We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average Bungalow, good located and nice staff”
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“average Bungalow, good located and nice staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The bungalow (we stayed in Nr. 2) was a bit disappointing and it seemed it has seen it´s best years. It was clean, but the bed was hard as a rock, no comfortable sleep there at all. We did like the little terrace, the garden and the cute little pool, which was very clean too. The staff was nice and friendly and the breakfast was OK but we expected a bit more. In our travel guide was mentioned something about homemade croissants & Co from a belgium girl, but the owner changed, no more croissants. Therefore don´t order the swedish pancakes, they were cold and tasteless, order the breakfast package with the homemade breadrolls instead, we liked that one.

The place is close to the beach, you just walk a couple of minutes and thats a plus! Overall it was OK, but you can get better bungalows for this amount of money and I think we would not return there.

Room Tip: Dont take the bungalow no. 2, try to get a newer one, if that is possible. The higher the no. the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiek530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appriciate that you took the time to give us feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you got cold pancakes..this should off course never happen and we have talked to our staff about this.
Nice to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly, we are very proud of them and we appriciate them a lot!
About the beds....yes...unfortunately most of the beds in Thailand are very hard. To find european standard of the beds, you need to pay a lot of money which a hotel in our price range can not afford unfortunately.
We agree that our bungalows are basic, Papillon is a 2 star hotel and this is what you get in this price range on Koh Lanta. We try to uppgrade and improve the standard of the bungalows every year...this year we renovated the pool and installed free wifi in all bungalows.

Kind regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    83
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
163
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be very pleasant.
The bungalows aren't directly on the beach, they're a 2 minute walk away down a dirt track at the back of the garden. The beach they back into is ok, not the best on Koh Lanta but perfectly fine. There aren't any sun loungers on this stretch of beach, in fact there's not much at all on this stretch of beach, it's verrrry quiet. There is one restaurant on the beach called Lyms Rice Bowl which was nice for lunch/dinner. If you walk along the beach there are more options, but in the evening the beach is dark so you're best to go along the road. A good restaurant to go to is Thai Cat, not walking distance so get a tuktuk but it was delicious.
The bungalow itself was nice, it was clean, comfy and spacious. Bathroom was clean with a good shower. Aircon wasn't that strong but cooled the room after a while. The tv has a DVD player with plenty of DVDs in reception to borrow. You will need this as there really isn't anything else to do at night. The bar/restaurant in reception closes at 9pm and there aren't any places really nearby to go either, you're looking at a 10min walk in either direction. You can get a tuktuk to take you somewhere, or we hired a moped from reception which was really simple and cheap. I'd recommend hiring a moped to all, koh lanta is really easy to get around and you'll find some gorgeous unspoilt beaches. The sunset in a nearby village, Klong Nin, is gorgeous and there's plenty of nice beach bars to sit & watch it from.
The hotel has a nice pool. The restaurant serves good food, the breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly & helpful.
Be warned that Koh Lanta is particularly bad for mozzies, even in the daytime. The mozzie net in the room was good with no holes but still load on the repellant!
All in all it was a pleasant stay if you want a very quiet resort. Those looking for more action may prefer Klong Nin.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for this review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to hear that you like our restaurant, we try to offer a nice mix of thai and western food...and we want the thaifood to taste like real thai...which mean that you can get it very spicy if you like :-)

Good that you mention ThaiCat, this is a very nice restaurant, one of our favourites on Koh Lanta.

Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip...and you are always welcome back to Papillon :-)

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

After a nightmare of a time getting here I walked into the wonderful reception area and was greeted by smiling faces. I was then walked by the beautiful pool to my bungalow. So many small touches.... The hammock at the entrance of each bungalow, the complimentary WIFI, water, library in the dining room. The place is beautiful and steps from a beautiful beach. I could not recommend any changes... The place is perfect

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Ohh this really warms our hearts to hear...thank you for your kind words about Papillon :-) Hope to see you again some day!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We spend two nights here, my husband 's comment was we could have stay for another three days. It is so relaxing, the beach is just behind us. We watched the beautiful sunset., and walked on the nice clean beach with lots of shells on it . Supper time was great too, the food on the hotel menu have lots of varies from local Thai to American. The price of the room comes with their fantastic five breakfast menu, the fruit yogurt muesli,with two toast, a cup of juice and coffee or tea.!!!! . My son had the Swedish pancake and it was 'yum '. Staff and owner were all friendly and helpful.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_b767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much, it´s a pleasure to meet such nice people as yourself. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Papillon, maybe next time we´ll meet in Hawaii :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stopped here for 3 nights as we had a trip planned in ko lanta however due to weather we had to cancel so we spent the majority of the 3 days chilling by the pool and dining in the restaurant. Thankfully the hotel and restaurant were fantastic so we throughly enjoyed our stay even if lanta was a little quiet for us.

The owners and staff bent over backwards to accommodate you offering fantastic hospitality.

The room itself was a cute little bungalow with a large bathroom, fridge and lovely firm bed. There was also a hammock outside which was a nice addition.

By the restaurant was a pool and loungers which were great for a spot of reading and chiling even if the sun wasnt always on our side.

The restaurant has a large range of meals all of which were fantastic and had a great price. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stop at ko lanta.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for this great review, glad to hear that you enjoyed it here at Papillon. We remember that the weather was not on your side, hope that you had better luck on your next stop. It was very nice to meet you and we hope to see you again some day :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and weren't once disappointed. REALLY nice, friendly, helpful and always present staff, called you by your name making you feel at home. Extremely nice bar/restaurant/lounging area right next to the pool, ideal if you have kids! Very nice food ( try their papillon salad!) Very clean bungalows and comfortable bed. back door from the resort only two minutes walking distance from the beach. They even made us special take away breakfast the day we left because we were leaving earlier than the bar was open. In all, a big thanks to the whole staff, you made our stay in Lanta great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tibo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much, we are so glad to hear your kind words about Papillon and especially our staff, wonderful! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and visit us again some day :-)

Warm regards
Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at Papillon for 4 nights in October and had a very pleasant stay there, the hosts Caroline and Jan are most welcoming and attentative as any family owned business should be.

Once I got over the shock that I'm not staying in a higher priced hotel but essentially a excellently priced bungalow, it all made sense.

The bungalow I stayed in was furnished with a double bed,fridge,ac, ceiling mounted fan and shower room and toilet behind the bedroom.

Sadly it rained most of the time but that wasn't Papillon's fault, managed to hire a moped via the helpful girls on reception and on the nice days managed to ride round most of Island.
After the hosts have listened to customers regarding lack of Wifi apart from reception, they have had installed more wifi hotspots so the rear bungalows are now online.

Food at the restaurant was also good and cheap, if your up for breakfast then there's a choice of four options but I once tried the big bowl of Musili with fresh fruit and layered with yoghurt I was hooked.

The always someone present on reception till 9pm unlike on some previous reviews to help you with any requests, they also arranged a minibus for a direct trip back to the airport.

So to summarize, If you fancy staying in bungalows that are excellent value for money with really nice hosts and not forgetting Long Beach on your doorstep then Papillon is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you Henry for your wonderful review, we really appriciate your kind words about Papillon. We hope to see you again some day and hopefully we can offer you some better weather then :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing