We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough but, Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice enough but, Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Pros. has nice pool and surround and the eating area is nice too. The rooms appeared to be pretty clean and the beds comfotable. Food in restaurant pretty good, coffee good when made by owner. Helpful for info on bookings etc.

Its just not worth the money at 900B without any breakfast it just doesn't add up. Could hear everything in the room next door. The area in front/around papillon is just nothing to write home about. Service could be slow until they realized you actually wanted service. Having said that, it seems all most of Lanta is like this. Compared to other thai locations the island has overpriced itself and appears lazy.., cant figure out why its a bit dirty with garbage everywhere on side of roads , beaches and a general badly maintained feeling, also a lack of creativity and smiles for thailand (ouch just my feelings). similar complaints from many other people met at other hotels/Inns
Next door at Long Beach Chalet 1100bt including breakfast with many choices and good coffee you could get a room with excellent facilities, new , clean, working TV cable, pool, great food, great service, even room service and good wifi in all rooms, but then again it was full even in off season, we can see why. However I think Long Beach Chalet is the exception on this island and they deserve all the bookings they get.
Pappilon is fine its just not worth the price they ask.

Room Tip: possibly awat from often busy road, but then there are more mosquitoes further back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagittarian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.... since it´s our first year as owners of Papillon, we really appriciate all feedback. Sorry that your stay in Papillon did not reach up to your expactations.

Earlier this year, many people told us that Papillon gave good value for the money but maybe we need to lower the price in low/middle-season and increase in peak...instead of having a plane pricing as we have now, we will consider that for next year.

If you heard your neigbour next door, that means that you stayed in the "double-bungalow" because all our other bungalows are far apart..... from next season this bungalow will be a double-room for families with connecting doors instead to avoid this problem.

We hope that you will give Koh Lanta another chance, it´s a beautiful island with a lot to offer.

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    82
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
162
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights back in November 2011 with 3 friends - sharing 2 bungalows. Papillion it is a small, friendly and cosy resort. Small pool which is good for sunbathing in with a few sunbeds around it to relax the day away. The bungalows are spacious with big bathroom, tv, fridge and dvd player.
It's in a quiet location although only a few metres from the main road and a couple of minutes walk to the beach. (great beach with some chilled bars).
The swedish couple who had taken over recently were really helpful and gave loads of handy tips for the island. They also sorted moped hire for us, which was the best day I had in Thailand such an awesome ride around Koh Lanta!
Food was excellent - choice of western and thai, very high quality although I little more expensive than most places.
Some other friends stayed just up the road in a 4* hotel paying 3x as much, it was nice but not 3 x nicer!! All in all Papillion is great value for money, relaxed and friendly :)
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, we really appriciate it!

Greets Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of january and loved it! the bungalows are small but quirky and full of character with a hammock and swing outside. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis and everything within the room was in good working order. Fantastic location, just minutes walk from the beach and nearby bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good value for money and we ate here every morning during our stay! The owners are super helpful and very friendly, the best hosts we encountered during our stay in Koh Lanta. This is a fantastic place for stay for couples, very relaxed and value for money. If we visit Koh Lanta again we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, right now it´s really busy at Koh Lanta and many people find us through Trip so every review is highly appriciated!

Kind regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Excellent location! Really close to the beach (about 200m walk) and there are a few really nice beach bars right there. It's near the pier, but quiet, got a pool and the food there is very good as well. Owners and help were very friendly. I must admit that the bungalows are old and a little musty....it's not new or modern by any means (and I refer to the beds, linen, towels etc. I love a rustic little bungalow as much as the next person). TV, AC, Fridge...I think there are bigger bungalows as well with kitchens if I'm not mistaken....we stayed in the double bed bungalows. I enjoyed my stay, loved long beach, easy spot to hire a scooter and just go sight seeing all around the island (small, takes you about an hour and a half or so...). Very cool island, beautiful and affordable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for the review, very kind of you. We agree that the bungalows are a bit old and we look forward to lowseason when we are going to fresh up all bungalows with paint and new decoration. We do have regular aircon bungalows for two people and big aircon with place for extrabed. No kitchen. Hope to see you again!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just returned from two lovely weeks at Papillon and are now suitably relaxed!

Owners Jens and Caroline, our friendly Swedish hosts were friendly and considering this is a new venture for them very competent hosts.

The bungalows are set in lush tropical gardens - there are only about 8 in total which means that it's not a huge sprawling, faceless resort but a intimate resort ran by the owners and their staff - they are a good size, with all amenities you would need for a two week holiday, including very good new LG aircon (most aircon in Thailand is ancient and churns out all sorts of strange gasses and smells!!)
This is a budget resort so the bungalows are not the most ascetically pleasing, but if you wanted this then there are plenty of places around (charging two or three times Papillons prices) but if you are like us and simply want somewhere clean and functional to sleep in then this is perfect.
They are not on the beach, but a short stroll down a beach road brings you out onto the lovely Long Beach with a small mix of great beach bars and restaurants (try Calypso bar - great guys and a lovely place to chill out!) I don't see the necessity to have a resort on the beach as you pay a premium for this and there are so many places on the beach to go for a drink or meal.

Papillon is in a great location away from the main town yet within walking distance of some great restaurants and bars. To fully see and appreciate the island though, scooter rental is a must!

The restaurant is also very good and although we only ate dinner there once (the choices on Ko Lanta are amazing!) we ate breakfast nearly every morning and it was always excellent, especially the homemade bread.

We are already planning our trip for next year!

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 1, which is closest to the road so you can hear traffic sometimes - choose one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boblet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we appriciate it! Hope to see you again :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have only spent one night there cause our actual place to stay was already fully booked that night. It's run by a Swedish couple and therefore a bungalow village with European standard. The rooms have everything from a/c to DVD player and the kitchen is great. They also have a pool and free wifi in the restaurant. The prices are adequate concerning the standard but we as students did not need this "luxury".

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you so much for the review, we always appriciate when our guests tell others about us and that also gives us a chance to improve ourselves.

Greetings
Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

After travelling for 7 months, on a budget, Papillon Bungalows was an affordable treat. We'd planned to stay 6 nights, but we loved the resort so much we stayed for 11 nights in total, and we still found it difficult to leave! It was the longest and most relaxing place we've stayed in 7 months of travelling.

We stayed in a standard bungalow which was lovely, clean and spacious with a double bed, seating area, table, wardrobe, tv and dvd player (there is a very large dvd library!) fridge and ensuite bathroom. Each bungalow was decorated differently and had its own porch, seats and hamocks and the bunaglows were well spaced out in the tropical gardens. The resort was very close to the beautiful Long Beach, about a 2 min walk, where we watched some fantastic sunsets. It was also close to restaurants and bars, about a 10 min drive to Saladan and 15 min walk to a smaller town with a 7/11.

There was a lovely pool with a good shallow section for sitting in or for small children. The restuarant was great, with yummy freshly baked bread every day, pizzas and thai food. There were plenty of hammocks and comfy chairs as well as a small library and free wifi.

Caroline and Jens, and the staff, were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They helped with bus, ferry, mopeds, etc bookings. All in all, we loved Papillon, it was a very relaxing & quiet place, and we will definitely come back. We miss it already!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharpysharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, we wish you all the best for the rest of your long trip. It was very nice to meet you and we hope to see you again!

Greetings
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing