We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, lovely staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This was my second stay at the hotel, this time I travelled with my fiancé (last year with my mother). The room are big, clean and comfortable. The staff is presumably the most pleasant in Koh Lanta :-). The only negative, and thats why I gave rate 3 at location, is that its quite much trafic at the road. But we wasn´t so much at the balcony so thats ok (we had a delux room). We stayed 14 days and this is not my last stay at the hotel. I really recommend this hotel and the lovely staf.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boppilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    89
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
383
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uddevalla, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2010

When we arrived at this hotel the personal meet us outside and sad hello with names och was very helpful. They were very helpful in many ways. (Daytrips, transportation, hotels etc.) The room ( we had seaside balcany) where very clean and fresh, nice furnituring.. Good TV.. Free Wifi.. Free computer in the lobby to use.. Its close to the beach.. There is no negativ to say about this hotell..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I stayed at the Lanta Mermaid for a few nights in January. I am not quite sure why the reviews on Tripadvisor for this hotel are so positive!

Yes, the rooms were up to western standards and were clean.

However, I felt the hotel lacked the charm and warmth you get in so many other hotels in Thailand.

A mother and son run this hotel. They got quite aggressive with me when I didn't book my excursion/motorbike with them.

There were lots of pathetic rules and regulations which did not make for a relaxing stay.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LantaMermaid, Manager at Lanta Mermaid Boutique House, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
We think that there may be some misunderstanding in this matter
First of all , from our guest history, We have no SOLO FRENCH
guest staying at our hotel during Dec 15,09 to Jan 31,10.

And our aggressiveness that you mentioned, There may be something complicated because we always serve even non guest who come to ask for informations regarding anything.

We are so sorry if there are anything that did not meet your pleasure if it is our place you stay truly. Because actually we are
not mother and son business. We are a little hotel running by
our group of friends with full service mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitra
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

A very nice and comfortable bed and breakfast hotel where the staff (owner and wife mostly) did everything possible to make us feel cared for. Big and comfortable, clean, modern rooms with fridge and waterboiler. Owner speak very good english and give very good and effective service. The hotel is near the mainroad and walking distance to the beach (max 5 min). Also not far from Ban Saladan (30 Bath pr person with tuk tuk), a little village with many seaside restaurants. This hotel gives very good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This place has it all! A lovely warm ambiance, the kindest management and staff and great rooms! It's so clean and well kept that it looks like it has just opened the day before arrival. Staff welcomed us at the pier to transfer us to the hotel at no extra cost. Breakfast is good and fresh and all guests are personaly taking care for. The beach is just across the street, a short 2 minute walk. Several nice restaurants are nearby, Tonn Kluay, about 200 m to the right at the left side of the road being my favorite. Good quality Thai food and excellent service at low prices. Rent a(n) (automatic) motorbike to travel around the island. Driving is more easy then in seems. Just be carefull. See mysterious little villages in the southern part of the island and spot magnificent beaches along the way. Then come back home, cause that's what it will feel like, at the lovely Mermaid Boutique House. By the way: free WiFi in room and lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ydrtfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I spent sometime looking for a place to stay in Lanta. Although having a choice of many resorts directly on the beach I have decided to book a room in Lanta Mermaid Boutique and that's probably best choice I have done during the whole trip. Hotel itself is stunning. Tastefully decorated rooms, spacious and clean bathrooms. But the best thing about this place is service which in my personal opinion, and I work as a hotel manager myself, it absolutly fantastic. Very warm and friendly welcome. Mr Chai who is a manager has got an experience in some of the finest 5* hotels in Asia and you can feel at every second of your stay. Great recomendations for day trips and restaurants. Everything booked at the hotel within a seconds. He even managed to ask his friend to take us for a trip around Lanta as none of us use motor bikes. Chai is also great person to talk to :)
All staff is very friendly and hotel is extremly clean. Hotel is 2 minutes walk from the beach and about 15 from main town Saladan. But loads of restaurants available just next door. If you need recomandation just ask Chai. Hotel has got free wifi and if you dont travel with your own laptop there is one at the reception free of charge as well.
If I ever decide to come back to Lanta I wont be looking for any other place.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patryk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We came to Thailand for the first time at 18.jan. We chose to start our trip at Koh Lanta. We felt that this was a perfect place to start our vacation, and we heard from friends and family that Koh Lanta is a beautiful and quiet island. We found Lanta Mermaid at latestays.com and thought it looked as a nice small hotel. We were not looking for the perfect beachresort to start with. When We arrived the hotel We were amazed to realice that the staff met us with big smiles, and made us feel very welcome. The hotel looked amazingly new. We got a very nice a/c room at 1.floor facing the street, and found the room to be luxurious and appeared to be very clean. It took about 2 seconds to feel good about the place. After We got settled in the room, We got a lot of help from the staff telling us about the area, what to do, and what We should see. They can very efficient provide everything You need when You stay at Koh Lanta, or when You need to go somewhere else. We were amazed how efficient they helped us with everything. A nice sandy beach is just ca.200m from the hotel. The breakfast is included and is very tasty. We also appreciated the free wifi in the room. A computer is provided for free use of internet in the lobby if needed. We decided to continue our vacation and see some more of Thailand. We went from Koh Lanta to Phi Phi, and then to Railay Beach, and finally to Patong in Phuket. After 3 days in Phuket We decided that was enough with crowded beaches, bars and markets. Patong was nice, but We started to feel an growing urge to go back to Koh Lanta again to finish our vacation in a relaxed athmosfere. The choice was easy - We booked 4 more nights at Lanta Mermaid. This was the perfect ending for a very nice trip to Thailand. Tomorrow We go to Ao Nang to start our journey back to Norway. We strongly recommend this hotel when You go to Koh Lanta. The hotel facilities and it's amazing staff is reason enough. Thank You for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceBlue-Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
1.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Property: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing