We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally efficient and very urban-styled hotel in Ko Lanta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 146 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptionally efficient and very urban-styled hotel in Ko Lanta”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

This is an extremely well-priced and clean hotel that is run with tireless efficiency. They provide you with beach towels and mats, the breakfast is excellent and the rooms are very well-appointed.

The rooms have comfy beds and excellent bathrooms (strong hot water pressure and modern fittings) This is not an authentic beach/island experience however, so if you're after that kind of vibe then this may not be for you! If you want crisp sheets, comfy beds, air con and lots of urban hotel styling for a great price then book the Mermaid.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepinnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    89
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
383
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our stay at Lanta Mermaid where "spotless" :) - we enjoyed the friendly and cozy atmosphere and felt very welcome from the minute we arrived. Before our arrival I had sent some questions by email and every time I got a quick and fullfilling reply, not only a "yes/no" reply, which is the standard reply I have received from many other hotels in Thailand.
The breakfast I have to point out, fresh orange juice, toasted wholegrain bread (tasted homebaked ;) and your choice of egg, müsle etc. - really enjoyable.
The location of the hotel is very close to the beach (see it from the room) and in walking distance to Saladan, but we found some great and local restaurants closeby.
We highly recommend this hotel and will definetely choose the hotel next time we visit Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linuspaalinien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Outstanding hotel with amazing service, superb rooms, fantastic breakfast and great people. Enjoy your stay, we sure did!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed here 4 days at the start of our travel ro be sure to have a good hotel before checking for a cheaper location.
Room was quiet (backside to the garden), so it was quieter than the noisy street side. The team provided effective service.
Location is not perfect - however the beach is only several 100 m away. Breakfast is a la carte and comes very promtly and correct.

Strengths:
- perfectly clean and stylish rooms
- perfect service
- good local tipps from management
- near the beach
- "no risk" location
- quick breakfast serve
- Free Wifi
- bath windows to outside has fly screens

Weaknesses:
- Breakfast would better be served in the garden than directly at the noisy street
- Room has no window (only the bathroom), only a blinded window in the balcony door

To consider:
- no elevater (no problem for us)
- no pool (no real problem, but the seawater was somehow nettling without visibe jellyfish - which could make someone prefer a pool)
- WiFi at 3rd floor very slow - use the 2nd floor one instead
- Price - however it may incur a significant uplift to provide an effective team and style

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perfectionist_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Very well run boutique hotel. Clean, spacious rooms and a great (large) breakfast. The owners are very sweet and knew our first names within a day! We stayed for new year and found the location easy to get the beach, 100 metres, and bars/ restaurants. In Thailand it can sometimes be a bit hit and miss on cleanliness by western standards but this place was spotless every day. J

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRedonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the number of excellent reviews on this website and we were not disappointed - what we found was truly excellent. The owners of this hotel go all out in terms of ensuring that guests feel welcome, comfortable and have a most relaxed stay. They went the extra mile on so many occasions - arranging trips, recommending restaurants, providing an early breakfast when we had to depart early. The rooms were perfect also. The walk to the beach takes less than 5 minutes which was no problem. I travel a lot with work and I definitely the best hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I have been travelling around the world for 10 months now and Lanta Mermaid is one of the cleanest places we've stayed in so far (there is only one other place that's as clean as this one). Chai and his family are wonderful hosts. They took care of all our needs and made us feel at home. They provided excellent breakfast and free water daily. Although they don't serve lunch or dinner, right next to the front patio, there is a small Thai restaurant that has really delicious Thai food (probably the best we've had in our three weeks in Thailand). Even though it isn't right on the beach, the beach is just across the street. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
5.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Property: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing