We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet”
Review of Kantiang Bay

Kantiang Bay
Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kantiang Bay can be found towards the south of the island on Ko Lanta's west coast. The Bay is a little-known, beach-lovers haven where you can truly relax and soak up the sunshine and beach-life of an island paradise.There's plenty of things to do; live a castaway dream, paddle in the warm, crystal-clear waters of the Andaman Sea, learn to scuba dive, or just make Kantiang Bay your sun-kissed home for a while.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really lovely beach with clear water and soft white sand. The kind of beach dreams are made of. Definitely worth a visit whilst in koh lanta.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    156
    36
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go to Same same but different”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice and quiet beach, you can see monkeys and a baby elephant. Visit the Same same but different beach bar!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadyadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely beach; beware builders”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Kantiang Bay for 2 months. The area is lovely, the beach is great (although there is quite a lot of glass strewn about at low tide so wear flip flops) and the pace is slow. There are some good restaurants, but most of the Thai food is not great (rushed and non-authentic farang-style). Best places are Noon, Same Same But Different, Drunken Sailors and Baan Kantiang Restaurant - this is the best for Thai food in our opinion. The lady by 7-Eleven makes good pancakes.

We stayed in a private bungalow called Kantiang Thai Villas. It's not on TripAdvisor but you can Google 'Kantiang Bay Thai Villas' and it will be the first result.

A word of warning if you are thinking of renting this villa. The pictures are misleading as they are building new villas right next door to these ones. The view is not what you see here. When we stayed there (Oct - Dec 2012) the building started around 8am, was very noisy, and sometimes didn't stop until midnight (despite our requests). I understand that locals (and non-locals with local connections) want to benefit from the tourist boom but at times it feels like they don't understand how this threatens the very tranquility people are attracted by. We got a very small refund (£10).

Be sure to ask about building work wherever you are staying on Ko Lanta because there is a lot of it happening. Most of it is in keeping with the low-rise, non-invasive style of the accommodation on the island, but 2-storeys or 22-storeys, the sound of a circular saw or nail-gun is the same.

Also, girls, please don't strut about in just a bikini away from the beach. And the same goes for guys with no shirts. It's a predominantly Muslim island and this lack of respect really damages relations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Prettyflyyy~”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

One of the nicest beach along that coast. Not too crowded as well. Do visit one of the hillside restaurant for an awesome view of the beach and enjoy a local dish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting, London
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful Kantiang Bay”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Loved Kantiang Bay, at the far south of Ko Lanta. To me, it's the perfect beach - large enough to have a few local bars and restaurants; the village has a 7-11 and plenty of little shops and travel agencies. But the great thing is that there were no hawkers on the beach, no jet skis or other noisy boats.

Plenty of great little restaurants on (or overlooking) the beach. Don't forget to take a torch if you are walking along the beach at night!

One thing I didn't like was the amount of rubbish in the sea. At one point, I picked up 3 plastic bottles, a huge plastic sack and even an old garment. I think it comes and goes on the tide but I was shocked at how much there was. On arrival at Ko Lanta, we had to pay an extra "Clean Sea Tax" and I would have happily paid a bit more. Such a shame for such a beautiful island.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantiang Bay also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Kantiang Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing