We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Superior Room needs Attention”
Review of Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanta Resort
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed 10 nights in a Superior Room with my girlfriend ( Cheapest Option ). Room big enough but the oldest rooms at Resort in a Block on their own. A bit rundown & really needs refurbishing. Twin Beds coverted to Large King. Not that comfortable . Problem with mosquitoes coming out of drains in bathroom. Cleaning Staff were very helpful in spraying at my request at least 3 times a day. I didn't suffer but my girlfriend got several mossie bites. Not good enough.
Buffet breakfast typical for Thailand & plenty to choose from. Fresh Omlettes were always great with friendly cook. Coffee PATHETIC. Bought Nescafe Instant from 711.
Swimming Pools EXCELLANT & new one opened next to our block as we arrived.
Great after a day at the beach or after an outing .
Great location about 800 metres from Long Beach . (Prae-Ae Beach ) . Beach is 3kms of nice sand & whilst no waves water was great / warm & crystal clear . Lots of Cafes / Restaurants along the Beach for Lunch / Dinner/ Drinks. Great shade in the morning & great to have a few cocktails before dinner watching the magnificent sunsets . It was a nice walk from Lanta Resort to the Beach via Resorts gardens.
Had a Seafood Buffet at Resort Restaurant , on the Beach . 299Baht Each & that included glass of wine. Good Value.
Had lunch at the Pool Bar a few times & food was good & not too pricey.

TIPS
Would recommend resort but DONT book a Superior Room. Other Rooms Looked much better & much newer & closer to Main Swimming Pool & the Beach. Deluxe Room with looked really good.

Don't use Resort tour Desk . We booked via a Tour Office in nearby Saladan. Very helpful & always gave you all options. Suggest the 4 Island Tour. Great scenery & snorkelling. Fish not that spectacular.

Resort was overrun with Swedes ? But I must say they were very polite & quiet. Few kids around but again not that noisy & very polite. No problem at all.

Dined at a few Restaurants & to be honest I would forget Seafood Restaurants at Saladan. Stick to Restaurants on beach / road within vicinity of Resort. Dined at Suza Hut at North Beach on 4 occasions. Owner recommended Steamed / BBQ Snapper with Garlic & Pepper. We had it 4 times . SENSATIONAL & not that expensive. Didn't have to order after the first two visits . Just asked for usual . But you MUST speak to the owner as Staff don't speak / understand much English. Pizzas at Mr Wee Pizzeria were pretty good.

Check out the Biggest Girly Bar across the Road from Resort . Good Cheap Shots / Cocktails. Don't let the GIRLS frighten you off.

WiFi reception NOT good in Superior Room Block but OK at Reception / Main Pool / Beach

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimbos30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We decided to book a beach side bungalow which was fantastic. Our bungalow was about 30yards from the beach where there was a beach bar and massage shack. The bungalow was worth the money, although there was a large number of Mosquitos inside which perhaps we should have anticipated. The rooms are kept clean and the towels and bedding is changed everyday. The breakfast included was great and there is a wide choice. The apartments facing the pool looked just as fantastic as our bungalow and had their own private pools per block. The main pool was large and there were plenty of sun loungers around. Staff were very polite. The location is at the end of the beach, but close to all nightlife, with a mixture of bars and restaurants. Very chilled out vibe. Would come again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seaholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Beautiful resort in the heart of koh lanta. The rooms are the nicest we have stayed in Thailand. Great pool and beachside location. The surrounding area around the resort is quiet, but this place is perfect for a relaxing break!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lornamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lanta resort is a large hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. We choose Lanta Pool Villa room type there is long and clean swimming pool at the next balcony. We thought the location was good, Very nice staff at the hotel. There are very large interesting swimming pool as well as a pool for children, breakfast buffet and dinner was nice. We are surely coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here part of our Andaman Sky Holiday. This resort is luxurious (not over the top or anything) for the money. Worth every quid we paid for it. True, there was some renovation going on, but we could see this is for the better. The resort is also quite large, yet it did not feel overcrowded. When we first arriving, we were thinking no way we will eat at the resort because it will be too crowded. We were wrong, it has been a wonderful experience. For the price, the location is also very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lanta resort is quite a large hotel situated at very northern end of long beach. The rooms are large and comfortable furnishing are looking just a little tired but overall comfortable. Everything works. Aircon, old tv. Fridge etc. The pool is massive and plenty of sun beds but for some reason the management just leave them either wooden or plastic no cushion so not overly comfortable. The walk to the beach is quite a way through either the hotel grounds or along a path opposite a jungle like area it's a good 10 15 mins walk. It's strange really like the hotel own the ground were the rooms and pool are then quite an overgrown area then their restaurant on the beach, perhaps they don't own this centre bit of land. Worth it when you get their, the hotel does have a shuttle bus but apart from when we came to view a room I ve never seen it move. It really should be more readily available especially when the electric power goes down and you find yourself plundering around in the dark. I think the hotel has a generater which they used but they turned it off when their own bar closed around 9.30pm so our first night didn't bring such a good impression, not being used to the area in pitch black was not nice . The breakfast is nice but would be better in my opinion if it were served from the beach bar, perhaps though people would say it was to far to go.
Their are lots of nice restaurants on the beach, however we we very under impressed with the few bars on the top road, they really did look like we were alien people when we went for a drink. We ve traveled a lot and can't quiet understand why all,these places are open if they don't want to serve people. Tuk tuk to near by areas are cheap and readily available. Wi if is not very good in the rooms not sure about the reception area not tried it their yet. We are still at this resort. I,m doing this now in the hope that the management read this and get that shuttle bus going to the beach. Staff are all really friendly. Check in was great with help with your bags. Their are three pool with some private swim up room pools. Their is a massage area but not a spa.Overall it's a nice place to stay if a little on the big side for us.
They are doing some renovation work to bungalows near to the beach but so far we haven't been troubled with noise.

Room Tip: Our room d202 is close to reception but nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1236Holidaysaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Pros:
-friendly staff
-big rooms (even the cheapest ones)
-nice pool

Cons:
-long distance to beach ,superior (cheapest rooms) building is almost next to a
main road (500m to beach)
-breakfast quite a simple
-you had to take cold showers most of the time :)

Overall hotel was very mediocre, but the island itself was lovely. Will come aagain to lanta, but not to this hotel.


  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miivehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
436 reviews
1.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
4.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
6.3 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Resort

Address: 243 Moo 3 Pra-Ae Beach | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $57 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMANTIC LUXURY LANTA RESORT ON PRA-AE BEACH OR LONG BEACH, KOH LANTA, KRABI. Serenity, romantic, spacious and in the best location are probably best described Lanta Resort. Lanta Resort is ideally located among lush greenery with tranquil environment. Lanta Resort prides itself with a beautifully-landscaped garden and magnificent view of the white sandy beach. Lanta Resort is located on Pra-ae beach or Long beach, one of the best beach locations on Koh Lanta; only 5 minutes drive to Saladan - the island's centre for shopping, dining and night life entertainment. "Where the nature unfolds" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing