We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great peaceful place”
Review of Banana Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #18 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great peaceful place”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

the place is great, the bungalows are really comfortable and well equip with a/c and big fridge. the stuff are really helpful and are very nice, even when the car they booked for me and my wife came with only room for one more passenger, the wife of the owner gave us a lift with her own car to krabi town, which is about two hours drive.

the only problems were that the shower flow wasn't the greatest and the whole breakfast thing is a bit weird, why do they need special hours for breakfast if they only serve toast, fruit and coffee?
and the location of the place is great

Room Tip: location of the place is wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
175
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Spent five nights here in April 2014 and there were some positives and some negatives:
I REALLY LIKED:
-The cleanliness of the bed linen and towels, and the comfortable beds for Thailand in this price range;
-The fact that they automatically replace your two towels and give you two bottles of mineral water and toilet paper every day, without you having to ask for it;
-The playfulness and kindness of most of the staff, especially the breakfast ladies.
I REALLY DID NOT LIKE:
-The proximity of the bungalows to each other - you are close to the beach but most bungalows (ALL B's and C's - I was in C4) are facing another bungalow with just a few meters to spare. I was here during mid-season, so was lucky since it was really quiet at night, but I assume it would not always be like this, especially when the place is busy;
-The junk lying all around the property, especially when you arrive here from the main road, and the almost constant sewage smell floating around the place when sitting outside your bungalow. Frankly, they could tidy up the place a bit and improve the sewage situation for their guests;
-The restaurant. Tried it for lunch and for dinner and was disappointed both times: food was bland and not worthy of the great Thai cooking tradition. You can eat much better for half the price in the little street-side eateries everywhere along the main road, a ten-minute walk from here;
-The bathroom: terrible nozzles for both the faucet and shower, sprays all over the place and you can't get the sand off you or rinse off the soap properly in spite of the decent water pressure. Tiny crooked sink with no room to put anything on it and mirror placed too low at an angle showing your chest - or belly button if you happen to be really short. ;-)
Hoi was nice though, she reduced my bungalow price from 1,500 to 1,300 baht when she realized I was going to be alone in the room. But still not worth that kind of money during the slow season - and found the food to be really expensive for the quality, and especially given the fact that their restaurant staff has VERY limited English language skills, which can lead to awkward situations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had an AMAZING stay at Banana Garden Home in Ko Lanta.

We stayed there for 3 nights in a lovely wooden bungalow among banana trees. The bungalows have air con, hot water, and they are cosy and very clean.

The beach restaurant is excellent and we had dinner there every night except for one. The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed.
The staff is lovely to everybody and especially kids :-)
They arranged everything for us (pick-up from the ferry pier when we arrived, scooter rental, day trip to Ko Rok, transfer to Krabi Airport etc).
I was really sad to leave...

This place is the best place we stayed in Thailand and I would highly recommend it to anyone !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Laety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

RUN AWAY, Having reserved a family bungalow for 3 nights in March, after seeing reviews on tripadvisor, they hid me of 20 000 Thb(500 EURO), from the first evening during the diner. I think that a person of the staff it is introduced into our room and broke padlock of our suitcase to hide all cash and my driver's licence. In spite of a statement to the police of Lanta, and a big loss of time, us leaves Banana Garden from the first night, which was invoiced to us. ASHAMED

Room Tip: We rented the bungalow 5A, in front of the places of the staff, family bungalow for 4 persons in bam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiravadeeO, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Garden Home, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I would like to inform the  situation that you report to the police in details.(1-2)
1. You guess that your belonging stone during our staff cleaning the room  and you stay in that room during the cleaning process.

2 You told that your belonging locked with your key, and someone broke the key and take your money and driver license. Police can't find the broken key around that bungalow and no evidence about broken key that you tell.

3. How can you assume that our staff take your belonging when the police report don't get any conclusion yet? Is it fair for my staff?

Finally, I wonder why they take your driver license, when they don't have chance to drive or do any business in your country. Passport much more interesting.

However, I' m sorry for this situation happened with you and you family.
We have central safe for customer who want to keep there valuable things (i think you know about this at the first day you arrived here and ask  our staff for a safe in your room) 

I just want to explain the situation on Banana Garden Home for our Guess information. 
Hope you have a good trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The bungalows are quite big, clean and well arranged, and 5 meter away of the sand !
The situation is perfect, not too far of the pier, and on one of the nicest beach. You can walk and find a restaurant or just stay there, the restaurant is good.
All people are really nice, especially the two ladies at the reception, who will help each time you will need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in February.

Oil and the staff were all really helpful and nothing is too much trouble,everything is done with a smile.

Our room was spotless and the bed was comfortable but we never got a good nights sleep on either night as our room was right next to the breakfast kitchen, meaning we were awake at 6:45 on both mornings due to the clattering of dishes and the staff speaking very loudly.This was a big disappointment as we so wanted to like this place.

Another negative was the amount of children in the restaurant and beach at night,we couldn't believe how much children was running around and this put us off immensely.Im not sure why there was so many kids as there didn't appear to be that much staying in the resort ?? We don't have a problem with kids but there was so many of them and this wasn't what we were looking for.I believe it was holiday time for the schools in Scandanavia in February so that maybe explains.

If your planing to go during this time ,it would be a fantastic place to go with your kids.The rest of the time I'm sure it would be great as a couple.


Sorry Oil and the girls it just wasn't for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank upthedons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Way above expectations! we had heard this place was great, but seeing and staying there was truly heart warming. To start with the important stuff! The bungalows are very very clean and well taken care of, the airconditioner works great, te beds huge, and the stacked bed good for the kids. warm water etc fine. personnel of lodge where extremely helpful and had a warm heart. they treat you as an individual, and remember you and your orders without flauw. Our contact person Oil was exellent, and arranged everything we asked for spot on, and with confidence as payment of all bills was only on check out! She is honest in trips she sells, and does not sell things she thinks are not safe.and prices of package where honest. Restaurant on the beach for all meals exellent! Thai food was great and personnel always happy and friendly. the hotel is situated next to a bar, the Indian,hotel closes service at 22:00 which guarantees a good sleep, so going to the bar is where you can sit and enjoy cocktails either . The Indian bar and the hotel work great together.
The beach is very kids safe. it was the first time I let my young kids go swimming unacompanied.... thewhite soft sand is wonderful, the water like a swimming pool, and waves fun but safe! very clean very safe at night to strawl along the beach.
We only booked for one night but ended staying there for 4 nights. If we had been able to stay longer we would have, as the ambience here was so homely and comfortable. My wife said."you know me,, but this was the first time ever I relaxed so much, needing so little and wanting to stay..... normaly I get so easaly bored, and need a pool, but here I never missed the pool for a minute."
I am a frequent traveler, but must say, banana gardenhome is a little pearl in Koh Lanta. Altough beach has all kinds of level resorts, lodges and hotels, the charm of this simple but clean bungalow lodge is in the people that run it!

Room Tip: for family of 4, ask for the family room. It has a huge dubble bed and 2 stacked beds. we also slep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
1.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#36 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#57 of 84 in Ko Lanta
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Property: Banana Garden Home
Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing