We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very relaxed stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
CHATEAU DU LOIR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a very relaxed stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Papillon bungalows is a very relaxed place and very safe with children. The food at the restaurant is good (I loved the chocolate cake and the big breakfast !) and the service is fast. You're just a few steps from the beach and if you prefer there's a swimming pool. We stayed in a large bungalow with an extra bed and there wasn't any problem with the space, it was large enough with the 4 of us. The prices are very competitive if you look at the other hotels. Well, we recommend Papillon to every tourist who plans to stay in Koh Lanta !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CALIGULETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for this nice review, we really appriciate your kind words and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    82
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
162
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I shall try and write a fair review of this hotel but I was rather disappointed with the accommodation offered at this resort.
Firstly the positive things, friendly hosts, decent size accommodation and bathroom, delicious breakfast served each day, near to the beach as promised, easy to organise a scooter and easy to reach restaurants.
We found the air conditioning very cold, we tried setting it a few degrees below the outside temperature otherwise the contrast was too great but still we were cold as the air conditioning blew straight down onto the bed. The only covering provided was a very inadequate, short sheet for two people, we had a constant tug of war and I ended up covering myself with a sarong and my husband used a towel so a thin fleece and a large sheet would add greatly to guest's comfort.
There are bath towels provided but no beach or pool towels. I know this a budget place but a beach towel is really essential since the hotel has a pool and is in walking distance of the beach. The bedding and towels are changed every 3 days so that makes the towel situation even more difficult. I think a warning to people booking about the towels is necessary, we bought two towels locally otherwise we would have struggled.
Our bathroom was sadly lacking a towel rail, there was nowhere to hang the towels after a shower. The water was plentiful but the towel rail and even a small shelf below the mirror to put a brush and a few toiletries would have added to the comfort of our stay. These are little things.
The mosquitoes are a real problem, I covered myself in repellent every day, the hammock on the verandah is a lovely touch as are the two chairs but a table to put a drink on would be really welcome. The mosquito coils are very smelly but it's that or be eaten alive.
The wi fi being available only in the unairconditioned mosquito ridden restaurant/pool area was inconvenient in my opinion. This was compounded by the fact that the hotel restaurant shut at 4pm which was not ideal, it gave a deserted feeling to the place, I felt sorry for late arrivals who had to ring for the owners, they always looked bewildered! I suppose the thing is that whilst on holiday one has a latish breakfast and goes out for the day to return around 3.30 pm and there is just a half hour window to organise anything or get a drink eg.
The pool is a good idea but it is shallow and best for little kids although there were many sharp tiles that need to be fixed, the sides need to have the algae scrubbed away. There are a few loungers and chairs around the pool which is nice but come 4pm the mosquitoes hone in.
Perhaps because it was low season the garden needed some work too, it didn't feel well cared for.
I feel as though I am being super critical but I want to put a true reflection of this hotel on TA as there are many over the top gushing ones that I don't feel reflect what the accommodation is really like. This is a really budget, low key place so as long as you are prepared for that you will be happy. Lanta is more laid back, rural and simple than Phuket. The beach nearby is nice but I think there are nicer on Lanta. Lym's Rice Bowl next door offered nice meals and a cold drink and Thai Cat Fish just along the beach was also nice to enjoy a meal with your feet in the sand. Reasonably priced and delicious food. May's Kitchen just 500m down the road provides lovely Thai meals too, it was a really nice place to go in the evenings.
I think the owners do try with this resort but there are a few little things that can be improved that would make future guests really happy.

Room Tip: All set separately in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appriciate all feedback so we can improve Papillon. We are very sorry to hear how dissapointed you got and we wish you had told us this during your stay since some of the things could be solved easily.

For example the aircon can be set higher and lower in temperature but also set in direction. If you direct it higher it will not blow on the bed. If someone prefers not to use the aircon, we also have a fan in the ceiling. We provide bedsheets for a doublebed but if someone asks for one extra we always provide that as well. All people have different needs and if you just ask we will off course do our best to help.

Papillon is a budget 2 star hotel and our low rates does not allow us to provide beachtowels but we could definitely inform about this on our homepage, thank you for the tip.

We agree that a table on the terrace is a good idea, we will definitely invest in that for next season.

Mosquito is a big problem on Lanta in lowseason. We are one of the few places that spray against mosquito every second week but the weather conditions sometimes makes it impossible and that is often the case in lowseason.

We offer free wifi in the restaurant and poolarea. As you wrote we don´t have aircon in theese areas. That´s because the pool is outside and our restaurants has no walls, which makes it impossible to have aircon there.

About our garden we did our best but that was probably not enough. The company who takes care of our garden closed in the end of march and since we have a big lush garden it´s a lot of work every day. We could not get any new staff (very hard to find staff on Lanta that time of the year) so we did it ourselves and unfortunately we couldn´t keep the garden as cleen as usually. Sorry for that.

We usually keep our restaurant/ reception open from 8am to 10pm from october till april. This year 2 people in the Papillon team had to go home to their village up north already in the beginning of april which put us in a very hard situation. One of them was our main chef and it became impossible to stay open all day. We decided to close in the evenings from 4 pm and we were not satisfied at all about that, we will do our best to make sure that will not happen again.

Our pool is a natural pool with one shallow part and one deeper part. We are aware of that some tiles are loose and can not be fixed until we can empty the pool. Papillon is closed right now for improvements and the pool is one of our top priorities.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the restaurants nearby. Both Lym´s, Thai Cat and May´s are very nice restaurants and we are glad to have them in the neighborhood.

We think it´s important to know that Papillon is a budget hotel and that´s why we can keep our low rates. Our goal is not to be a 4 star hotel but a simple and relaxed place with good service.

Thank you once again for your feedback, the things we can change we will take care of asap.

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

After a slightly concerning welcome, of are you sure you are at the right resort and slight panic we were eventually welcomed and shown to our big air conditioned bungalow. The bungalow was what we expected for the price we paid basic but clean. The bungalows are set well apart from each other in a nice garden setting, far enough away from the road not to really here traffic. They are set in an ideal location for the beach, with only a 5 minute walk to the beach right next to Lym's Rice Bowl restaurant where you can spend the day on the loungers and enjoy great food and drink. Breakfast was great, fresh fruit, muesli, mango juice, coffee, toast and jam, really enjoyed this for the 4 days we were there. Only downside was the airconditioning as I think someone else mentioned, we normally have it blasting out as it blocks out any outside noise and offers cool air but its positioning meant that it blasted you in bed and we were freezing, we played around with it and it was ok but not great. Only other downside was it was full moon and we could hear noise on that evening from a bar on the beach and I wouldn't use the mosquito burners provided as we returned home with all our clothes bags etc smelling like we had been at a fire. Other than that I would return and recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the aircon, you should be able to point it straight forward so it doesn´t blast on your bed but maybe it didn´t work, will look at that.

The noise you heard must have been a bar nearby, they have a party every tuesday. We know they have loud music but unfortunately we can´t do anything about that....just glad that it´s only once a week :-)

The mosquito burners are not for inhouse, only for the terrace. Sorry if we forgot to mention that.

We hope that you will stay with us again, you are always welcome back :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time. The bungalows are small but how much room do you really need! The room had a fridge and excellent air con as well as a TV which you can watch DVDs borrowed from reception on. The wifi is good, but not available in the rooms which was not a problem for us. The bungalows are a short walk (3 mins) to the stunning beach or if you prefer they have a small but well maintained pool. The staff are lovely and the food was good. Would recommend a stay here if you are looking for something inexpensive and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATP_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you!
We appriciate that you took your time to write this great review, it means a lot to us. Very happy to hear that you liked Papillon and that you found it relaxing, that´s exactly what we try to achieve.

Hope to see you again at Papillon :-)

Greetings
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Papillon Bungalows is not fancy, but it was our favorite of the 5 places we stayed in our 2 week Thailand trip. The bungalows are small, but have everything you will need for a comfortable stay. No wifi in the rooms, but there is wifi in the dining area. A 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach. This beach is not crowded at all and we were always able to find chairs and an umbrella. LIm's Rice Bowl on the beach was WONDERFUL - highly recommend their shakes and all the food was delicious. We also liked Mr. Wu's Pizza - a 10-15 minute walk down the beach. we enjoyed a nice dinner there on our last night. Papillon is quiet and relaxing - just what I was looking for. You can catch a tuk tuk for a quick ride to town where you can find tons of souvenir shops and very reasonably priced restaurants. The bungalows have their own hammock, as well as a play area for the kids. The breakfast choices were great and the food is very good. The owners are Swedish and very easy to communicate with since they speak English. The pool is great, however we never actually used it, preferring the beach instead. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for this nice review :-) Nothing beats the feeling of satisfied guests when you run a hotel. Really happy to hear that Papillon was your favorite place on your trip!

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here almost three weeks and enjoyed it very much. Great coffee, food and lemon shakes! Helpful staff and really easy to get in touch with other travellers. The beach is great and not far away. The pool is also nice, the kids loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for those kind words about Papillon, we do appriciate that you took your time to tell others. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Papillon and also that your children had a good time. Hope that your last days in Sri Lanka was great :-)

Hope to see you again, welcome back to Papillon!

Greetings
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed by myself for 3 nights and am very happy I chose Papillon Bungalows. It was lovely to have your own little bungalow with hammock and access to dvds, and the food was excellent too. Breakfast was on til 11 which was nice, for those who like to lie in! From my arrival to departure I felt very welcome and Jens and Caroline are very friendly and always available if you need help or advice. It was only a 5 minute walk down to the beach and I also loved the food at Lymm's Rice Bowl. Would love to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahwilson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Sarah, it was really nice to have you here at Papillon. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing