We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden and surroundings beautiful, but ....”
Review of SriLanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SriLanta Resort
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice resort with beautiful romantic garden. Friendly staff!
Restaurant very good but inefficient and uncomfortable to sit, as there are no chairs only cushions beside low tables. The only normal tables with chairs are outside and after 8 am in the sun, no shade available!
Bungalow atmosphere nice but absolutely uncomfortable: very hard bed (we had to ask for additional soft layer) no chairs only cushions to sit on the floor. Very small cupboard to store stuff, little space!l
Beach: not enough beach beds . You have to reserve your beach bed before 9 am. Lack of shade.
Resort not recommended for people who are not fit to cross the road and climb up the steep steps and path to reach the bungalows. Not recommended for guests looking for comfort. Koh Lanta is Islamic island and you hear the muezzin calling every morning at about 0530am

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saree P, Public Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to right this review.

It is great to hear you enjoyed our large grounds and friendly staff. I will pass your comments on to them all. However we are sorry to hear you did not appreciate our Japanese Zen low setting arrangement in Surya Restaurant and in the villas. You will be happy to know we are planning to build a larger shaded area with western style setting in Surya for the next season.

Southern Thailand is largely populated by Thai Muslims and chanting takes place 5 times a day on Koh Lanta. Generally this is very brief and not loud.

Thank you again for your review.
Kindest regards from the team at Srilanta Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were looking forward to relax and do nothing after a hectic trip but this was far from the idyllic place we hoped for. The beach didn't disappoint but the resort did.

The beach is beautiful and nicely secluded (the absence of crowds is a big plus in high season) but the place feels a bit old and has that certain 'family country club' atmosphere, definitely not the honey moon type. The rooms are horribly far away from it all and the climbing is tiring. You go to the beach in the morning and take everything with you, there's no way you'd want to return before sleep time (don't pay for the bigger room when you'll only use it to sleep!). Also, what's the point in having balconies with no view and a table in a room where you'll never have room service (the restaurant is literally on the sand!).

The pool felt small and overcrowded, so many inflatable toys for kids that there was no room for adults. The beach area is lovely, but you have to get there before breakfast to find a chaise long. The beach bar was great and the sand bags too, good for the garden as well as for the sea. The food was good but the service not so much, sometimes a long wait before anyone came. The yoga classes were overpriced, the sunsets absolutely spectacular.

All and all, not so good value for money. If you are looking for paradise, keep looking.

Room Tip: Get the cheapest room you find: they are all so far away that you won't spend time in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saree P, Public Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to right this review.

We absolutely 100% agree that this is one very beautiful beach that our bar, restaurant and communal garden area are all lucky to be located on. Sunsets are indeed beautiful!
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the two separate zones the resort dwells on, the stroll up to the hillside villas can be tough if you forget an item in your room.

During peak season the resort does have a different feel to it and we apologize if this was not what you were looking for. The resort gets a lot more children and family’s staying here over this period due to Christmas holidays Dec 20 - Jan 20.

Kindest regards from the team at Srilanta Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Sri Lanta and loved it. The staff are a very special bunch who really made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. I was traveling with my 3 year old daughter and with my parents who have some mobility issues, they were immediately given a room closer to the beach and every consideration. We found Sri Lanta to be really child-friendly the pool and beach are wonderful and is a really spacious place to run around. The beach is beautiful, with white fluffy sand and clear blue water, and quite separate from the rest of Klong Nin beach. What make Sri lanta really special is the beautitful grounds, maincured lawns and stunning Thai wooden buildings. The food is fantastic, and we gave up eating anywhere else on the island (except Pad Thai Rock'n'roll- must go there). And finally the best happy hour- Piña coladas are a must!
Sri Lanta is a really special place. Thanks again to the wonderful staff who made our time there so special! We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue you can request a room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saree P, Public Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear reviewer

We are so happy to hear your fantastic feedback from your time at SriLanta Resort.

The restaurant staff and bar staff will be happy to hear you enjoyed the menu and our Piña coladas. Than k you also for the comments on the maintenance of the garden. We place a lot of importance on the grounds and beach looking great!
We really thank you for taking the time to write these positive comments and hope for the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to SriLanta sometime very soon.

Kindest regards from the team at Srilanta Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here once before about ten years ago and really enjoyed it. Not much has changed and it's still really nice.

The public areas, including the restaurant and pool are right on the beautiful beach and are really lovely and relaxing. The perfect place to spend the day and not too busy despite the hotel being full.

Rooms are nice in a 'posh hut' kind of style. Our bathroom was a bit scruffy, but otherwise the room was good and we had a nice verandah overlooking the jungle / forest.

Breakfast and service was good.

We were there for new years eve, so we were forced to do the meal / entertainment, as seems to be the way in Thailand, which I really don't agree with but was included in the up-front cost of the room. The cost worked out to be about $100 per person, which I think is extortionate for Thailand. The hotel did make a decent effort though and the floating market theme was very nice, as was the food. We didn't love the 3+ hours entertainment though, but it wasn't too bad.

My only warning about Sri Lanta is that all rooms are up a steep, cobbled hill, so you need to be vaguely fit / able-bodied to get up there!

Definitely recommended if you want to relax.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the resort are quite close to the road so you'd get a bit of traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We did read the reviews before going and noticed some bad ones, however this did not put us off as I have learned over time that trip advisor has become the place for people come to moan....
The hotel is amazing, the traditional bungalows in the jungle are fabulous and we shared ours with gekko's and even a lizard.
Excellent value for money, lovely pool and beach and great sunsets. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are fabulous and cannot do enough for you.
Yes the bungalows are up some steps and a slight hill, yes its hot in Thailand ..... isnt that why we go there?
Breakfast is great and the restaurant serves great food, you can try other places, we did, but we found that although there were cheaper options they were not as good quality and taste as that of the restaurant.
We will be returning next year and cannot recommend this hotel enough, thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I spent here 6 night together with my husband. We found nicely zen feel decorated resort, with fantastic beach, nice pool, number of sun beds and cool restaurant.

We decided for this resort based on pictures of Asia style cottages. Unfortunately as our room was closed to road and we did not want to hear to traffic noise, receptionist offered us Western style room as an only other option (we were told that all cottages are full). This was big disappointment as we really liked style of cottages. Anyway room was nice but with such a thin walls that we could not sleep at all.

Big positive of resort is definitely breakfast. Nice relaxing restaurant, great choice, very tasty stuff with sea view as a bonus. We enjoyed it very much.

Happy hour is a great deal. 120 Bath for good mix drinks. You can find other happy hour promotions on beach bars but you will save max 20 Bath and you get lemonade instead of alcohol ;-). Stay at Sri Lanta bar and enjoy drink with sunset.

We also had a dinner here (20%off promotion for Asian dishes). It was still pricey but tasted great and staff was lovely.

Yoga lesson for 500 Bath was another disappointment. I was willing to pay but 500 Bath .... What a pity! This is perfect place for yoga ....

To explore island, all beaches, Old Town, sea gipsy or great street food or markets, you need a bike. Do not worry, if you ride slowly and respect other drivers, it is safety. And great fun. Resort is nice but real Thailand is outside :-)

Room Tip: If you book cottage in advance, make sure that you get one in the garden, not close to road. It is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed for three nights at this lovely resort which had the reception, bar and restaurant right on the beach. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast was full of many choices to suit all tastes. However this hotel was quite a distance from the airport, taking two and half hours and two ferry rides to get there. It also had the highest prices for drinks at the bar that I paid in my whole visit to Thailand. This was offset a little by a happy hour for cocktails, offering two for one.

The rooms were bungalows set in the hillside across the road and behind the main part of the hotel. Although they were clean, of a good size and perfectly adequate, the interiors were a little tired and dated with very poor lighting. The water pressure in the shower was only just ok as was the heat. My bungalow was a good five minute walk from the beach, up two small but very steep flights of steps and then quite a steep hill. had I researched this hotel before I arrived I would not have stayed here because of the difficulty of getting to the room. If you have any mobility issues or get short of breath climbing a short hill then this is not the place for you to stay.

Room Tip: The nearer the road the better, because of the steep hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
6.1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
468 reviews
5.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
603 reviews
8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 85 in Ko Lanta
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
3.8 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#7 of 85 in Ko Lanta
490 reviews
8 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SriLanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SriLanta Resort

Address: 111, Moo 6 | Klongnin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $35 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SriLanta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SriLanta Resort - Oriental in style, this resort has been created fully in tune with its tranquil island surroundings. The resort's approach is one of subtle simplicity, offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. The resort is ideally located as a base for diving and snorkeling excursions to the neighboring islands of Koh Rok, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Ngai, Koh Mook and Koh Kradan. Accommodation - Each of the "island style" rustic villas are spread over the hillside (across a quiet road) that opens up behind SriLanta among lush tropical vegetation and temple flower trees. SriLanta offers guests 65 stand-alone villas, 17 deluxe rooms, 2 Beach House rooms and 2 Mandara House rooms. Minimalist in style with thoughtfully designed natural furnishings and equipped with essential amenities. This is as close to nature as you can get. Enjoy the privacy and tranquility of our resort with a beautiful white sand beach at your front door, and the natural bushland at your back. We offer the best of both worlds at Sri Lanta. See you soon! (*Villas are located up a quiet hillside while the resorts pool, beach chairs, restaurants and bar are located on the beach front). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SriLanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing