We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite recommendation”
Review of Banana Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #19 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Banana Garden Resort. Situated directly at the beach and a 20 min walk to Ban Saladan, it’s the perfect place to relax but also a good location to discover the island. You can rent a scooter at the resort. The national park (jungle walk with monkeys and fantastic view over the bay!) and other interesting places on the island can be reached easily within a few hours. At Klongdao Beach, there are a couple of nice restaurants and bars nearby. The barbecue at Banana Garden Restaurant was also great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We can definitely recommend it! Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Banana Garden Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 347 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We missed Banana Garden following a trip elsewhere last Christmas. This Christmas we spent 15 nights with the Oil the new manageress and she was a wonderful host and a great repacement for Annie. Quite simply Banana Garden is spotless, best food on island and its great value for money and the staff are great. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Diarmuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Banana Garden Home was a wonderful place for us to stay on Koh Lanta.

We stayed there for three nights in total and booked it well in advance by contacting the hotel via email directly. Arranging to pay the deposit via bank transfer was rather expensive (from the UK to Thailand) and a bit of a faff, but once it was done the staff were quick to confirm receipt of the amount.

The staff picked us up from the pier upon our arrival from Krabi and transferred us to the Banana Garden Home. When booking we were disappointed to find out that all the bungalows on the beach were already booked up, however upon arrival we discovered that our room was only a minute away from the beach and so it was perfect! It was tucked away behind the main communal area and restaurant, and not far from the beach at all.

Our bungalow was clean and comfortable and relatively spacious. The lack of soundproofing could be an issue if you are a light sleeper (I heard monkeys (?) on our roof and the neighbours getting in some late night/early morning exercise...), but this is not really a problem for your average traveler.

The staff were helpful in giving us information about the island and activities that we could take part in during our stay. The beach that the Banana Garden Home is based on is on the North Western part of the island - this is one of the more tourist-heavy areas of the island with lots of bars, restaurants and other hotels crammed on. It's very family-friendly as well, so not so much of a party vibe as you may find on the other islands like Phi-Phi.

We did not spend much time on the beach of Banana Garden Home, we instead rented a scooter for two days and zapped around the island. Banana Garden Home is a great base for doing this and we enjoyed our time finding quieter smaller beaches and seeing other parts of the island.

The staff were very helpful and breakfast was simple and delicious every morning. The restaurant food was also tasty with fresh fish being offered in the evenings (catch of the day) and prepared for you at your request.

If I were to return to Koh Lanta, I would happily stay here again and I would definitely recommend it to any visitor to the island. It's great value for money and a really comfortable, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoshPaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Banana Gardens for 3 nights in November, 2013. We started our Thailand vacation in Phuket, which is so crowded, that we were thrilled to arrive in Koh Lanta and stay at the Banana Garden. We were picked up at the Ferry and although it was pouring rain when we arrived, the weather did not dampen our trip. We had the best pad thai at the Banana Garden restaurant. The bungalows are basic (no TV!) so make sure to bring your own music or books to read. But the simpleness makes the hotel what it is -- a great place to wind down, relax, and enjoy the beautiful beaches. We took a day excursion to PhiPhi and a couple of other islands (arranged by the very helpful Irene and staff) and I would highly recommend this trip. In the evenings, we walked up/down the beach and tried several restaurants which were all very good. We also found a favorite bar called Mook Anda where we sat in lounge chairs on the beach, listened to great music, and watched the waves roll in. Our departure was at 10:00 am out of Krabi airport and we took the shared cab service ($6/each). We were a little apprehensive about this service because the cab picks you up at 6:45 and it is a 2 hour ride (our cab was 45 minutes late and we had to wait on both ferries) but we made it with time to spare.

I would highly recommend the Banana Garden. All of the people who work here are very nice and helpful. From the time we booked the hotel, Irene was very helpful in helping us coordinate arrival & departure logistics and she always answered my emails promptly.

We felt fortunate to have found this little gem and would absolutely visit the Banana Garden again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windycitytraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Banana Garden. The hotel is at the northern most part of Koh Lanta which is actually the busiest. As you go further south the beaches get more beautiful and a lot less crowded. However, Banana Garden proved to be the perfect base to explore the island from. The room was very cheap and clean and they had motorbikes for rent at the hotel which was very convenient. Ilene was amazing and so helpful planning our trips along the way and even watched our luggage for a week whilst we went diving. The service was incredible and even though I personally preferred the beaches further south I can highly recommend Banana Garden.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank alyssalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel was accidently overbooked and had no room for us. We did not know this till we arrived but they had all ready rectified the situation by booking us a room at the hotel immediately adjacent at the same rate. Banana Garden allowed us to enjoy their breakfast (included in the stay) and to use all their amenities as the our hotel had none. Banana Garden staff was warm and friendly. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy even though we were not technically their guests! The views of the ocean from the deck are incredible! Hoping to go back some day and actually stay in the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingnurse22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 37 nights to kick off my retirement and then came back for another 8 nights with the rest of the family. This is a small friendly little place where you can relax and simple be. The staff are second to none and the ladies who run it, Oil (manager) & Matta (owner), are simply amazingly kind. The rooms are cleaned everyday and the restaurant will cook almost anything you like....We felt at home and never wanted to leave the place....and still consider that place to be the best place we have stayed...rustic, simple and comfortable

The place is right on the beach and in the centre of Klong Dao. Lots of shops nearby and its really pleasant....a different world altogether. There is an amazing bar next to it called The Indian and we spent most nights there.

The sea is calm but must watch out for jelly fish as we saw some small orange ones and a couple of large blue ones....

Koh Lanta is changing fast so go there now as 5 years from now it will be like any other place in Thailand......There is a great pizzeria, Bajen Pizzeria in Long Beach on the main road....take a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dos674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#37 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#58 of 84 in Ko Lanta
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#43 of 151 in Ko Lanta
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Noble House Beach Resort
Noble House Beach Resort
#36 of 217 in Ko Lanta
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
D.R. Lanta Bay Resort
D.R. Lanta Bay Resort
#47 of 217 in Ko Lanta
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#34 of 217 in Ko Lanta
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $22 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing