We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amantra Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Twin Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$29
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$41
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$293
$272
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$12
$11
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$70
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Chalet(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$35
$27
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Lanta(Ko Lanta)
$76
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
161
95
59
45
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
95
59
45
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach frontbeautiful view of the seadive shopklong nin beachscuba divingbooked this hotelbeach barrooms are basicnice poolcleaned every daythai massagegreat beachsunsetkoislandlantascooter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 436 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The front beach bungalows had perfect location with nice sandy beach without any rocks and nice pool which was pretty deep (almost 3m) as the diving school was using it for practise so you could also try scuba diving for free in the pool, which we did. The room were big but pretty old the bed sheets were a bit smelly and towels should have been replaced with new ones, the curtains should also be replaced as they had black spots of mould if those few things were fixed I'd recommend this place and now I can only say it has nice beach and scuba diving experience. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michalfrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We took front the beach front villa, which location is really nice, 5m away from the sand. Breakfast of good, beach is quiet and staff is nice.
But : the bathroom is really old, not that clean, the safe deposit is way too small for a laptop and almost for a tablet, the wifi is really poor, and rooms would need better curtains, preventing light to come inside.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Amantra is a great place to stay if you want to be right on the beach! We got upgraded from the crammy little apartments at the back to the bungalows. They were good value for money, nothing fancy. The aircon worked really well, the staff was ok, pretty friendly, even though they forgot to bring us swimming towels etc on the last 3 days we stayed. We never had dinner at the restaurant but we had some nice drinks next to the pool (bananna shake please!). Nice and close to everything but also nice and removed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

we absolutely loved staying here for 4 nights while in Ko Lanta. restaurants in walking distance, beautiful beach with dive shop and great instructors. our private bungalow was all we needed, teh hotel had a great bar and restaurant we frequented and the hotel transportation they arranged for us was great- this resort was family friendly as well as couples friendly- we will be back!

Room Tip: ocean front bungalow is the only way to go!
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jmacpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Amantra Resort and Spa, located on the longest and one of the most beautiful beaches on the more remote and laid back island of Koh Lanta Yai, is the perfect place for couples or families to escape to when seeking out a moderately priced resort in Thailand. Located directly on the beach, this modern, yet simple family run resort will meet the needs of just about anyone traveling.

The hotel has a number of simple beachfront bungalow style rooms along with a limited number of garden view bungalows and several smaller rooms that are combined in a larger building, located behind the beachfront bungalows and are more apartment style rooms stacked upon each other. The beachfront rooms are steps away from unspoiled white sand beaches, facing west, providing stellar sunsets from the beach, inside the room or the room’s patio. The garden view bungalows are steps from the beach, and if you’re lucky, they provide a peak-a-boo view of the water from the patio.


The resort is a clean and simple resort, ran by a family, catering to mostly foreign travelers. Within the resort ground, there is a restaurant with moderately priced, small portion meals cooking up both western and Thai food and a beach “spa” where you can get massages or your nails done while listening to the small waves of the Andaman Sea roll onshore. Although, the true highlight of this resort is the independently ran 5-star Padi Dive Shop, Antigravity Divers, which runs daily dive trips to world class dive area including nearby Koh HA, Koh Phi Phi, and Hin Daeng and Hin Muang. The dive shop is ran independently from the resort and the staff is phenomenal! They are also the ONLY dive shop that leaves every day from the beach instead of the city pier, so this saves easily 30 minutes to an hour in commuting time to the dive sites, a MAJOR win in my book!



The restaurant and bar at the hotel is nothing to rave about, but it gets the job done and offers meals all day, everyday from approximately 7am-10pm with a nightly BBQ and a large spread of fresh seafood. The best time of day is from 4-6pm though when the bar offers a happy hour and cocktails are discounted to 100 Baht ($3.33). If you're visiting, be sure to try their version of a Long Island Ice Tea. I am usually not a fan, but instead of coke the Amantra Long Island is made with real brewed tea & lemon juice. Needless to say it was delicious and at the low price of $3.33 I definitely had more than one!

The unembellished resort offers a relaxing atmosphere without the tacky décor that many resorts in Thailand over do. Each room includes cable tv, hot water, a fridge, and A/C, providing you with many comforts of home. The décor in the rooms I saw were extremely simple, with tile floors and plain white walls.

The resort is a great escape from the nearby bustling and party islan ds of Koh Phi Phi, Samui, and Phangan. The only down fall is, service is sometimes slow and many of the employees do not speak English, which is a problem when trying to cater to foreigners. Otherwise, this resort is great place to escape to if trying to save some money but want to stay directly on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleWidesFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews