We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We only stayed 4 nights and wished we had booked for longer. The individual rustic bungalows are fairly small but then you soon get used to that. It is a quiet area and so near to the most fabulous beach. The breakfast is good and the host, hostess and staff are very friendly and very helpful. You can borrow DVDs for free to play in the bungalow; there is free WiFi available in the public area and poolside. The gardens are lovely. TukTuk's pass the resort all the time if you want to get into Saladin and restaurants are within a 5 - 10 walk. There is also a fabulous beach restaurant where you can eat on the beach called Lym's Rice Bowl.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind Review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our little paradise. Also nice to hear that you liked Lym´s at the beach, they are really nice people.
We hope to see you again, and thank you once again :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    82
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
160
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days with 3 small kids and had a great stay! The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed and personal. Even though the standard in bungalows is average we rather stay in small places like Papillon that is run by heart than in more upmarket and impersonal resorts. Bungalows are clean with a nice terrace with your own hammock! Very childfriendly pool and restaurantarea with hammocks, toys and dvd-library. Delicious food and very good breakfast. The beach is a 100 m walk but is very beautiful and secluded with lots of treeshadow and a very friendly familyrun restaurant. We really appreciated this place a lot and do recomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you Elin, we appriciate your kind words. Feels good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we really enjoyed the time you and your lovely family spent at Papillon.

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lekeryd, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

A perfect little bungalowresort, very clean and the restaurant is serving the best food at Koh Lanta. The service is great and they help you with all traveling arrangements and ideas for what to see and do. Stayed for 14 nights and it was our second stay there, we vill defenitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hoffskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you Lena and Micke, we already miss you. We are so glad that you came back to Papillon once again and we truely hope to see you next year as well!

Greetings Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljungby, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Papillon for a month in January 2013, such a cosy little resort with excellent staff that made you feel like one in the family. Nice clean bungalows, close to the ocean and lovely food in the resturant. The owners are very much willing to help out with travelling arrangements and ideas for day trips.

Strong recomendations for this lovely resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IdaMattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much, we would really love to see you back at Papillon again, come back soon!

Greetings Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinisello Balsamo, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for one week with two kids in Dec '12. very nice resort in - for our needs - perfect location. Small and tiny bungalows in a very nice garden with great pool also. 5 min from the best beach of the Island. small middle sized resort so you won't be stuck together to your neighbors!
rooms are not huge if you stay in 4 like we did...But indeed very clean and functional..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diego L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you took your time. Glad to hear that you appriciate the privacy at Papillon, we also like that our bungalows are well spread apart and we´re going to keep it that way even if we build more bungalows.

We hope to see you again at Papillon!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the beginning of our 3 week Xmas vacation and really enjoyed our time here. The location is ideal, close to a great spot on the beach and some good restraunts nearby.
The only con was I thought it was a bit overpriced compared to other places on long beach.
Apart from that I would recommend this place to all,especially those with young children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much, we appriciate your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit us again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Papillion over Christmas 2012 (about 6 days). It's a nice, lowkey little backpacker hotel. Our bungalow was big enough to spread out a bit. Its a five minute walk down to the beach. The hotel owners were super friendly and helpful- really cool people. The staff seemed dependable and trustworthy as well. Always felt safe and well taken care of. They can recommend good vendors in the area to work with (especially for scooter rental).

Would return in a heart beat.

Thanks for taking good care of us, Caroline & Jens!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Ohh thank you so much, feels so good to read your kind words :-) Hope you had a really good vacation and you are off course always welcome back!

Greetings from Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
1.1 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Papillon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing