 800THB for breakfast which we where told was included when we paid on the ferry, same aggressive man used bad language to me when i told him breakfast was included, not realising i understood what he had just said to me and called me a black dog and farang idiot, my only words about the lanta Emerald bungalows is give is a big wide berth, would not recommend this to the Soi dogs for their strays to stay in.
we moved to the Koh Lanta Sea House Resort next morning, who gave us the most pleasant warm thai welcome, what you would expect in the Land of Smiles, and made the remainder of our stay on Lanta a very pleasant and memorable one.

Room Tip: Choose another resport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsabelandIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed next door last year but liked the guy who ran the ting tong bar. Unfortunately he has moved away. We stayed in room A5 and paid a premium. It was billed as a sea view, you can just about see the sea but the vehicles parked in front are much more noticeable!
It's not the friendliest place you'll stay but the food is good. The rooms are tired and need revamping. There are better places on the same beach.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorwichHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#69 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#8 of 145 in Ko Lanta
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nice 'N Easy House
Nice 'N Easy House
#32 of 212 in Ko Lanta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Riviera Resort
Lanta Riviera Resort
#124 of 145 in Ko Lanta
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 212 in Ko Lanta
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lanta Dareen Resort
Lanta Dareen Resort
#31 of 145 in Ko Lanta
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Emerald Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Emerald Bungalow

Property: Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Address: 154 M.2 Saladan | Klong Klong Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Emerald Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lanta Emerald Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Emerald Bungalow Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing