We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bamboo huts: enjoy before they close in may!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanta River Sand Bungalow
Ranked #93 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Spent a week at the River Sand in a bungalow on the 3rd row.
Large room, bathroom with cold water and wc, mosquito net and fan, hammok (150 bath for the duration of your stay) on the terras and a view on the "private" beach".
The beds are a bit hard (but then again all beds I have had in Thailand were the same).

I called fm BGKK airport at noon to check if they had room and because my plane was arriving too late for a regular transfer, the owner arranged for a pick up (all right bit expensive, but I was picked up at Krabi airport and did not need to spend a night there): within 10 minutes all was OK!

Not more than 5 bungalows were occupied during my stay: probably because the rain is staying a bit longer than usual: it made the place so nice and quite: I could really relax.
As the resort is a bit off the road, you have no traffic noises, there is a generous space between the huts, not like most resorts in the northern part of the island.
Breakast was fine, not exceptional, but good quality.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and I felt welcome at every moments.

the resort has motorbikes for rent and they are willing to help you for other arrangements or tours.
The location in the middle of the islands makes it great: set up on a quite beach, you can reach the party bars and other southern beaches within 10 minutes scooter.

The "natural bamboo" huts is the best way to stay in thailand: it blends in the scenery, you benefit of the natural ventilation and you really feel you are away (not in a random aircon bungalow anywhere on earth)

Mind you the resort is in it's last season and open until may. After that it will be bulldozered and replaced with a concrete bungalow park..... The current owners/ managers of the resort are moving the concept to another island: the land owner finds it is time for more modern facilities...
For those travelling to Lanta in the coming 6 months, I would definitely recommend staying at the River Sand.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlottje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Lanta River Sand Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

Having loved our visit in 2009 we were really looking forward to returning to Lanta River Sand bungalows on Koh Lanta. Despite emailing Nita the owner on four occasions and telephoning prior to our arrival as requested we were meet with blank looks when we arrived. We were horrified to find out they had not kept as promised a seafront room for 5 nights for us and eventually said they had one near the back we could use. Nita also said we were lying when we questioned the price as it was different from the one she quoted in the email. It was highly embarrassing to be made to feel like cheating liars and if we had somewhere else to go we would have left immediately. By showing her our emails we were able to prove it was her in the wrong.
We could not believe the dramatic change in nature of Nita and her sister Piu from the previous year when they had been friendly and helpful. The resort is now very busy and pre-arranged bookings take second place, people once in a bungalow can stay as long as they want so if you book a bungalow beware when you arrive it may be full! The bungalows design is great but as the resort is now so busy it can be noisy. The design also means people can see into the rooms (including bathrooms) quite easily if you have the lights on!
It was such a shame to return and see how success had changed the place for the worse. The experience ruined our first few days of our holiday, be careful if you do decide to book to go here as you may not be welcome when you arrive!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank EdinburghHenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Beautiful wood/bamboo houses with natural air conditioning by the sea or in second and third row. Very high ceiling, large bed with mosquito net in the more expensive ones. Clean, romantic, unique. Super cute and very friendly owners. Wireless in your house (bit expensive though). We had such a good sleep there and enjoyed the architecture a lot. Such a pitty that so many new places are made of concrete and not like this anymore. Loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

A great little place with very friendly fun staff and beautiful peaceful sunsets.
If you like a simple, natural yet comfortable experience that doesn't harm the planet or Thailand then this could be your place. All natural materials and great people- beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zangpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Beautiful bungalows right on the beach, really relaxing and quiete, very nice staff .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Several basic wooden bungalows with big beds with mosquito net and private bathroom with no door to separate it from the main room.
No hot water but really you'll never miss it.
First row of bungalows is at few steps from the little private beach.
Immerse in nature the resort has his own bar and restaurant with a nice selection
of meals.
Staff is nice helpful and English speaking.
Would return again.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
Thank dadgad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Basic bamboo huts on a beach, if you chose the front row you can watch the sunset from your balcony.

Good location (on beach) only 5 minute walk to 7 eleven and other bars and restaurants. There are better beaches down the south of the island, but the road south gets a bit rough, this is easy to get to and away from the development of the north of the island.

Good fans and mosquito net, for the price you could get aircon somewhere else, but you would not get the sunset views from your own private balcony.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musiccynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Bungalows
Sunset Bungalows
#48 of 217 in Ko Lanta
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Palace Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#12 of 150 in Ko Lanta
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sabai Hotel & Bungalows
Lanta Sabai Hotel & Bungalows
#48 of 150 in Ko Lanta
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon Beach Bungalows
Horizon Beach Bungalows
#74 of 217 in Ko Lanta
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clean Beach Resort
Clean Beach Resort
#45 of 84 in Ko Lanta
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta River Sand Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta River Sand Bungalow

Address: Klong Tob Beach, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $37 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta River Sand Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lanta River Sand Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing