We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 141 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had a really nice stay at Mermaids. All staff were lovely and went out of their way to help us. The room was absolutely spotless and decorated in classic Thai style. Shame that the only natural light source was through the milk glass balcony door, which meant that it was quite dark inside, even with the lights on. The hotel is located along the main street, so I would recommend the garden view rooms as they are quieter. Is is only a 2 mins stroll away from the beach, which was fine. There is a small graden with a lawn at the back, which was never used as far as we know. I suppose the lack of a pool and direct beach access is a little downer, but on the other hand it meant there were no kids. Breakfast was nice and as we had to travel to Saladan early in the morning several times they made sure that it was always served promptly. There was a set price for Continental and American breakfast, which was fine and good value for money at 150THB due to its ample choices and amounts. In fact we couldn't ever manage the whole breakfast! All in all it's a great place to stay and value for money definitely makes up for the few little downsides.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ria569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    87
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
381
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Never before have I been treated to such a high level of personal and attentive service at a hotel. Upon arrival at the Lanta Mermaid we were immediately greeted curbside by Ms. Pao and met Mr. Chai just through the front door. They knew who we were, where we had come from, what flight we came in on and asked us about our travels.
Ms. Pao and Mr. Chai helped us coordinate a mo-ped (an absolute must-do on the island as its <$10 a day and you can find all sorts of amazing secluded beaches and the requisite coconut smoothie and iced coffee selling beach bars) a cooking class, and even prepared some flowers in our room for my girlfriend and my anniversary the first night. The morning breakfasts are top notch although personally I would love some authentic Thai options as well.
Our room was clean, tidy and well put together. It looks exactly like the rooms in all the picture. It was definitely refreshing to get exactly what we thought we were getting. Theres a good lockbox in the room as well as a mini-fridge and the a/c works fantastically.
Other than the small breakfast complaint (more authentic dishes :-) ) I have not a single bad thing to say about the Mermaid. Ms. Pao and Mr. Chai provided us with everything we need included help getting to and from the hotel. The Mermaid and its propiertors will be a fond memory of our time in Thailand for years to come.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the mountains are perhaps quieter, but the island quiets down much earlier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

It's all been said before but my husband and I loved it here. I miss the delicious breakfasts, the smell of essential oils in the lobby, the frangipanis in the water pots just outside, the library of books to choose from, and we miss the kindness of the staff. We miss Boan the resident rescue dog too! I began to wish we could just move in! Maybe there are cheaper or posher hotels in Lanta but this place is special and lovely and you will see why when you go there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Lanta Mermaid with its beautiful, spotless clean bedrooms, great bathrooms (best shower I had in Thailand, with decent water pressure) and the excellent service. We want to thank Chai and Pau for their excellent recommendations and their helpfulness. Everything was taken into action immediately if we had any requests and we really felt cared for. Their reliability is extraordinary, I was impressed.

We were happy about the opportunity to borrow beach mats and towels, they were offered us right at the check-in. It was also very nice to be surprised every day with different selections of fruits. If you needed anything (tours, activities, restaurant recommendations, scooters) Chai and Pau took care of.

The Klong Dao beach is located in 5 minutes walking distance and is stunning. It is not over-crowded and has very nice beach restaurants and beach bars. Ban Saladan is 15 minutes walking distance away with shops and many seafood restaurants. We didn't feel constrained or bothered by the rules in which we were instructed at the check-in (e.g. no shoes in the room, no use of coloured tiger balm) since we thought they were reasonable.

All in all, we would absolutely recommend Lanta Mermaid as stay for Ko Lanta, if you look for a beautiful, comfortable place with excellent and kind service.

Room Tip: We had a room with mountain view. The balcony is very small, but view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jihe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at Lanta Mermaid last week and had a wonderful stay! The rooms are unbelievably clean the the service is impeccable. It is located across the road from a great beach which was very convenient.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, the food (we only had breakfast) was great. I had the best fresh mango I have ever tasted one day at breakfast. I can't say enough about the service... they set up all of our tours and our moped and ensured we had a great time while on the island. I strongly recommend Lanta Mermaid!
At first I was a little surprised by the rules and recommendations they set forth on your arrival - I came to realize (and respect) that these things are set forth to ensure you have a great stay, the place remains clean, and with the fragile environment in mind. I really respected that.
Thanks again Chai and his staff, you do great work and we loved our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Extremely clean and well run hotel. The staff is very helpful and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and help you with any needs you might have. It is on a busy road but we were not bothered by it and it led into the town which had shops and restaurants.
Overall an excellent hotel. It made our trip to Koh Lanta very special.

Room Tip: I thought all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulunsalo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Lanta Mermaid and really enjoy to stay there. Hotel is small and very cozy. Rooms are nicely decorated and breakfast were excellent. The service was very friendly and helpful. Only little minus was that we had the beach view room and rooms are next to the road, where traffic was little bit noisy, but it quiets down at night time. Hotel is only few minutes walk to beach. We rented a scooter from hotel and it was nice way to see the whole island and other beaches. Through the hotel it is easy to arrange ferry tickets and transport /pick up.
Definitely will stay again on next visit to Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
5.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Property: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing