We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #32 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Banana Garden Home before heading back to Bangkok. We were more than happy to have spent the last few days here. The bungalows (we had B1) are great, nice and simple, but still comfortable. The restaurant, backing onto the beach, serves great Thai food (as well as western, I noticed). While the place itself is lovely, what makes it perfect are the great hostesses Lola (restaurant manager) and Oil (bungalow/bookings manager). Both are very welcoming and friendly - giving true meaning to the Home in Banana Garden. On our last night, they took us out with some other guests to see a local market and fair that was running for the Kings Birthday. Such experiences you won't find when staying in the bigger, busier resorts.
Banana Garden Home has bungalows set in lovely gardens, not 30 seconds walk to the beach past the restaurant. Klong Dao Beach in general does seem quite popular with families with kids, and Banana Garden Home was also host to quite a few, but this didn't turn out to be a downfall as I initially feared - it was peaceful and quiet, nicely laid back. And the Indian bar next door does attract a nice mix of clientele come evening time (amazing cocktails by the way, not to be missed!). I don't think there is a better bar on Ko Lanta and it's literally next door (and easy roll home). Siam massage, also next door, provided some hardcore but amazing Thai massage followed by a much needed foot scrub. Aside from the diving we did with Blue Planer Divers, we never ventured more than a few steps away from Banana Garden Home.
I can highly recommend this place if you want truly friendly, helpful service, in a lovely, comfortable setting, all for great value for money. The beach, although shallow, is truly beautiful, and sunsets to match (which we missed unfortunately due to some unseasonal weather).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 347 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

just returned from this resort and it was the best place we stayed in all our travels through thailand. the staff were so friendly and accommodating. the resort is on a beautiful beach which is so relaxed and lined with restaurants, bars and even a minimart. we found the food at banana garden to be superior than others as it was so fresh and tasty. there is a daily fish barbeque. oil,on reception,was brilliant. she organised our taxi at 6am on leaving day and came in at 5.30 to make sure all was ok. lola laughs most of the day and plays with the kids. i can't recommend this place highly enough. our only regret is that we were not there long enough. hopefully next year

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent a week here for my brother's wedding and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kho Lanta, a fantastic Island. The staff here were fantastic from day one to our final departure. They were friendly helpful and above all really great fun for the whole of our stay no matter how many stupid things our group did (loosing keys/changing bookings lengthening stay etc.) It is true that all the Thai people I have so far been lucky enough to meet and been kind, friendly and helpful, but the staff here went beyond this in so many ways, and really made the week we stayed very memorable. There is no doubt I will return after what was a memorable week.

Room Tip: The alrger Bungalows(all numbered with an A) face away from the others so it you are able to enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iason_Angelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This little resort was amazing there are only 20 huts which are basic but very clean and fantastic value for money, you had breakfast on your balcony every morning which was brought to you by the lovely staff who were so friendly, Irene was brilliant, she arranged our elephant trekking trip and kayaking in the mangroves with transport to and fro. The restaurant was great and Laura was also really nice. If you have children I'd recommend you staying here as the staff are so nice and friendly. We also frequented the Indian bar next door where you could sit on the deck chairs all day in the sunshine, you were never made to feel that you had to move on they were happy for you to stay as long as you wanted, Pas who ran the bar does a good fire show every night at around 10 pm.
We will most defiantly come back.
John and Jo

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Pros:
- Great central location on a really nice beach.  Plenty of places to eat and drink within a short walk along the beach.  Indian bar next door might be our favorite beach bar ever.
- Very nice staff, often exceedingly friendly, though it does seem to help if you're a Swedish family with little kids.
- The lady who manages the place is wonderful.

Cons
- Bungalows are a bit stale and bathrooms a bit funkified, though AC works well. You may find some critters in your bathroom at night as it's open to the outside where the ventilation fan is. Not the most comfortable beds.
- Occasionally there was a bit of a sewage smell permeating the area, which all things considered, we could have done without.  Never made it into our room though.
- Internet is ok at times, but mostly spotty.

Overall you will not be disappointed in the location.  If you have little ones, they will have a great time.  Just don't expect comfy rooms.  Bungalows are very very basic and almost like camping.  This place might consider adding some spruced up bungalows to choose from even at a bit higher price, then they'd have it all. 

Most importantly be sure to check out Indian Bar and say hi to Pas!

Room Tip: All seemed similar what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our vacation in Thailand, and I wish we could have stayed longer. Oil, the hotel receptionist/manager/wonderwoman, is amazing. She was so welcoming and friendly. Like one commenter mentioned, all the people at Banana Garden are so friendly, and they seem like they genuinely enjoy their work and each other's company. The bungalows are very basic, yet clean and comfortable. And best of all, they are on the BEACH! My husband and I enjoyed massages at the place right next to the hotel. Definitely check out trip advisor reviews for restaurants. We enjoyed Kwan's Cookery and Randa. When we asked Oil about renting a scooter for the day, she graciously offered her own scooter for us to borrow. What more could you ask for? We spent the whole day exploring the island on our own, and we couldn't have had a better time. Thank you so much, everyone at Banana Garden Home, for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We extended our stay there as the place was just outstanding, especially regarding the overall price.
I won't repeat the same things people have already said about the location and the bungalows.
I'll just focus on the incredible work the two receptionists, Oil and Winnie, are doing there. Not only they were really professional (lots of tips) and help us to find transport tickets at the best price, but they showed genuine kindness. We spent some nice time just talking with them. They seem to enjoy their job and their passion was catching.

Besides, the beach is one of Lanta's best spot and the restaurant provides excellent Pad Thai. Finally, I also recommend the massage saloon just next to Banana - close your eyes, let yourself soothed by the sound of the waves...
I can't see how one could be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank diofisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.4 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
198 reviews
0 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#40 of 85 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#57 of 85 in Ko Lanta
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#49 of 159 in Ko Lanta
65 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 232 in Ko Lanta
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#34 of 232 in Ko Lanta
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $22 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing