We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anda Lay Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anda Lay Boutique Resort
Ranked #54 of 141 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stunning and cosy - we were so happy with our stay at Andalay. The rooms were amazing and always smelling of lemongrass after a clean up. The staff were amazingly friendly and we made a few good friends there too. The food was one of the best we had on the island. And they were happy to bring it to our room on our lazy nights. The beach facing Andalay was perfect - no rocks and clean. The receptionists are always happy to help and smiley. They spoke good English and helped with taxis and tour information proficiently. And the most lovely thing was a ginger kitty who hung around the shrine and pool area ~ if anyone sees her please do feed her! <3 ... she's the loveliest, warmest, most huggable kitty ever ... :) GREAT STAY!!! CANT WAIT FOR NEXT YEAR :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
18
84
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé booked this hotel last minute from a hot beach hut, we were in desperate need of some aircon and a leach free bathroom. We found a last minute deal for b&b for around 40 quid. The hotel staff greeted us warmly and gave a cool drink. We were upgraded to a beautiful room, 116, the very end room and I'm pretty sure the best as it was not overlooked. Huge room, well equipeped , gorgeous bathroom , sitting area and front deck. I could have stayed for a week. iMac be biased as we paid around half the price for this room . I spoke to someone who has lived int eh area for 7 years and she said that's where she would choose to stay of all the options available.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Andalay Resort last week (February) in room 103 (around 120 € per night).
The resort benefits from an excellent location in the South West of Koh Lanta : at Klong Nin Beach, situated around 20 / 30 min by car from the main harbour, far away from the busy beaches of the North and close to more secluded beaches on the South of the island (10 / 15 min by scooter)

The resort has less than 20 bungalows facing the beach (at least the ones I saw) which is just a few metres : I could see the sea from the terrasse

The room was large and clean with a big bed, quite sobre and well maintained. It was fitted with a safe box, a small fridge, a flat screen, a wardrobe, a desk, a good AC system, a bathroom (with a shower) and a terrasse facing the swimming pool and the beach.
There was a swimming pool which was large enough to relax, clean and well maintained.
The only points to be improved : the breakfast could be more sophisticated and varied but it is far well above average brakfast you can find in many Thai hotels. Also, there si a road at th back of the bungalows that can be noisy on the evening because of the motorbikes / cars driving alongside. Hopefully, traffic is very calm at night.

What I really appreciated was that Andalay was really quiet and very well preserved from mass tourism, it is like a family run resort : it is a very peaceful resort as it hasn't many rooms and it faces a very nice and quiet sandy beach.
Also, the staff is very friendly anf very nice. To illustrate that, we realised when we were in Phuket that we forgot some clothes when we left our room from Andalay Resort ...: we contacted the hotel who sent them by post to our hotel in Phuket. This was a great service and I wish to thank again Andalay's staff for their patience and help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely hotel on Klon Nin Beach, spacious, clean rooms, superb swimming pool, nice bar, very convenient location!

Allthough we realy enjoyed our stay, especially the time we spent at the swimmingpool i have one point of critisism, at our first day we were invited to join the BBQ that same night, on the menu board was written : chicken BBQ, papaya salad with rice or french fries. We got however only 1 small stick each with some (left over?) chicken, no salad, no rice, nothing and were told that they ran out of BBQ food, only they charged us for the complete menu so the other nights of our stay we went to the wonderful Cook Kai restaurant just across the street.

Apart from that everything was great, if we go to Koh Lanta again we will sure go back and can recommend it to other travellers!

Room Tip: There are some rooms (in fact, most of them) you can only enter by stepping stones which are situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the 5th place I stayed on Ko Lanta, and what a find! It was by far the best of all the places I stayed. Why? The sea view rooms. As I lay in my bed, I had a view of the beach, water and setting sun. Postcards are made from views like this. As for the rates, they are reasonable in my opinion. I paid 3500 Baht per night. I read some reviews that said they didn't have a view. These people must have stayed at another resort. I even posted a pic from my bed. See for yourself! But no making fun of my feet ;-)

The room itself is a good size, with little balcony over a cute pond. Hardwood floors, and nice decoration. Beds were decent, although on the hard side (not unusual for Asia). Plus a rain shower head. I finally had a nice shower on Ko Lanta! Wi-if is included, is fast, and most importantly, works in the room. Many bungalows only have wi-if near the reception area and this can get annoying.

The resort is on Klong Nin beach, which is one of the nicer beaches on Ko Lanta. I know, I stayed on 3 of the others. It's the furthest south you want to go and still have some people and restaurants around. There are resorts further south, but you are then getting into "honeymoon" territory.

The resort is on the road (as well as the beach). But since you run the a/c at night you won't hear a thing. I suppose if you keep the a/c off you'll hear all sorts of things while you try to fall asleep while sweating!

The front desk staff is super friendly. The pool is nice and they have beach lounge chairs with cushions and umbrellas for your comfort. Motorbikes are for rent if you need one (250 Baht per day).

The only con is the breakfast buffet. All the cooked foods on offer have meat, there are no veggie options. for some reason the cook loves to put chicken in all the dishes. Since I'm a vegetarian, choices were limited. But they do have fruits and some salads. And they made me some scrambled eggs as well.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room. Amazing views of the sunset right from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent 5 nights here over the Christmas period. I loved that the hotel was pretty centrally located on the beach and only steps from the sea. Our room was 'beachfront' and was pretty large and well furnished. As this hotel is small it retained some traditional Thai atmosphere and ambiance. Unlike most Thai hotels I have stayed in before this one had a huge super comfy bed. Breakfast was satisfactory - lots of fresh coffee and a small selection of fruit and eggs. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Staff were helpful and happy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfandel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just spent 7 fabulous nights here in room 112. This is a very small charming hotel that the other reviews have described extremely well. Our room was about 100m from the water, steps from the beach which Is surprisingly empty for this time of year. The staff were great. There are many restaurants along the beach so there is plenty of choice. The air conditioning was very good but occasionally noisy so we slept with the door open listening to the sound of the sea. We could not have been happier with our stay here and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagbond_Islanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Horizon Beach Bungalows
Horizon Beach Bungalows
#69 of 203 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fevrier Resort
Fevrier Resort
#19 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clean Beach Resort
Clean Beach Resort
#39 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Bungalows
Sunset Bungalows
#39 of 203 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#7 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peace Paradise Beach
Peace Paradise Beach
#97 of 203 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anda Lay Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Lay Boutique Resort

Property: Anda Lay Boutique Resort
Address: Moo 6, Khlong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anda Lay Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Buddhist hotel in a mainly Muslim area. Very attentive staff, stylish rooms, and a good restaurant which in the evening extended onto the sand, lit by oil lamps. The hotel is not yet quite finished (no large pool - only a large hole) so rates are half what they will be when completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Anda Lay Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Lay Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing