We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nakara Long Beach Resort
Ranked #81 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were originally booked to stay two nights and we ended up booking two more! We had a nice little bungalow that was very private. The room was cleaned daily and the sheets were always changed and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the property was quiet. Great for couples and families! The beach was so private that we only shared it with maybe 5-10 other people on any given day. We enjoyed the massages by the beach and the location was wonderful. We rented scooters from the front desk and spent a whole day touring the island, it was incredible! Definitely a wonderful value- it's a must stay if you are visiting Ko Lanta.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_n_Sarah12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Nakara Long Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed at Nakara Long Beach Hotel on Koh Lanta from the 30th December 2011-4th Jan 2012.
Koh Lanta is a very quiet and chilled island where you got to really relax. it is an extremely loing beach which means that it si not crowded at all and you have heaps of space to yourself.
The hotel is nice, it is made up of heaps of villas. Our room was nice, not beautiful, but definitely functional and there was a lovely big balcony and the beds and pillows were nice.
The hotel has a nice pool nect to the lobby and thats where you can use the wifi. The massages at the hotel are great as well especially the chair you sit in by the pool when getting the foot massage (highly recommend - but not when there ar eheaps of kids by the pool!)
The only downside with this hotel was that there were no lounge chairs on the beach, you could get mats from reception but it is not as good as lounge chairs and umbrellas.

Breakfast was nice and there was a good selection including an omlete bar.
There are a couple of bars along the beach which you can walk to but we didnt find the food at these places that amazing. the BEST food was a little bit down the road, you have ot take a tuk tuk to get there (turn right out of the hotel) to a strip called Prah Ey (not sure if i spelt it right - more for the pronounciation), We went to a restaraunt called Papaya like 3 times as they have the BEST papaya salad and chicken Lab Gai. This strip has some seriously good food.
There wasnt very much ot do at night party wise but then again i guess we didnt look that hard as we really were there to chill out.

The staff at reception were nice and definitely tried to help but couldnt really speak english that well so it was very hard sometimes to get recommendations for day trips, restaraunts, sights etc.

We were there ove rnew years and the hotel put in a gala dinner which was fun. then there were amazing fireworks at the beach! its a nice place ot be over new years if you dont want to go absolutely crazy!
I would definitely reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in family bungalows (two connected rooms - double, twin beds) which was great but the view was not at all pleasing as I think all family bungalows/ connecting rooms are located beside the car park. So, if you want beachfront, you should request to the hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided (two types, for the room and also beach) which was great. The bed was hard though (I have always wondered what does it mean when reviewers say "hard beds"..now, I got it).

The family bungalows were only a short distance from the beach (Long beach), no problem for us. We loved strolling at the beach (clean beach and not crowded) and enjoyed the beautiful sunset. The children loved the pool which was always not crowded. The surroundings of the main building was well kept but I was dissapointed with the cleanliness around the resort in general...rubbish and broken furniture everywhere. Nakara should make extra effort there!

Breakfast was so-so with a mixture of western and asian food. We did not try lunch or dinner there as we preferred better choice at Saladan town. We had a car and travelling was not a problem.

In general, the location was good (Long beach was great), rooms are spacious and clean (make your requests beforehand). Better food elsewhere though. If you have own transport, try other beaches as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InazKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had to change our room because of a major rat problem in the first room. There was a hole in the wall which we at first didn't pay much attention to. Then we heard noises from the roof but thought they were cats chasing geckos. Then noises in the walls and floor... but it wasn't until 1 AM on the first night when we suddenly heard something rattling in the waste bin. And when I turned on the lights there was a big rat in the middle of the room staring at us and then vanishing behind the fridge. These are not the kind of surprises you expect especially when travelling with children.

So we changed the room that night to a new one which was ratless. But the next day after complaining about the matter to the management we got transferred to a better beach front bungalow. And what do we find on the floor? Rat droppings under the beds of course! So we called the janitor to come and take a look and he found two holes in the walls right behind the beds, only this time the holes seemed man made, probably for electric sockets but never used and left open. They fixed the holes and threw rat poison under the house and told us it's OK.

So if you like rodents, you will loooove this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni-Worldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you are looking for what Nakara has to offer, there's really not much point in going to Thailand. It is basically a nondescript resort with almost exclusively western tourists, at prices that are appropriate for a mid-range Florida beach resort but outrageous by Thai standards.

Koh Lanta has has some pretty good food in town, but what we had at the resort was poor - the shrimp cocktail were not fresh, despite delicious shrimp being available at the restaurants in town for half the price - and the breakfast food appeared to have been bought from 7-11 and microwaved.

Ultimately, despite having paid a non-refundable $350 for a New Year's Eve beach bungalow (very little privacy and non-functional hot water) and gala dinner, we decided to cut our losses and check out early. Management did seem to be at all concerned about our poor experience. We went to a place on a different island with much more Thai character, a beautiful setting and delicious food, all for 15% of the price of Nakara.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AST12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location on long beach, lovely pool. We stayed during peak season so were expecting a busy pool and beach, the beach was very quiet and lovely. Food at the pool restaurant was reasonable. Breckfast was ok, this could easily be improved with more types of cerial and breads, but it was adequate.

We stayed in a deluxe room, which was lovely, however know that some of the lower class rooms are no where near as nice, so do bear this in mind when booking. It's probably better to pay a bit more upfront.

I was very pleased with the resort and staff and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very basic and not close to the beach. The deluxe rooms were modern standalone hu...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madridaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Similar experience to many other reviews. Awesome beach, great location close to palm beach divers and resturants to the right of Nakara. There were fun bar staff (unfortunately their english was pretty non existant, but not a terrible problem) and a few of the junior staff (bangs, vee, phoebe) were always smiling and friendly. BUT....

Arrived and given one of the rooms: NO A/C as it it had been ripped off the wall. 2nd room, the bathroom was undergoing some repairs. 4 hrs to get proper rooms. Next day aircon in new room breaks down. Every single time the reception man or lady was absolutely useless, could not give a care in the world and quite frankly was close to getting a knuckle sandwich from eventually irrate customers. I saw no less than 4 different groups checking out the same or next day after their arrival. Unfortunately, the maintanance and housekeeping staff had to deal with most of the problems that are caused by the absolutely incompetent idiots at reception.

When checking out, they attempted to scam us by including our transfers and prepaid rooms into our bar and restuarant bill. I saw the family owners, who had special guests over xmas. They were being followed on hand and foot and given special treatment - and they were not paying for their stay.

Nakara, get you act together. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazzabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nakara Long Beach Resort
Nakara Long Beach Resort
#73 of 84 in Ko Lanta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Lanta Palm Beach Resort
Lanta Palm Beach Resort
#68 of 84 in Ko Lanta
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakara Long Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakara Long Beach Resort

Address: 120 Moo 3, Long Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $28 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nakara Long Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nakara Long Beach Resort. located in a beautiful landscape of tropical sandy rocks-free beach. The resort is set in the midst of coconut and pine trees. It offers peaceful and relaxing atmosphere where travellers can be enjoying the warm sun and lying down watching crystal clear blue sea or walking along the island's finest sandy beach. There is minor renovation constantly goes on every season done by one of the island's most experienced hoteliers. The resort offers a relax welcome and sanctuary to those looking for peaceful on their perfect beach time holidays. It is ideal for couples, families or general travelers who seek to get in touch with charming nature, tropical breeze and sandy strip. No wonder why Nakara Long Beach Resort is the first choice that provides all you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Nakara Long Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakara Long Beach Resort Koh Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing