We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amantra Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Repton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We also ended up in a room overlooking the construction site. The receptionist said that construction only happened between 9am and 5.30pm. This was simply untrue, construction started at 6.30am on both days of our stay. The room was tired, shabby and in disrepair (a broken tap and shower head). There is no insulation so the noise of traffic on the hill to the rear of the resort is heard through the night. The breakfast buffet is below average and on each morning we were constantly having to ask for plates, cups, cutlery, milk etc. as the staff struggled to cope.
My biggest criticism of the resort is the attitude of the staff- in particular those on the front desk. They simply don't care. Our concerns about the construction and request for an extra bed (we had booked a twin room but were given a double for my teenage daughter and my female friend to share) were greeted with complete indifference. We were told that unless we paid for an extra bed we would not be given one. We ended up paying the extra so had a double room with 2 guests and 3 bed spaces. They simply don't care what their guests think.
Avoid this resort at all costs.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tamarind116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    84
    46
    32
    68
See reviews for
95
155
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although the location was really nice, right on the beach, there were many things I did not like about this resort. Will start with the Pros...

Pros -
-beach was nice although once you get into the water there are quite a few large, but flat rocks.
-had the best deep fried garlic pepper fish of our holiday.
-the dive shop was awesome and the people were great! Had lots of fun with them & they took us to some amazing spots.
-Room cleanliness seemed good.

Cons -
-cats everywhere! I love animals but there were cats all over the furniture in the lobby and in the walkways. They would come mooch in the restaurant and one of them actually pooped in the sand in a high-traffic access area to the beach. We tried to scare it away but it was intent on finishing...gross!!
-our room was in a 3 story building in behind the beach front villas. It was really noisy - you could hear people slamming their doors constantly. There was a huge gap around the door which allowed insects and geckos into the room. One night something chowed down on my leg and I woke with huge, rock hard bites all over my calf. I don't mind geckos in the room, but I have never heard one make noise until in Thailand! The one in our room kept us awake all night with it's intermittent chirping, it was really loud!
-The room smelled of mothballs something fierce! If you don't mind that then great, but I hate the smell and put them outside although the place still smelled of them after.
-The beds were hard, and the decor was really plain and boring.
-We stayed 2 nights so we got vouchers for 2 days worth of a buffet breakfast. The one day we went out early on the Amantra resort dive boat and they fed us on the boat so we didn't use the vouchers for that day. We checked out to try another resort but had another dive booked through the resort so instead of eating on the boat again we decided to use our leftover vouchers. When we handed them the vouchers they told us we would have to pay for breakfast as we had already checked out. Seriously? Not impressed with that...we had to pay 200 baht each for breakfast in the end.
-The breakfast buffet was not anything special and much of the food was not covered and there were flies crawling all over it.

Personally, I would not stay here again, there are many nicer places on the island!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffnClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, the rooms have everything you could need and are cleaned daily if you require. The staff are mostly very helpful. I planned to stay one night but ended off staying for four! My one problem is that my room was beside a building site (it was advertised as a garden view room!) However, when you're on an island as beautiful as Lanta, you don't need to spend time in your room. A 15-20 minute walk down the beach will take you to bars and restaurant's. Otto's is good for a decent meal. I would definitely recommend Amantra and i hope to return.

Room Tip: Note - The larger building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We tried to book a room while in ko lanta but the staff were. Very unhelpful just told us to look at the beach view villas/rooms really we could only have the ones that thomson customers did not want and do not book villa 101 as this has a view of a tree and the massage beds . Think this hotel scores high because probably somebody is manipulating the scores in resort also a bit overpriced

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fixitcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room was a very good size, and the location of the resort was great with it being right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and quiet and the restaurant sells some very good local thai food. The hotel is slightly pricey considering what you get compared to the rest of our stay in thailand but never the less would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We pre booked a beach view room but on arrival up graded to a beach front bungalow as they looked so lovely. The bungalows are clean but the bathrooms could do with modernising. The view are fabulous especially at sunset. The beach is quiet and really nice. The massages seem to be a bit dearer than along the beach. The breakfasts are ok nothing special. There are several restaurants along the beach a short walk away and would recommend the Pirates bar. we would recommend and will return for the views and quiet environment.

Room Tip: Book a beach front bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louandstevethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Giljan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a second row bungalow...with side views...the hotel room we were shown had nothing to do with the pictures on the brochure...could have been taken years ago...the furniture is particularly cheap (ikea at best) and the flat screen LCD, seemed to have eaten its way to an old CRT, with the Satelite TV, offering 2 English speaking channels. The bathroom is very shabby but it doesn't stop there...most of the thai food was excellently priced and quite tasty...but when I ordered a rare fillet (which I had overly explained that I don't want it overcooked) which was displayed on the menu as a main course. They then returned with a minute steak (served before our starters) with a layer of fat around it, over cooked. So clearly i complained politely to the waitress that it wasn't what was being advertised...they took the plate away, and returned it to the kitchen, only to return the same steak I had cut through, covered in sauce, which I returned again. The manager came to my table stating that the picture (which clearly marked what i was ordering) was there for advertising purposes only (FALSE ADVERTISING that is) and claimed that what I ordered is what I was served. By then adding 'if you're not going to pay for it, you better eat it' !?!..shocked and appalled...and definitely won't be renewing my stay here...travellers keep away...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.1 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Wings Boutique Hotels
The Wings Boutique Hotels
#42 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.6 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantra Resort & Spa

Property: Amantra Resort & Spa
Address: 296 Moo 6 | Koh Lanta Yai, Khlong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amantra Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amantra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amantra Resort And Spa
Amantra Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing