We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

There were seven of us staying in 4 bungalows at Papillon for 2 nights in November. This was one of my favourite places that we stayed in Thailand. The bunglalows are a good size with air con and a hammock outside. It is about 5 mins walk to the beach set in a beautiful garden.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner on the first night and the food ws very good, as was the breakfast. The area near reception is lovely to sit and relax in and even when the bar was closed we were welcome to sit and have our drinks with the music and lights left on for us.

The owners and the staff were very helpful and welcoming, probably the friendliest of eveywhere we stayed in Thailand. I would definitely stay here again, the only downside was that I got bitten a lot here, probably because it is so close to the beach with a lot of flowers around...a small price to pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much! We feel humble and thankful for your lovely review.

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    83
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
163
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay here for three nights, warmly welcomed and served by smiling staff which was a treat after some of our other bookings around Thailand. We came here after spending a few nights in Ko Phi Phi and I was so delighted with our little bungalow at a MUCH better rate and much nicer staff. There are a few little places to eat near by, I'd recommend hiring a mo-ped and exploring the island and other beaches too.
All in all a great stay - Good location, good food, great staff.

Room Tip: Visit long beach behind the bungalows and have a drink at Lyns Rice Bowl (or called something simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again some day!!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Papillon Bungalows for 3 days during a mini travel break round SE asia. The rooms are clean, comfortable with A/C and an absaloute bargin for the price. The staff were absaloutely amazing and couldnt have been anymore helpful or friendly!! we both felt extremely welcome whilst staying at the hotel. The breakfast with homemade bread was fantastic as was the rest of the food (especially the homemade hamburgers if you cant face any more thai food)

The bungalows are a short taxi / tuk-tuk ride away from endless amounts of restuarants and bars. I would seriously recommended visiting the animal rescue centre whilst there its about 5 mins down the road and well worth the visit and is funded through donations and the profits from the "time for lime" cooking school / resturant which is also well worth a visit just for the food.

The extremely quiet Long Beach is 5mins walk away from the hotel and if that doesnt float your boat the pool area is just as relaxing. Jens and Caroline should be applauded for creating a laid back relaxing hotel with excellent service and acommodation at a budget price!!

Room Tip: If avaliable go for a larger bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it really feels good to hear and it warms our hearts.
We wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year.

Greetings Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here with two young children for 6 days in early December. The resort lived up to our highest expectations. OK, its not a 5 star hotel so if this is what you expect then it is not for you but if you want a great relaxing place with excellent bungalows, superb food and friendly staff, this is it. The bungalows are cosy, comfortable, clean and very affordable. The food was as good, if not better, than any other we tried on the island. I definitely recommend Papillon, especially if you have children (family bungalow is worth the extra money) and just want a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliottA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! It´s so nice to hear that you enjoyed Papillon :-)
We wish you a merry christmas and a happy happy new year! Wellcome back.

Greetings Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Big Air-con Bungalow – basic room which had a/c, a fan, big double bed, fridge, tv (no reception) , dvd player, shower with hot water, they have a hammock infront of every room and lovely gardens all around. free wifi only in their outdoor restaurant area which is a nice place to relax and have an evening cold drink. Few minute walk to long beach where you feel almost alone yet with local restaurant and good massage hut there. One of the best breakfast you can get

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzik10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much, we appriciate your review! Hope to see again at Papillon :-)

Kind regards Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We staying at Papillon for 4 nights. The owners and staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and you could choose from 3 possible options. The bungalow we stayed in was perfect for our needs - comfortable bed, air con, fan and bathroom. It was clean and had a fridge as well as a tv with cable and a DVD player.

The beach is a 2 minute walk away which is fantastic. The communal bar/restaurant area is relaxed and the food available is of a good standard - we didn't tend to eat there in the evening as there are lots of beach bars/restaurants around.

The staff arranged scooter hire so we could explore the island which I would highly recommend. Members of staff are more than willing to share travel tips about the island as well as Thailand in general which was really helpful.

A great place to base yourself for a relaxing stay on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, it really warms our hearts to hear :-)
Welcome back to Papillon anytime!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perfectly placed on the middle of Long Beach up by the road, just a couple of minutes and you´re on the beach.
It´s a very relaxed and cozy place with just 10 bungalows including a familybungalow with connecting doors which we stayed in.
A small but enough pool with sunchairs and a restaurant that serves really great food booth Thai and western dishes.
You really feel at home here and the owners Jens and Caroline, and the rest of the staff for that matter, really makes this place a gem. A place you want to come back to!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronmanSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you thank you thank you thank you :-) It was lovely to see you and we really hope to see you here again! These wonderful reviews gives us joy and energy when we need it most :-)

Warm regards Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
440 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Papillon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing