We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, friendly, relaxed and memorable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #19 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique, friendly, relaxed and memorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Past glowing reviews describe the Banana Garden very well. We really enjoyed staying in somewhere a little different and the bungalow was a unique way to end of our 2-week trip travelling around Thailand. Annie was a great host and arranged a scooter for us to explore the island, aswell as a speed boat trip to Koh Phi Phi which were both great fun.

The bungalows are very clean, homely and comfortable with air conditioning and mosquito nets (we were only bitten a few times which is good compared to past holidays in midge prone areas!) As another reviewer has already commented, it's probably worth mentioning, we did also notice the sulphurous smelling water when the shower was first turned on, but this soon cleared once the water got running through and overall the shower was warm/hot and the pressure good.

The onsite restaurant offers a variety wonderful dishes and desserts, and the service is very attentive. It meant for 4 of our 5 nights stay, we ate here! The fresh fish (bought from a local market) and inspired recipes made for a different experience each night. The starters and desserts are also worthy of a mention - good portions, not too large and they tasted great! Sitting on the beach by candlelight for dinner was very romantic and memorable.

Annie suggested for safety she lock our valuables, passports and purse, in the office safe. Upon checking out we omitted to ask for the items back. Unfortunately, we only remembered on the shared minibus back to Krabi. An initial drama was soon extinguished when our driver called Annie and she arranged for the passports to be taxied to our next hotel. We really appreciated Annie's quick thinking and help. We usually carry our passport and valuables on us, and will in future, but these things happen and we are grateful to Annie that she reunited us with our valuables in the quickest possible time!

A perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets and friendly faces along Klong Dao beach. An absolute must if you're visiting Koh Lanta.

Room Tip: The Bungalows nearest the beach face the sea and would be our preference if we were to return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkamh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
175
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed three weeks in December/January as a large group with lots of children. Booked Banana based on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed! Annie arranged pickup from Krabi airport in a nice minibus, and served us a meal even though we arrived nearly at midnight. From the first moment we felt welcomed and at home.

The bungalows are quite small and sleeps a maximum of 2 adults + 3 children. All wooden, with a small bathroom. There is not much storage, but we did not miss it. The rooms are cleaned and water + new towels given every day - excellent! All bungalows are in the back garden, but 50 m from the restaurant, which is directly at the beach. Use the mosquito nets!

The breakfast is only some toast, jam and a little fruit, so expect to buy some more. The prices in the restaurant are reasonable, and the menu is very good. The children can play in the area next to the restaurant while parents finish their meal.The WiFi is free and fast.

Staff - what to say? Annie is in charge of the bungalows, and does everything to make your stay and excursions the best. Ask her, and she organizes! The staff in the restaurant gave us also the best service we could dream of, and were especially nice to the children.

To everybody at Banana: We had the best stay ever! Thank you for taking care of us, and in particular our little baby G. Hope to see you again. Lots of love! xxx

Room Tip: All are quite similar, no views, but 50 metres from the beach. The bungalows in the inner two rows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here over New Year 2011-2012. So nice and basic bungalows, very near to beach. Free Wifi is nice too and it work nice allmost all the time. Annie the manager is suberb, very helpfull and hard-working lady.

Bungalows are very basic, but clean and well maintained. There´s some noice in the are coming from traffic, but no big deal. Indian bar at the beach is nice place to relax and Paz quite a personality.

No pool of fitness center, if you need one... this in not the place for you.

Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Bungalows at the Banana Garden Home were beautiful and clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and Annie, in particular was superbly helpful. We got new towels and water bottles daily. The restaurant right next door had great food and The Indian bar on the other side was a great place to get a drink, relax and watch the sunset. It exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fareha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very good value for families. The bungalows are clean and quiet and the restaurant was wonderful, especially eating dinner on the beach at sunset. Our 18 month-old loved playing in the sand and with all the toys in the toddler play area. I loved that breakfast was served to our bungalow porch as soon as we woke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2012 and could not have been happier with it. It was the best stop on our trip of Thailand. The bungalows are beautiful and well maintained. We were amazed to find clean linens and towels each day of our stay as well as new water bottles for each of us. My kids loved sleeping under a net on their bunkbeds and we all loved listening to frogs and the waves each night as we went to sleep. The air conditioning worked well, breakfast was simple, but lovely. There is something so charming and relaxing about eating on your own little patio or choosing to have breakfast served beachside. Toast, pineapple juice, hot cocoa for the children, and the most delicious fruits. The restaurant served delicious food and at prices similar to everything else on the beach. It was the owner Annie who made our stay over the top. She is a wonderful hostess and made us feel so welcomed. She helped us set up transportation and tours, at lower costs then you'd find anywhere else on the island. She made little necklaces for our children with charms that they got to pick out, she sent a worker to purchase boogie boards for our children to use when we asked about renting some, and then she set up a private barbeque on the beach for us one night when my husband returned with fish from a deep sea fishing trip. Annie even showed us how to make a marinade for the fish and had another worker barbecue it for us. delicious. We gave her the rest of the fish and were surprised the next night when Annie brought out fish that she had prepared just for us that afternoon at no charge. It was the best we have ever had. Annie made the trip so memorable and special for each of us and we hated leaving this little piece of paradise. Charming, clean bungalows, great food, and beautiful beaches. It was a week in heaven.

Room Tip: can ask for a bunkbed if wanting a family bungalow for 2 adults and 2 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porterfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

very nice bungalows on a very nice beach.we enjoyed the indian bar at night.we were happy here and thought that the accomodation was good value for the money .we would stay again.we liked annie who was very friendly and helpful in any requests we had.the down side the bungalows are very close together

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#29 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#53 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Property: Banana Garden Home
Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing