We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good days at Good Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
london
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good days at Good Days”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We went to Koh Lanta 2 years ago and stayed at Castaway resort and wanted to go back again but Castaway was full. Our main reason for choosing Good Days was that it was next door to Castaway so convenient for diving at Dive and Relax (based at Castaway). We were apprehensive about staying here having read some of the previous reviews but we found Good Days very good indeed.

There is a range of different types of rooms and prices so you get what you pay for. If you stay in one of the older cheaper rooms don't expect your room to be as good as one of the newer more exensive rooms! We stayed in the Beach Cottage which is the most expensive room. It was a very good choice as it set slightly back from the beach and has great beach views and isn't overlooked by other cottages. There is a small garden area in front of the cottage but some guests rudely walked through it as a shortcut to the popular restaurant and bar at Castaway. There are very few other properties as close to the beach on Long Beach as this cottage. The Cottage was spacious and comfortable and really well lit - good for bedtime reading! The bathroom is enormous but rather empty. Room was cleaned daily.

Breakfast was good - a buffet of fruit, eggs, ham, sausages, toast, pancakes, cereal etc..some other reviewers complained about breakfast but we had no complaints. Perhaps if you get up at 10am breakfast will have gone cold but we never had this problem. We had a massage at Good Days on our last day and it was the best massage we have had in Thailand. The fact that Good Days has a swimming pool is also a big bonus as most resorts don't have pools. There is also a large pleasant garden with plenty of sun loungers and deck chairs and beach towels are provided.

Unfortuntaley there is a bar called Sanctuary just a few metres down the beach and on our 1st night (a Thursday) there were live bands playing until 3am so we didn't get any sleep. We stayed 6 nights and there was no noise on any of the other nights.

There are lots of good restaurants nearby - those on the road are slightly cheaper than on the beach. We ate at 3 mums, fishermans and went to Saladan a couple of nights to the fish restaurants - all of which were very good. We didn't eat at Good Days other than breakfast.

Room Tip: We recommend the Beach Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    66
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
35
69
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed in a twin bungalow with air condition and en-suite bathroom in February 2012.
The rooms are big and clean. The cleaners come every day and the towels and sheets were clean. The bathroom is big and clean-ish. There was nothing really dirty and I felt alright taking showers, going to the toilet etc, but you can tell they do not clean all the tiles every day. When some splashs of body scrub hit the wall on our first day they weren't removed/washed off until we left. But this is Asia and it didn't disturb me too much.
The windows of the room were covered in mosquito net, which was good and we didn't have any insects in the room. But generally we didn't see many mosquitoes anyway as it was dry season.
The resort has around 30 bungalows, which are spread around in a garden-like area. There is asmall terrace in front of every bungalow with small deck chairs.
The resort has a swimming pool (which we didn't try), a beach bar, their own massage parlour, deck chairs in the garden in the shade and they have their own beach.
To get to the beach one has to cross a little river. This sound more complicated than it is. There is some water floating into the sea and to get over to the beach from the garden you have to walk through the water. When the tide is low the water is either gone completely or ankle high and at high tide it can reach up to your upper thigh. But it is not dramatic. You are most probably on summer holiday, walk from your bungalow to the beach (were you are most likely to get wet anyway) and will probably not be in a suit but in beachwear anyway. Of course it'd be nice to have a little bridge, especially as there are many families with childen and it did look quite uncomfortable to carry the prams over the river, but we could live with the situation. If you really don't want to cross the flow you can also walk through the garden over to the Castaway Resort next door and enter the beach from their garden.
The beach is big. Directly in front of the Good Days Resort there are some rocks in the sea. But if you move over towards the right hand side, the water is shallow and you only have sand. As each resort is spread out quite a lot, each resort also owns a long stretch of beach. Even when there are 50 or 60 people on the beach, it feels empty. It doesn't feel crowded and you have so much space to swim, play or just laze in the sun. There is a lady renting sombrellas and deck chairs (60 bath for 2 chairs and one sombrella) and she also sells cold drinks. You don't have to take those chairs, you can also bring your own towel or mat and lie in the sand. But there are no free chairs from the hotel!
We didn't eat at the hotels restaurant as we preferred to walk up to the main street (about 3 minute walk). The breakfast buffet was alright, but nothing special.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
We really liked staying at the Good Days Lanta. If you want to stay right by the beach and travel on a budget this is a good place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

At first glance this resort looks quite good. It's rather cheap and the rooms are rather comfy and it's very near the beach. The beach bar, which is owned by a very nice lady, is very nice. The pool is also good and yo might need it..... why?

Well, the beach is near, but rather boring and unattractive. You also need to cross a canal when you go to the beach. When the tide leaves it's not that good to go for a swim. There are many stones and rocks in the water close to the beach, and you might hurt your feet if you don't watch out. The restaurant is rather boring and the food/breakfast is not very exciting.

However, now we come to the biggest drawback of this resort: The Funky Monkey. For about a year ago someone built a disco called The Funky Monkey about 50 meters from the northern part of the resort. There are no walls and they play live music very, very loud until one aclock in the night. If you have a bungalow in the northernmost area of the resort (which we had) the sound from the Funky Monkey is unbearable.

We tried to change our room because of the noice from the disco but the staff were not that interested. So for me, the staff is very friendly as long as you are quiet and friendly, but if you complain they are not intrested in you at all.

We left this resort one day earlier than we were supposed to and we are never coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IvanBoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Made an agrement for 6 days 1700 bth,next day he told us we had to move to another room and pay 2000 bth a day.
A spoiled day of our hollyday,because we checked out for this reason and tug our stuff arround for another accomodation.
Being not honest and not solving the problem in an honest way is a big mistake. I am going to report this to lonly planet as well

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istra100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

after reading some of the previous revues I was rather nervous about our vacation to Lanta, as we booked 8 days in this resort.
However we were positively surprised!

traveling with 3 smaller kids this was a really good place for us to stay. First we had the Beach HOuse: 3 large double bed rooms with own baths. my sister had one room - the two oldest kids the other and the parents the last. Nice and tidy - not a lot of furniture and deco - but we did not need that. when my sister left we moved to a family house with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths + a small tea kitchen area. THis was perfect for our needs and I would rather stay here than in the Beach House, as the Beach HOuse is right in front of a bar "funky monkey" that has concerts and carokee to late. in the family house you hardly heard anything. good things:
Nice and helpful staff
super garden/lawn area towards beach
relaxing chair area towards beach
good children pool
the lady in the beach bar is wonderful!
Breakfast was good - coffee as all over THailand...

things that could have been better:
food in hotel restaurant was nothing particular - but up the road you will find plenty of cheap alternatives (ex. to the right: Fisherman or to the left: Mays)
staff did not help with luggage to and from room when arriving/leaving
staff in restaurant seemed a bit anoid some times
noice from Funky Monkey in some areas of resort
cleanness of pool - it was rather nasty at times

TIPS:
- Koh Lanta is rather expensive as the market is protected due to the fact that there are yet no permanent way to the island - only by seaways. (until 2014) - compared to BNK we found the overall prices to be 2 or 3 times higher there...
- can recommend "coffee club cafe" at the main rd next after 7-11 - fantastic coffee and cakes
- doctor 100 meters to the right on main rd
- taxi or tuk tuk to Saladan: 50 bath pr. adult (we paid 100 for 2 adults and 3 children 4,2,0 years)
- baby stroller goes well in both taxi and tuk tuk - in full size:-)
- we rented a tuk tuk for 600 bath a day - really good for day tours - cannot go further than Katiang beach or across island - way too hilly for tuk tuk with pasangers... for this we rented a car - can easily be done in a day.
"catfish" at Saladan Pier
"Kontiki" divecenter - best tour is Koh Haa or Hin Daeng/ Muang'
"Dive and Relax" - a bit more expensive but you are home so much earlier!!!
"Energy bar" for Fireshow at Klong Dao Beach - really good firedancers!

Room Tip: as a family take the family bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citybikeCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Plus points - Good location and beach. Great sunset. Relaxing place within walking distance of bars and restaurants. Nice swimming pool
Minus points - Arrival fine but when we were taken to our room I noticed a tray of leftover food on table on veranda. We then noticed hair in shower area and reported this. On pulling back the sheets I noticed the bed sheets appeared crumpled. I then noticed hair and at the foot of the bed sand grains. Clearly the bed had not been changed. We complained about this and eventually insisted on being moved to another bungalow but whilst we were there we could not help but overhear other guests complaining about the cleanliness of their rooms. I also noticed other guests moving rooms as well.

I would also like to comment on the stream you have to cross to reach the beach. Whilst it looked clear the thai's do have a habit of having open sewers and when we walked out of the resort to the bars on the two nights we were there you pass by this 'stream' and the smell is awful.

I also noticed a lot of empty glass bottles in the hedges around the gardens and one in particular that sat under one of the breakfast tables for the duration of our stay. As for Breakfast it was limited with the same things every day.

Finally, the when they moved us to a new bungalow it was clear the previous occupants had been smoking in their room. I was surprised the hotel allowed this to go.

Room Tip: My tip is not to stay here. Clearly cleanliness is an issue not just about the rooms but also the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny12smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We originally booked 2 nights at Gooddays but extended our stay by an extra night.

The chalets are large and comfortable and come with a massive fridge and complimentary water.

The free breakfast was perfect.

The location is great, right on long beach.

The resort hires out mopeds and will book trips for you (as with most places in Thailand).

The reception staff were so friendly and lovely...

One of our party had a foot massage in the resort and said it was the best one she'd had in Thailand.

The resort bar opened on the 2nd night of our stay and we were worried that this would be really loud, but it wasn't and it closed by 1am.

Only con was that you had to pay for the internet, but that was 100 baht for 70 minutes so not a rip off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Papillon Bungalows
Papillon Bungalows
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
0.2 mi away
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Nakara Long Beach Resort
Nakara Long Beach Resort
#73 of 84 in Ko Lanta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Days Lanta Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Days Lanta Beach Resort

Property: Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Address: 183 Moo 2 , Phra-ae Beach (Long beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Good Days Lanta Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful beach, Long Beach or Phare-Ae Beach with blue crystal clear seas, a self white sand beach and pine trees, This is what one can call a real picturesque, virgin- resting paradise .Come and check it out yourself ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Days Lanta Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Days Lanta Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta
Good Days Lanta Chalet And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing