We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another day in paradise”
Review of Nautilus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nautilus Resort
Ranked #14 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Just another day in paradise”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place is awesome. After walking up and down the beach at checking out other bungalows, there is no doubt that Nautilous gives you the best bang for your buck. View wise - awesome. Beach is right in front of you. The grounds are nicely kept to. If you go to other bungalows in the area, you will see that they look like they just built some huts in the slums (ex. Funky Fish). You wouldn't want to sit outside your bungalow in those places because you would just be looking at garbage. At Nautilous, the grounds are kept clean and it has an open air feel to it and the beach is RIGHT THERE. The on site restaurant is good and decently priced. The owners can be a bit reserved at first but they gave great service. The Thai staff were super friendly.

One downside is that this place is overrun by families with their young kids. So you will hear a lot of kids crying which kinda ruins the tranquillity vibe. Another downside is that the beach in front is quite rocky, but you only have a walk up the beach a couple minutes to get a sandier beach.

I'm not a fan of outdoor bathrooms but this one was do-able.

We booked for 5 days and ended up spending 8 days here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
69
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here and it was bliss; small, friendly & no hassles.

Place is situated at Long Beach, appr. 15 minutes by taxi from Koh Lanta harbour. Nautilus consists of 10 bungalows situated around a lawn, literally meters away from the ocean.

It's run by a Swedish couple and most guests were German/Swedish families with young kids. The aircon bungalows go for 1,500 baht a night, the ones with a fan for THB 1,000 I think.

Good place to chill for a few days if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjan_Bolhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We paid 1600 bhat for what I thought would be a comfortable bungalow with all amenities. This was a shabbily-constructed bungalow on stilts with an aircon unit in it. There were tons of mosquitos in it and we had to sleep under a mosquito net. They provided no water, no soap, and no breakfast. It felt like camping. Would have been fine for half that price, but the website is very misleading. The website made it seem like each bungalow was "on the beach." In reality, none of them are.
If you want to pay 1600 for quality and a much better beach with no rocks, try Lanta Villa on Khlong Dao (Long Beach).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nautilusresort, Owner at Nautilus Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Heidi,

Thank you for your review about Nautilus Resort.
Almost 3 years that you are not impressed of Nautilus Resort.

All bad are gone!
Now Nautilus get changed!!

We are the new owner (Swedish and Thai Host),
No more old & shabby bungalows!

All 10 Beach facing bungalows,
We create a Romantic and Cozy Thai style environment that guests are sure to love.
(Please check on the photos of our resort.)

Each bungalow still have a mosquito net but it just for decoration (as Thai Traditional) and not ton of mosquito anymore if the door is close properly.

Regarding amenities we provided 2 Bottles of water for compliment , Soap, Shampoo in every type.
Facilities in the Air Con type, Warm Shower, Roof fan, Fridge with mini bar, Coffee or Tea with kettle and Hair Dryer.

For security, We put the safety box in every room also CCTV that record 24 hour.
And of course free Wi Fi,

We have a BEST massage on site.
Or you can take a triangle Thai mattress relaxing on the big balcony with your love.

We are going to fully re-open again on October 2014,
With fully hospitality, services mind of us and our back up team.
Please do not hesitate to visit Nautilus Resort again.
We will make your stay totally different from last time.

Please contact us as
nautilusresort@live.com
Some surprise is waiting for you.

Thank you and Regards,
Peter and Chaya
The new owner of Nautilus Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

-great location on the beach
-simple bungalow but OK
-quiet place to relax
-the manager and his wife have absolutely not the sense of hospitality; in 6 days they never say "hello", they have no recommendation about the activities on the islands or they don't want to share them !
the next door restaurant (lanta marina) is very good for breakfast and lunch (and they smile !!)
as a summary, go to Nautius for its location but not to find any kind of exchange with its manager

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavreuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My partner and I really enjoyed our time on Koh Lanta and at the Nautilus resort. It was a nice simple bungalow with a great open aired bathroom. Resturant fantastic, the ocean veiws and the convience of the massage station being 20 mts from your bungalow was brillant. I definately recomend this relaxing resort to anyone to unwind and chill out. There were lots of other bars and reserants along this beach that were not too crowded. We would definately go back again!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank corv1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The huts are brick built and not particularly pleasing to the eye, the green in the centre of the resort compensates somewhat. We stayed in a basic (fan) room for B1200 per night, and it certainly was basic. The fan was a floor standing one, and the only other furniture in the room was a basic table, a bed and a rack for hanging clothes. The one redeeming thing about the room was the mosquito net provided. The windows and door have big gaps and the bathroom is open air (it has a roof but it doesn't sit fully on the walls), with minimal light with cold water only, so mosquitoes love the set up.
Only ate at the restaurant once, food was basic and we were overcharged.
Beach is lovely, but we moved on for another B300 per night to a much nicer hut with hot water, A/C, and TV, on the same beach.
The booking process was very efficient, and the owners (farang) were fine about us checking out early.
This is sadly the first time Trip Advisor ever let me down!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The bungalows look very nice, with a veranda and outside shower. The shower only has cold water and the beds (which are huge!) are quite hard. Furthermore it is a good accommodation with a lovely garden, right on the beach, a good restaurant and good location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
3.0 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.1 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Resort

Property: Nautilus Resort
Address: 768 Moo 2, Pra Ae (Long Beach) Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nautilus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautilus Resort,a romantic and cozy resort, Right on the Beach! New owner(2014),newly renovated, Romantic and very cozy resort with only 10 Beach facing bungalows, We created a romantic and cozy property in THAI STYLE, Relaxing atmosphere on the private beach. We provide sun bed that you will get sun-tanned back home or enjoy the passionate sunsets scene while having a drink in our bar. Please allow yourself to be pampered at NAUTILUS RESORT,Right On the Beach! Where yours Swedish, Thai hosts and hospitable & friendly staff will make your stay both nice and comfortable! Nautilus Resort is located on the west coast of Koh Lanta on beautiful Long Beach (Pra-Ae) You will find us right on the beach at the relaxed southern end in a lush tropical garden. Only 10 minutes south of Saladan Pier. Krabi International Airport or Saladan Pier pick up are available upon request. Coming from Krabi International Airport to Koh Lanta is only 2 hours by minivan. Coming from Phuket it is about 3 hours by boat. Free Pick up from Saladan Pier; Just let us know in advance! Looking forward to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nautilus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing