We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic for Sri Lanta of the past”
Review of SriLanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SriLanta Resort
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nostalgic for Sri Lanta of the past”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at Sri Lanta in November 2013 and in November 2004. Obviously being a beach front resort, the weather can play havoc with any property, but in the 9 years since my return, the resort is truly in need of some tender loving care. The staff at Sri Lanta was lovely and very accommodating. The food, while pricey compared to the beach offerings, is prepared expertly and you are given a large amount of choices.

What I was surprised about during this stay was that the rooms feel old, outdated and were definitely not clean. Because the resort was almost fully booked, I was accommodated in a beach front house. As a solo traveler, I felt a bit unsafe in this 2-bedroom ground level house that was cut off from the resort, but completely open to the beach front. Additionally it seemed as if the house had not be cleaned in months. Spiderwebs occupied various parts of the bathroom. The trash can was full of someone else's trash and the blinds in some of the rooms had been broken and sloppily repaired. The air conditioner remote in the main bedroom was broken so there was no temperature adjustment available and I had to stand on the bed to turn it off and on.

Overall I had a pleasant stay and the common areas at Sri Lanta are what you should consider for this property. The beautiful pool, stunning beach front access, the lounge chairs and umbrellas. If you're not planning on spending much time in your room, as I did not, then the location is something to consider.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldHealthTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are sorry to hear that your return to Srilanta Resort did not live up to your expectations. Your comments are invaluable to us and assist us in constantly improving every aspect of the services Srilanta offers. We will discuss your feedback about the villas with the managers and do our best to improve.
It is great to hear you still enjoyed the front of the resort and had a pleasant stay.
Best regards,

The team at Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    358
    115
    68
    38
See reviews for
149
601
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in November and loved the place. Public areas of the hotel are stunning and evening yoga classes facing sunset gives sun salutation its true meaning. Food is very nice, rooms are big and clean with AC and deco is nice and sober. I had a room with a lovely view and a balcony. The spa is set outdoors in the garden and you get a truly relaxing experience. I went there on my own after the girlfriend I was supposed to come with had an emergency. The staff made me feel very welcome and everyone was very friendly and really got out of their way to make my stay very special. Muay- the lady at the desk- even mailed me back the glasses and book I forgot in the room after I left- try that one in Europe !!!!!
So yes I agree with the other reviewers it is slightly pricier than your average resort in Thailand but the service definitely makes it worth the extra money but as a lady travelling on my own, it felt like a real treat

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thanks for the great review. We are happy to hear you enjoy the Koh Lanta sunsets as much as we do. It is great to get some feedback on our friendly staff and our Sri Spa experience.
Best regards,

The team at Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The public areas of the hotel are very nice. Even though it rained for four days during our stay (everyone said this was very odd for mid november) we didn't get cabin fever because we were able to camp out in the covered open air areas. Great full breakfast every morning. Pool is very nice but very small. Lots of seating along the beach which is a stones throw from the main reception area. Rooms were fine. We started in one room much further up the hill and then asked to be moved to a closer room which they accommodated for us on the second day. Rooms have AC (at least both of the one we stayed in did), but when you take a key with you the power goes off in the unit. In our first room, the mini fridge also turned off, but in our second room the mini fridge was on a dedicated circuit. Beds in both rooms were quite firm, especially by American standards. Two free bottles of water everyday. Nice big shower, but not a lot of hot water, as there is a small electric water heater for each shower to control temperature. good happy hour at the beachside bar. Had dinner at the restaurant once, it was nothing special. Ate out for dinners the rest of the trip.

Overall we really liked the experience here, but it is more on the rustic side. If it hadn't have been raining so much we probably would have spent most of our time lounging in their beach area.

Room Tip: The rooms are separate private "cabins" outfitted with bed, tv, mini fridge, AC, bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed both our rustic villas and beach front area. We are sorry that the rain gods did not look after you during your stay.
Best regards,

The team at Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Last year we were here during Christmas. The hotel is really expensive for Thailand prices and if you have a cose look, everything is almost broken and dirty. We had booked this room 6 months up front and still we had the worst cottage without view, because it was placed directly next to the other home. After changing to a new home the personel were so unfriendly to us.The restaurant employees where not friendly and helpful and after we decided to check out after 2 nights, suddenly our trip to Koh Rock was cancelled as well. Mandatory Christmas dinner for 130EUR per person was terrible. Don't go here. Terrible and sad Christmas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adevriess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Public Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

You will be happy to hear that the resort has gone through some changes since last season. As you can see from most of the reviews of Srilanta this year, our staff generally carry smiles with them everywhere and the guests enjoy their friendly nature.

Best regards,
The team at Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We spend eight days in the Sri Lanta resort and while we really enjoyed Ko Lanta the resort wasn't always great.
It already started at check in which wasn't very welcoming. Make sure you bring a printout of your booking otherwise the front desk lady gets grumpy. We didn't get any information on the resort, breakfast times, spa whatsoever.
The rooms are simple but clean and cozy. Make sure to bring a sleeping mask if you're sensitive to light at night. The windows don't have proper shades and the lights outside of the rooms are super bright and stay switched on all night. Also the AC is quite old and doesn't really cool down the room although for us that wasn't a problem.
The restaurant staff is very friendly and attentive and the food is good but slightly overpriced compared to the other restaurants on Ko Lanta. Breakfast is good, too, but lacks some variety after a couple of days.
The layout of the resort is really nice and they have a beautiful pool. There are enough sun chairs and cushions lined up along the beach but it feels a little crowded when they're all taken.
The resort is a little away from the main hustle and bustle of Ko Lanta but they rent out scooters for very cheap and don't check if you've a license with you. Otherwise there are always tuktuks in front of the resort.
Summing up I would say that we would probably look for a different resort when we come back to Ko Lanta just because there are many alternatives where the staff maybe is a little more welcoming and value for money is better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TiToWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Sri Lanta resort for a week's getaway in November.

The first hurdle was to arrange the transfer between Krabi airport and Sri Lanta resort, and we had read on TA before that the easiest way to do this is through the (respective) resort. We contacted the Sri Lanta Resort over email and got quoted 1500BHT per person and way for a shared van, and 3500BHT for a private transport alternative. Lacking time and more information we accepted these prices, but as we became aware when getting on site the prices we got quoted (and paid) for the transfer were very hefty. The "actual" price for a transfer between Koh Lanta and Krabi turned out to be 350-400BHT per person for a shared van (about 25% of our of previously quoted price!) and 2500BHT for a private one. The explanation we got was that we had contacted the hotels admin centre instead of the hotel itself, although this was the only address on the homepage. We could not get a discount and we left with a feeling of being tricked. Overall the prices for trips, transfer and other things felt "salted" on this hotel compared to the neighbouring resorts.

The staff in the main desk were friendly and helpful. The room we got was decent but since it's made out of wood it felt a bit like a shed (there were about half-centimeter wide gaps in the outer wall). The first thing we did when we got our room was to clean the mosquito net over the bed -- we literarily had hundreds of dead mosquitos and spiders collected like a starlit sky above the bed. A bed which unfortunately also was very squeaky. Although we used the air-condition the room always felt moist, and there was a feeling of being "outdoors" or as living in a tent.

We spent most of our time sunbathing by the beach, and the sun chairs and umbrella were good and there was enough of them to go around so you didn't have to compete for them. The beach itself was fine but "normal", do not expect white corral sand or snorkelling from the resort. Unfortunately, there is a roughly 70 meters long necklace of rocks about 15 meters out from the shore line. In low tide the rocks were prohibitive and you could only take the most shallow dip unless you walked a few minutes up the beach.

To get a nice snorkelling and corral sand experience we went on two separate excursions with the "green" company. (There are three companies offering practically the same tours for the same price). We are very happy with these trips, and we would recommend taking them if you like to try snorkelling even though they are 1700BTH per person.

The food at the resort restaurant was the best we found in the area, but the prices were considerably higher than the competition. Many of the dishes at the resort were 180-200BHT while at neighbouring restaurants they were 100-120BHT. A fruit shake at the resort was about 130BHT at the resort and about 70BHT nearby. We found the neighbouring Miami restaurant to have the best balance between quality of food and prices. There was a quite large language barrier at the restaurant and we constantly got the wrong orders. Mostly minor things though, like the wrong fruit shake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guests
We apologize for the confusion over the transfers. We would like to clear this up.
Our Bangkok Office offers transfers with our Srilanta private van service only which is 1,500 per person. We do not offer the local island minivan service from our sales office because this service is unreliable and consistently changes its time table throughout the year (and any changes are out of our control). The price difference is due to one being private and taking 2.5 hours and the other can be a little squashed and takes 3.5 hours (depending on how many guests they stop and pick up). Guests at the resort can book the 400 Baht public van or the private van of the resorts. We hope this helps clarify any confusion.

It is great to hear you enjoyed Surya Restaurant and some of the fantastic day trips you can do off Koh Lanta.

Best regards,

The team at Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked this because it got a good review score, looked lovely and seemed to be in a quieter part of the Island. It is actually quite a distance from the main 'City'and to improve their service I think a pick up at the pier would add to what they offer. We got a taxi instead and it's about a half hr drive. Admittedly we weren't on Ko Lanta long enough to really appreciate the island and we wished we had hired a motorbike to get around but we made the most of the resort and surrounding areas and had a wonderful couple of days regardless. On arrival at the hotel we were delighted with how gorgeous the place looked. The public areas and pool, bar, restaurant etc just look so relaxing and inviting. From the get go we were extremely well looked after. Staff were helpful and friendly throughout. On check in we were offered tea and a cold wet towel. We had booked a star path villa, and I underestimated the climb! Two guys carried our luggage and God love them they were checking if we were Ok! This climb is not for the faint hearted. On arrival at the room I thought I might have an asthma attack lol. The room was nice but not what was expected. I felt that it could have been cleaner, there was no Bath on the verandah as expected and lots of bugs! I don't mind a few, particularly given the jungle setting, but we didn't feel we could cope with that or the climb so I very uncharacteristically asked for a room change. The manager was really accommodating and sent Louis to show us another room first to make sure we were happy with it. For the same price we were offered what they call a Mandara house, half way down the hill. It was gorgeous, large bedroom, living room, 2 bathrooms and towels designed into a heart on the bed so it must have been a honeymoon suite. Louis moved our luggage again and helped us out more than once during our stay. So it was straight to the pool and beach and both were wow. We acquired the bean bags to relax on. The beach bar has a nice vibe to it and is just lovely for your evening meal. Food and drinks were good, though pricy by Thailand standard if not our own. The staff were fantastic, particularly one whose name was pronounced Ma. She was too cute. At around 9 pm they have a lovely touch of allowing couples to set off Chinese Lanterns at no extra cost. I loved this. The resort just felt very romantic and we were sorry we didn't stay longer. We walked along the beach one night and sampled other resorts, which was just amazing. I didn't try the spa which was too highly priced. We did book the 4 Islands tour and got picked up at the hotel and dropped right to our next hotel on Koh Hai. The trip was great and it was even better that we got our transfer out of it too. I would highly recommend this resort but research your room and the height to it! Room 333 is perfect. Good size, shower and huge Bath, tea and coffee, mini bar/fridge, safety box, bathroom amenities, good air con in the bedroom and living room, lovely living area with widescreen tv on the wall and easy walk to the pool etc

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Public Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this wonderful review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the relaxing feel of the island as much as we do. It is also nice to know you liked your stay in our Mandara House despite the walk up the hill.

Your kind comments will be passed on to our staff.

Kind regards

From the Team at Srilanta Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
5.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
8.0 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
8.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SriLanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SriLanta Resort

Property: SriLanta Resort
Address: 111 Moo 6, Klongnin Beach | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SriLanta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SriLanta Resort - Oriental in style, this resort has been created fully in tune with its tranquil island surroundings. The resort's approach is one of subtle simplicity, offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. The resort is ideally located as a base for diving and snorkeling excursions to the neighboring islands of Koh Rok, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Ngai, Koh Mook and Koh Kradan. Accommodation - Each of the "island style" rustic villas are spread over the hillside (across a quiet road) that opens up behind SriLanta among lush tropical vegetation and temple flower trees. SriLanta offers guests 65 stand-alone villas, 17 deluxe rooms, 2 Beach House rooms and 2 Mandara House rooms. Minimalist in style with thoughtfully designed natural furnishings and equipped with essential amenities. This is as close to nature as you can get. Enjoy the privacy and tranquility of our resort with a beautiful white sand beach at your front door, and the natural bushland at your back. We offer the best of both worlds at Sri Lanta. See you soon! (*Villas are located up a quiet hillside while the resorts pool, beach chairs, restaurants and bar are located on the beach front). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SriLanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing