We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Amantra Christmas Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amantra Resort & Spa
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Amantra Christmas Vacation”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Amantra Resort and Spa, located on the longest and one of the most beautiful beaches on the more remote and laid back island of Koh Lanta Yai, is the perfect place for couples or families to escape to when seeking out a moderately priced resort in Thailand. Located directly on the beach, this modern, yet simple family run resort will meet the needs of just about anyone traveling.

The hotel has a number of simple beachfront bungalow style rooms along with a limited number of garden view bungalows and several smaller rooms that are combined in a larger building, located behind the beachfront bungalows and are more apartment style rooms stacked upon each other. The beachfront rooms are steps away from unspoiled white sand beaches, facing west, providing stellar sunsets from the beach, inside the room or the room’s patio. The garden view bungalows are steps from the beach, and if you’re lucky, they provide a peak-a-boo view of the water from the patio.


The resort is a clean and simple resort, ran by a family, catering to mostly foreign travelers. Within the resort ground, there is a restaurant with moderately priced, small portion meals cooking up both western and Thai food and a beach “spa” where you can get massages or your nails done while listening to the small waves of the Andaman Sea roll onshore. Although, the true highlight of this resort is the independently ran 5-star Padi Dive Shop, Antigravity Divers, which runs daily dive trips to world class dive area including nearby Koh HA, Koh Phi Phi, and Hin Daeng and Hin Muang. The dive shop is ran independently from the resort and the staff is phenomenal! They are also the ONLY dive shop that leaves every day from the beach instead of the city pier, so this saves easily 30 minutes to an hour in commuting time to the dive sites, a MAJOR win in my book!



The restaurant and bar at the hotel is nothing to rave about, but it gets the job done and offers meals all day, everyday from approximately 7am-10pm with a nightly BBQ and a large spread of fresh seafood. The best time of day is from 4-6pm though when the bar offers a happy hour and cocktails are discounted to 100 Baht ($3.33). If you're visiting, be sure to try their version of a Long Island Ice Tea. I am usually not a fan, but instead of coke the Amantra Long Island is made with real brewed tea & lemon juice. Needless to say it was delicious and at the low price of $3.33 I definitely had more than one!

The unembellished resort offers a relaxing atmosphere without the tacky décor that many resorts in Thailand over do. Each room includes cable tv, hot water, a fridge, and A/C, providing you with many comforts of home. The décor in the rooms I saw were extremely simple, with tile floors and plain white walls.

The resort is a great escape from the nearby bustling and party islan ds of Koh Phi Phi, Samui, and Phangan. The only down fall is, service is sometimes slow and many of the employees do not speak English, which is a problem when trying to cater to foreigners. Otherwise, this resort is great place to escape to if trying to save some money but want to stay directly on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleWidesFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    84
    47
    32
    69
See reviews for
95
155
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Amantra for two weeks in march. The hotel was very nice, our room cozy and the view amazing.
The staff of the resort is very friendly. We had great discussions with a waiter even without speaking the same language. :) Cleaning is done by demand. You leave a badge at the door asking for clean-up and they will do it. We didn't ask for cleaning every day, on these days the staff left two bottles of water and a roll of toilet paper on the porch. This was very nice.
The breakfast was nice, serving basic toast, eggs, cereal, yoghurt and fruit. Also different types of local currys were served every morning.
I recommend the Amatra to everyone looking for a relaxing holiday on a beautiful beachfront. There are lots of really good restaurants on the beach just a little walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A great hotel with clean private bungalows, a gorgeous beach and excellent, friendly dive center; we would definitely recommend it.

The value for money for this hotel was top notch: The private beachfront bungalows were clean and bright, the staff was friendly and the laundry service was very quick. The bar and restaurant were also congenial and the amenities were great. If you are with girlfriends, sisters, whatever, I highly recommend pampering yourselves by getting a pedicure together (which comes with a relaxing massage) in the tent right next to the water.

If you're a diver, and we are, the staff at Anti-Gravity diver is very friendly and helpful and the diving at Koh Haa (one of several local dive sites) is unbelievable. The center has access to a large, comfortable diving boat which conveniently leaves right off the beach.

The location is also perfect, not far from Old Lanta and other attractions, but still peaceful. There is a little restaurant up the street which you have to go down several sets of stairs to go to, but the view is worth it.

We only wished we'd had more time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJL069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Koh lanta was the first island we visited. We got to Amantra after spending a night in a horrible 'resort' not too far up the coast. Luckily they had a beach front room available. After a short tour of the place, we booked the room for the week. First, they agreed to add a second rolling bed to our room. If you ever travelled Thailand with 2 kids, you know that this perk alone is worth a lot !!!. (They only charged us for one extra bed). Then it was the service. These guys don't let you lift a finger . The beach is just steps away and so is the pool.
Rooms are nice and spacious. Shower can be hard to operate at times but who cares when all the rest is so awesome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lior r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in an ocean view bungalow for three nights to wind up our Thailand trip and it was hands down the best of the lot. The fact that its on a nice beach in Koh Lanta helped (coming from Phi Phi). The resort is very nice in its own right across the board. If I had to find a fault I'd say our only issue was that their wifi did not reach our room. I'm writing this by the pool which is just beautiful.

Overall, it can't compete with the top tier guys but for the price it's very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baylytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel staff excellent but a lack of sun beds slightly spoil relaxation also not many covers for sun beds people sneak out early morning to put towels on sunbed also bed a little hard for my liking the hotel is situated a little out of the way so quite a walk to other restaurants beech is lovely and clean motor bike hire is more expensive than say phiuket

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank splasherPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Amantra, and we Can definitely recommend this place. Vers friendly and helpful staff. The rooms (sea view bungalow) are spacious and nice. Our children had a wondefull time here. Good beach, quiet and nice. There could be more sun beds, and the staff could pay more attention to collect and remove empty bottles, dishes etc from pool area. Reasonable prices in the restaurant which serves good food. Breakfast was ok. Seen in the light of the price very good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.7 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#41 of 84 in Ko Lanta
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantra Resort & Spa

Property: Amantra Resort & Spa
Address: 296 Moo 6 | Koh Lanta Yai, Khlong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amantra Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amantra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amantra Resort And Spa
Amantra Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing