We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #18 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Wien
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The bungalows are very nice garden bungalows with ac, fridge, insect net, aso. Breakfast (well its toast with butter/jam, tea/coffee and fresh fruits) is delivered to your balcony. The bungalows are app. 50 from the beach.
Rooms where cleaned every day and there was fresh drinking water as well.
The owner is making everything to make your stay enjoyable.
Even if we had to leave her resort (because she was fully booked and we didn´t reserve in advance) she brought us to our next resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
175
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Koh Lanta was our favorite part of our trip to Thailand and that is a lot attributed to Annie, and her kindness. We were collected at the pier by Anna and provided with a very refreshing smoothie. Annie then continued to give us banana fritters which was so kind. She was very helpful in helping me book a cookery course and paid up front until I had chance to change my money, she even offered us some Bhatt for a taxi in case we didn't have enough bless her.
The bungalows are basic but comfortable. They are a 5 second walk from a great beach. The air conditioning is very effective. The only down point is the shower, its not very powerful and there's a eggy smell which comes out when you run the water initially. I assume that's just the drains and wouldn't deter us from going back. You could not get a property closer to the beach and more peaceful yet at the same time there are bars and restaurants which line the beach so its up to you how much you want to indulge in.

I would go back in a shot!!! I miss it loads.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janelorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our stay at Banana Garden Home was fantastic right from the moment we stepped off our ferry. Annie was there to greet us and treated us to welcome drinks at the pier. After such a sticky and sweaty ferry ride, those iced teas hit the spot. And then she pulled over to pick up some deep fried bananas for us on our way to the bungalows! Best snack we came across in SE Asia. So good we ventured out on foot the next day to get some more.

We were impressed with our bungalow. It was very clean and spacious, and the AC was on and ready for us. We were brought glasses of fresh juice as well and that set us up to hit the beach. It was definitely the hottest beach we have ever experienced, but it's a good thing in a way. It keeps from you from staying out there all day and burning to a crisp! Even the water felt warm which isn't as refreshing as we would have liked.

The restaurant and staff at Banana Garden were superb. Annie in particular makes everything run smoothly. We arranged to have some much needed laundry done and that went off without a hitch. She helped us book a Four Island Tour which was a great experience. There was a bit of miscommunication when we bought our ferry tickets back to Phuket, but all in all it doesn't affect our rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a family bungalow with my mother-in-law for a week. Past reviews describe the pros very well, and we would definitely stay at Banana Garden again. We were lucky that it was a quieter time so there weren't many kids on the beach, and a new yoga studio has opened across the street, which was awesome! Cons were that several nights we found big cockroaches in our bathroom, Annie was helpful but sometimes hard to track down for hours at a time, our bungalow was right beside the office and the walls are paper thin - we could hear traffic on the road and people showering in neighbouring bungalows, three mornings we were woken at 4 am as dogs barked and then howled along to the call to prayer at the nearby mosque. All that said, Banana Garden is good value and we will be back if we come back to Koh Lanta.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sfroyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Past glowing reviews describe the Banana Garden very well. We really enjoyed staying in somewhere a little different and the bungalow was a unique way to end of our 2-week trip travelling around Thailand. Annie was a great host and arranged a scooter for us to explore the island, aswell as a speed boat trip to Koh Phi Phi which were both great fun.

The bungalows are very clean, homely and comfortable with air conditioning and mosquito nets (we were only bitten a few times which is good compared to past holidays in midge prone areas!) As another reviewer has already commented, it's probably worth mentioning, we did also notice the sulphurous smelling water when the shower was first turned on, but this soon cleared once the water got running through and overall the shower was warm/hot and the pressure good.

The onsite restaurant offers a variety wonderful dishes and desserts, and the service is very attentive. It meant for 4 of our 5 nights stay, we ate here! The fresh fish (bought from a local market) and inspired recipes made for a different experience each night. The starters and desserts are also worthy of a mention - good portions, not too large and they tasted great! Sitting on the beach by candlelight for dinner was very romantic and memorable.

Annie suggested for safety she lock our valuables, passports and purse, in the office safe. Upon checking out we omitted to ask for the items back. Unfortunately, we only remembered on the shared minibus back to Krabi. An initial drama was soon extinguished when our driver called Annie and she arranged for the passports to be taxied to our next hotel. We really appreciated Annie's quick thinking and help. We usually carry our passport and valuables on us, and will in future, but these things happen and we are grateful to Annie that she reunited us with our valuables in the quickest possible time!

A perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets and friendly faces along Klong Dao beach. An absolute must if you're visiting Koh Lanta.

Room Tip: The Bungalows nearest the beach face the sea and would be our preference if we were to return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkamh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed three weeks in December/January as a large group with lots of children. Booked Banana based on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed! Annie arranged pickup from Krabi airport in a nice minibus, and served us a meal even though we arrived nearly at midnight. From the first moment we felt welcomed and at home.

The bungalows are quite small and sleeps a maximum of 2 adults + 3 children. All wooden, with a small bathroom. There is not much storage, but we did not miss it. The rooms are cleaned and water + new towels given every day - excellent! All bungalows are in the back garden, but 50 m from the restaurant, which is directly at the beach. Use the mosquito nets!

The breakfast is only some toast, jam and a little fruit, so expect to buy some more. The prices in the restaurant are reasonable, and the menu is very good. The children can play in the area next to the restaurant while parents finish their meal.The WiFi is free and fast.

Staff - what to say? Annie is in charge of the bungalows, and does everything to make your stay and excursions the best. Ask her, and she organizes! The staff in the restaurant gave us also the best service we could dream of, and were especially nice to the children.

To everybody at Banana: We had the best stay ever! Thank you for taking care of us, and in particular our little baby G. Hope to see you again. Lots of love! xxx

Room Tip: All are quite similar, no views, but 50 metres from the beach. The bungalows in the inner two rows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here over New Year 2011-2012. So nice and basic bungalows, very near to beach. Free Wifi is nice too and it work nice allmost all the time. Annie the manager is suberb, very helpfull and hard-working lady.

Bungalows are very basic, but clean and well maintained. There´s some noice in the are coming from traffic, but no big deal. Indian bar at the beach is nice place to relax and Paz quite a personality.

No pool of fitness center, if you need one... this in not the place for you.

Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#30 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#54 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Property: Banana Garden Home
Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing