We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly locale but Service on the decline”
Review of SriLanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SriLanta Resort
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Heavenly locale but Service on the decline”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Good:
The location is truly heavenly. The beach is secluded, the waves were bit high for swimming but the sunsets by the pool are truly breathtaking. We stayed here a total of 5days 4 nights, and often in the evening would see non-guests/restaurant-goers just walking in, mesmerised by the sunset. The villa we stayed in was a climb, but it was a trade-off for the privacy and tranquility. The well-prepared food at the restaurant, matched with low season prices, truly made it a delight to dine at the restaurant. The restaurant staff were also wonderful, attentive and very caring to our needs.

The Not-so-good:
The term Eco hotel is really to be taken with a pinch of salt. It is unfortunately only "Eco-looking" at the surface. There is a lot of wood, coconut, and cloth used to cover up sub-standard fixtures like wire hangers, soap dispenser bottles, and the liquid soap itself is poor quality, unlike natural and truly eco-friendly glycerin soaps. The bar soaps given to every room was also cleared out everyday after housekeeping, and not replaced, leading me to wonder if it was some bizarre hotel policy, or some kind of eco-practice.

Getting to Koh Lanta from Krabi Airport is also quite a journey, with minivan rides and two car-ferry transfers that took about 3 hrs in total. But this was in low season where the boat transfers were not operational.

The Bad:
Unfortunately the beautiful location and settings, was marred slightly by the two main managing attendants, one of them named Marlene and another male Caucasian manager. Often, we were met with dour expressions, curt responses, disdainful glances and on occasions totally ignored while passing them at the stairs. While we don't expect to be treated like kings, it was really bad to simply brisk by hotel guests without any acknowledgement, or a simple, Hello.

Begrudgingly, we also saw Marlene was more open and friendly to other guests, who were non Asians. This was observed, while were seated on the benches right opposite the main desk, where the demeanour went from frigid to animated and friendly. Rather confused and turned off by this double-standard, we kept our contact minimal throughout the rest of the stay. The Thai staff however greeted us warmly, even from a distance. We have stayed in both high end and low establishments, but for the first time actually made to feel unwanted by the hotel staff, for basic enquiries. To us, it was not about the formality of service at all, but simply the sincerity.

Conclusion:
I would return to SriLanta. As mentioned the location is beautiful, and the Koh Lanta area is quite explorable by either rented car or scooter. There are many other parts of the islands, and tours, which occupied us plenty during our stay.

Low season Vs High Season has its own trade-offs. Of course, there will be significantly less guests, and you do get to enjoy lower prices, but the travel sans boat transfer is something you have to be mentally prepared for.

Room Tip: Star Path Villa is quite romantic and private, but be prepared for a climb, which at some parts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are happy to hear you enjoy the sunsets at Surya Restaurant as much as we do. I will pass on your kind comments about the general staff to all of our team. I will also pass your comments on about our Front Office staff and Assistant Mgr. Generally we pride ourselves on friendly service, therefore your comments will be taken earnestly.

We are glad you enjoyed our idyllic hillside villas, which certainly have their rustic charm.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Best regards
The Team @ Srilanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    366
    116
    68
    38
See reviews for
151
610
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at a different hotel just a few doors down but Sri Lanta is absolutely gorgeous. I was drawn to it's perfect grounds and pristine design. Loved the gorgeous spa, hammocks and pool. The rooms were up in the hills, and looked really special.
We came here for dinner and a fire show one night, which was a nice change up.
I would definitely stay here if I ever go back to Ko Lanta. It's also in an awesome location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julduva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are very happy to read that you loved your brief Srilanta experience; we will pass your kind comments on to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Srilanta Resort and Spa sometime soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

A Eco hotel with bungalows climbing up the mountain. Close to the lovely beach but you have to climb the stairs!! Thai style bungalows, mist of them with a great seaview and surrounded by a lovely garden well taken care of!! Trees was growing up through our veranda/balcony. The hotelarea was a lovely mix of chinese/thai with serveral places for reading/ relaxing. A real "ECO thai" hotel but not for people struggeling with their knee/legs, the stairs up to the lovely cottages is quite tough..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagottoromagnolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been stayed at Sri Lanta resort for 3 days and 2 nights. Once we reached Koh Lanta Yai. We had no book any transport before. Then we called to the resort for advised. The staff said that they would picked up us at Saladan (meeting point). After that we knew that they charged us for pick up service later on. I think resort should be inform us as we called at the first time. Then we have asked the motorbike rental rate for well planned for the second day.
On the second day, we went to reception and asked for motorbike rental. They gave us a motorbike key without any information. That's why I think they need service improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanawut GoOd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saree P, Public Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are sorry to hear that our service was not up to standard during your stay. We will take your comments seriously and look to improve.

Best regards,
From the team at Srilanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Amazing calm resort and the best we have seen in ko Lanta as trendiness and staff service.

I recommend every couple to stay their for a week as We did.
The Staff are so kind and trained well how to satisfy the customers, they are absolutely Perfect.

We stayed 6 nights had amazing daily thai meals 3 times a day at the same place as we have found out that it is the cleanest and most tasty sea food menu over all.

Thanks allot to All Srilanta Team , We loved them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank samer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer
We are happy to hear your stay at Srilanta Resort was to your satisfaction. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff about their friendly service and to the head chef at Surya Restaurant.
Thank you for selecting Srilanta for your holiday and we hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,
From the Team @ Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sri Lanta for 10 days, there were 14 of us, and everyday we were greeted with such beautiful smiles and friendly service. Sri Lanta is a fantastic spot to explore the island from, the beaches near the national park are beautiful, there are some great sunset views too, plus the restaurants along the beach from the resort have fantastic food and are very good value for money. The foot massages are great too! Sri Lanta makes the best smoothies and happy hour around the pool is definitely recommended. Our rooms we're serviced everyday, we were lucky to have one fairly close to the hotel as it can be a bit of a hike otherwise. We loved the peace and tranquility. Thank you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review and for your kind comments about our friendly staff and Surya’s great smoothies!
We hope to be able to welcome you ALL back in the near future, hopefully for a little bit longer next time ; )

Thank you,
Best regards, From the Team @ Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location and wonderful service.

Only things would be shower pressure and mosquitos. Just bring some coils as this place is well worth it.

I will be going back and recommending this place to all friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saschavdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srilanta, Guest Relations Manager at SriLanta Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to hear you were not totally satisfied with the water pressure in the bathrooms, but happy the friendly staff and the design of the resort lived up to its reputation.

Thank you,
Best regards, From the Team @ Srilanta Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
5.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
8.0 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
7.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
407 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
1.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SriLanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SriLanta Resort

Property: SriLanta Resort
Address: 111 Moo 6, Klongnin Beach | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SriLanta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SriLanta Resort - Oriental in style, this resort has been created fully in tune with its tranquil island surroundings. The resort's approach is one of subtle simplicity, offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. The resort is ideally located as a base for diving and snorkeling excursions to the neighboring islands of Koh Rok, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Ngai, Koh Mook and Koh Kradan. Accommodation - Each of the "island style" rustic villas are spread over the hillside (across a quiet road) that opens up behind SriLanta among lush tropical vegetation and temple flower trees. SriLanta offers guests 65 stand-alone villas, 17 deluxe rooms, 2 Beach House rooms and 2 Mandara House rooms. Minimalist in style with thoughtfully designed natural furnishings and equipped with essential amenities. This is as close to nature as you can get. Enjoy the privacy and tranquility of our resort with a beautiful white sand beach at your front door, and the natural bushland at your back. We offer the best of both worlds at Sri Lanta. See you soon! (*Villas are located up a quiet hillside while the resorts pool, beach chairs, restaurants and bar are located on the beach front). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SriLanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing