We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the why not bar !!”

Kantiang Bay View Resort Restaurant
Ranked #218 of 293 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's all about the why not bar !!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Astonished by this place, traveled across from phi phi and we stayed in a hotel at the same price called the phi phi view point and it honestly didn't have a scratch on kiatang bay!!

Food was good, no complaints.. Loads of choice and literary saw the finisher men bringing the fish in off the boat.

On the beach, well every room is less than 10 meteres from the beach with a very nice white sand beach that was clean with NO rocks.

The why not bar, main attraction on the island apart from the national park treck but what a place, run by 3 main guys one named Jonny who was the same guy that brough us from the boat, really nice guy very and him and the other guys as well as the love band made an atmosphere to die for!! This bar is right on the water.

Overall great experience.. Only spent 3 days before moving on to koh Samui!

Ps only 250 baht to hire a moped for the day which is a must !! And try the banana fritters !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    16
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pretty decent food, prices are influenced by the resorts nearby. Amazing view while sitting on the beach. Staff is friendly. A good alternative from eating your resort food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Travel_Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly staff,average foods poor dishes”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

i'm so surprised that the menu are filled with western foods but not local thai foods?i've been waiting for 30-40 minutes for my GRILL seafoods,rice serve 10 minutes after and 20 minuts for my last dish(CUCHI fish?)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackyong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location. Honest fresh seafood”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having read the other reviews of this restaurant I am glad we ate here prior to reading

The restaurant is in a beautiful location adjacent to the excellent laid back why not bar dead Centre on the beach. We were actually having a drink in the bar as the restaurant was seeing up for the evening and decided to try the place.

Big bamboo furniture directly on the beach so you can sit barefoot with your toes in the sand. The food is a mixture of traditional Thai rice and noodles plus an impressive stay of fresh caught fish.

We ordered a snapper bbq'd on the beach in soy ginger coriander and garlic. The fish was extremely tender fresh and succulent and at 80bht per 100g good value. We also ate 4 Tower prawns which were again bbq'd right there on the beach. At 200bht per 100g they are pricey but good. Obviously the problem with cooking Tiger prawns on a bbq is they lose some of their juiciness bur that is a small price to pay for the location.

We also had fried rice worth seafood and pad Thai goon. Both were flavoursome and very good especially at 100bht per plate.

Drinks cone from the why not bar next door

With regards billing - it was accurate and arrived when requested. They even accommodated me paying by card for a 3% service charge which is fair. All in all a great location with good honest cooking and pricing. Service is obviously not the ritzy Calton but if you come here expecting that you either got on the wrong plane or desperately need to spend 3 weeks here to unwind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dsharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“disorganised chaos”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the resort 6 months ago and decided not to again - lazy staff and dirty, overpriced - we would only eat there and listen to the band afterwards. Our first night the food arrived after a long time and was cold. We sent it back. We asked for the bill and after 15 mins I told them I would be in the bar when they got around to it - it arrived after 2 hours with the drinks added on that we had paid for earlier, the drinks are paid for separately even if you order more whilst you are eating you have to rummage around to find the cash whilst your food cools. - We tried again on our last night and the owner took our order, after 45 minutes we checked that we had not been forgotten, after an hour we walked out. The staff stumble around with plates of cooling food trying to find the correct table, I did suggest last time they think about numbering the tables - a suggestion not acted upon - the staff so friendly but incompetent - I was so hungry and felt ill - we went to the drunken sailor around the corner and wont make the mistake of continuously giving another chance to the Katiang Bay Resort - we wont stay there ever again or wait for food ever again. So many nice places to stay around - Ancient Realm opposite - and so many lovely places to eat - it is the only place in the bay to sit on the beach and eat but no good if your food doesnt arrive!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantiang Bay View Resort Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Kantiang Bay View Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing