We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dream Team Beach Resort
Ranked #162 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and it was a really nice experience, the pool was great, we loved the rocky beach, which was very private and incredibly beautiful; there are also great walks you can do along the beach to beautiful little coves . Our room was spacious, clean and a really great price with breakfast included. I was surprised to see so many average reviews as we really enjoyed our stay and had a great time relaxing around the pool and beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaSparkles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    24
    20
    13
See reviews for
14
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We ended up booking this resort over Xmas as a last minute trip and needed 4 rooms for our gang. All in all the group was happy, alto there were definitely some issues. Hot water wasn't working in all the rooms when we arrived and took a few days for some of them to be fixed. WIFI was spotty , and not available in the rooms. There is an outside bathroom, so not unusual to see critters out there when you shower or use the toilets. Didn't bother me , but some of the gals didn't like spiders and such , which managed to make their way into the rooms. The seals around the front doors leave enough room for a small frog to get in.. or a large spider.
The beach was rocky at low tide but good beaches are not far away, and the hotel provided a shuttle.
Overall the rooms were pricey but we were there at the highest rates of the season. Food was decent at the hotel, but there were some really great restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Probably a good idea to book plenty in advance with a big group if want some choice in where you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We did a road trip through southern Thailand and managed to stay at 3 different hotels in Koh Lanta in a 10-day period. This was our least favorite, but it was also the cheapest so I guess to some extent you get what you pay for. The hotel does have a nice view and it's right on the water, which is a plus, but there are craggy rocks right in front of the hotel and you have to walk down the beach a ways to find a place to swim....and not that you would necessarily want to swim--the beach was noticeably dirty compared to others on Koh Lanta and there was a small stream running into the ocean right next to the hotel that had me a bit concerned--you never know what is in those streams and whether they consist of another hotel's "grey water" or worse... Anyway, we didn't feel that comfortable spending too much time swimming in the sea at this hotel.

The room was ok but a bit musty. The restaurant was fine--right on the water, so it had a good view, but the food was really pretty bad. In fact, we sort of came to the assumption by the end that they had Burmese kitchen staff trying to cook Thai and Western food, and the results were not great. There's just no excuse for serving bad Thai food in Thailand!

Was it ok for a cheap-ish place to stay for a night when we couldn't get a booking anywhere else? Definitely. But in this price range, and even on Klong Nin beach, there are much better options. We won't go back to this one...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

2nd time on Lanta, which is such a lovely island. The average score here doesn't lie. It has the benefits described, of being in a quiet location, with a nice little pool, with a mini 'beach area' to compensate for the rocks that sit directly in fornt of the resort, and a few of the higher price bungalows having a sea front position, but it's simply a poorly run place. I genuinely don't beleive there's any malice or intent to underserve; the staff are curt and lack any sense of traditional Thai service (though one larger built guy who clearly didn't care what any 'farang' thought/said), but it seems more like the owners are kind of making it up as they go along. When we arrived, a European couple were going ballistic over the apparent removal of their belongings from their room; so that wasn't a good sign. We had room V1, a family suite (two double beds with a mini sitting area) but it faced the sea and that was all I wanted. The bungalow was a bit of a mess, with several ants nests in the bathroom, ripped sheets, threadbare towels etc, but that wasn't a major issue. Breakfast was really, really poor - better options elsewhere. Furniture in the dining area fell apart on me. It's that sort of place. But the view from the balcony was what we paid (a new year premium) for and that was good - loved exploring the rockpools with my sons late afternoon.

Keep expectations low, and this will do a job, but there are much, much better places here.

Tip: Laundry was a good price at the extremely understocked minimart (40B for wash and iron, whcih is very rare)

Room Tip: The Family Suite rooms (two of them) face the sea, as do the Premium suites. There are several pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

we booked the standard room, with fan. We dumped our luggage and left immediately and hired a scooter across the road, We didn't really look at the room until we came back. It was a disaster. The bathroom was full of hair and there was a layer of scum on the sink. We cleaned it ourselves and said ah well. Then we looked at the bed intending to sleep in it. There were ants in the bed, and ON the toilet and everywhere. The mosquito nets were hanging off the windows and the windows wouldn't close, ( from the windows that were there, some were missing)! The toilet leaked though and the water from the toilet gathered on the floor and couldn't get away. In summary, the location is bad, beach is just rocks, and rooms needed an upgrade years ago.

Room Tip: My tip is to book an aircon room because all will be sealed to conserve energy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The pool is by far the best thing here. It says deal team at the bottom has a slide and a waterfall! It was raining when me and my partner were here but we still swam in the pool., we just had to! The rooms were good size and Tv had English channels which was great. Bathroom was good size. Good view of the beach and overall nice service. Rooms were very clean also

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavieremp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The rooms are clean and spacious and are situated around a great swimmingpool, you can skip the beach, nothing but rocks and the restaurant has only a limited part of the menu they offer, there are for instance 5 fish dishes on the menu and a variety of steaks, we couldn't get any of them during our 3 nights stay so we went to the wonderful Cook Kai restaurant, only 10 minutes away from the resort by taxi/tuktuk.

The bar was closed (we stayed there during high season!) so you have to get your drinks at a loket which was very confusing because sometimes there was no staff member there and you had to walk to the restaurant area to ask if they could get someone overthere.

They have a free pendle service by minibus on certain times to Kantiang beach or up north, however, if you want to rent a scooter they send you up the road, when we got there all scooters were hired so what to do next, we walked up the road, after half an hour of waiting in the burning sun finally a tuktuk stopped, that's why it would be so much better if they would check first if there is a scooter available with a call from the reception so you have the opportunity to let them send for a tuktuk or a taxi.

They also reay should have someone to look after the pool for security reasons, on our first day 12 big girls arrived and took over the complete pool, they were screaming and shouting, playing competition games, climbing on eachothers shoulders and then jumped in backwards and they were drinking (glass!!) bottles of beer IN the pool!!

The other guest, even grown ups let alone parents with little children couldn't get into the pool without being jumped all over and these girls got away with it because no one of the staff did warn them and you could even hear them screaming at the reception area so they sure must have noticed it. They also didn't provide pooltowels so you have to use the towels from the bathroom but then you don't have a dry towel when you want to have a shower and have to go over to the reception to get a clean one.

To put it al together, it's such a shame because the resort realy looks lovely, as you can see from my pictures, the restaurant as wel as the pool are great to see, so take care of the menu, put a staf member and a bar at the pool and it would be great, as for now ; not again in my wildest dream(s) team!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#69 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
#49 of 145 in Ko Lanta
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Riviera Resort
Lanta Riviera Resort
#124 of 145 in Ko Lanta
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Veranda Lanta & Spa Resort
Veranda Lanta & Spa Resort
#78 of 145 in Ko Lanta
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#3 of 210 in Ko Lanta
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Chilli Bungalows
Green Chilli Bungalows
#69 of 210 in Ko Lanta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Team Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Team Beach Resort

Property: Dream Team Beach Resort
Address: 38 Moo 5, Koh Lanta Yai, Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Team Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Dream Team Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Team Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing