We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Team Beach Resort
Ranked #165 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our room was in the first row next to the pool. It was old, felt dirty and not comfortable. The room was large but lacked furniture. The two-bedroom suite was large but was totally empty. The rooms/bathrooms were comparable to the $10 bungalows around Thailand. There is a new building which appear to be newer and nice but it's in the back of the resort, furthest from the beach. The couple who run the place were cheap and annoying. There was a planned power outage the morning we were there (no hot water) but they never told anyone or didn't put up a notice or anything. Didn't bother eating the breakfast, looked like nothing special, just slices of white bread and fruit. The pool was small and packed. The beach is rocky in front of the hotel. Further along there's a beach but I couldn't figure out why no one was on the beach, maybe it was the sewage pipe 100 metres down. The restaurant service was horrible, ordered cocktails and they never came after even after reminding them.

Room Tip: Take a room in the new building in the back. The more expensive rooms aren't worth it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Beetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

Situated far from most other hotels. Very friendly staff. Beautiful surroundings with lots of greenery. Tried different rooms there, all were fine, though some of them had quite a few ant-like critters. However, when we made the staff aware of this, we got a new bungalow without problems... just as we did, when a monkey jumped down the shower space in the otherwise very romantic outside shower =) We even got an upgrade in rooms. Thumbs up for that (I was really quite spooked!).
A very nice place to stay if you like it quiet. The hotel provides help with excursions, renting of scooters and other wants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kindfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

After spending two nights in awful Patong, we needed peace and quiet. We've been to Ko Lanta several times before and we know that the further you stay from Bin Saladan the more tranquil it gets. Dream Team Beach Resort is located 17 km's south of Bin Saladan, and we found it on Agoda. The reviews were positive and we decided to give it a shot.
If you're not familliar with DTBR you'll probably never find it. Far south and no signs until you're at the resort. There's an upper reception (free Wi-Fi, btw) where you'll be greated. Then you'll be taken down some stairs, towards the sea, to the real reception. DTBR is beautifully located in lush and green surroundings. It's actually difficult to get an opinion how large it is, since everything lies embedded in vegetation.
We were shown to our bungalow, we took one of the smaller. It had a/c, tv and refrigerator. The bed was comfortable. Toilet/shower was a little surprise, it was outside! First time for us, and we loved it! To take a shower outdoors, standing on stone tablets with lush green plants beside you, listening to the thousands of frogs outside, was worth half the price. (1600 bath incl. breakfast)
The restaurant was very good. Great variety of food and very tasty. Breakfast also above average. Try the thai porridge.
The staff is fantastic. Kind and serviceminded. Maybe a few were somewhat poor in english but it was definately not a problem.
DTBR is located by the sea, but there is no beach. Rugged black cliffs make bathing impossible. A five minute strawl north takes you to a neighbouring resort with a little beach where you can bathe in the sea. To make up for the lack of sea, the resort has a lovely pool area with sunbeds and umbrellas.
The resort has motorbikes for rent. A tip is to use that option and be able to explore Ko Lanta, or just to be able to go shopping, or go to another beach.
Free transport at least once a day from the reception and in towards Bin Saladan.
If you don't need a long stretch of a white sandy beach I would strongly recommend you to live here for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernwilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The place next door was so bad we walked over a stream on the beach and came here! It was a world of difference, only 1000THB for the two of us. The rooms had a TV, comfy beds, very good air con and a great nights sleep. The shower/bathroom was odd - it had a mix of very modern decor (eg. stone floor you would pay an absolute packet for in the UK mixed with garish 80's walls). Plus the water was cold (ie. too cold even for Thailand!) but we were only there 3 days so didn't complain (too lazy). Good smallish swimming pool and some nice other residents (family with kids). Also nice sun loungers. The place was very quiet and I think the bar was desperate for custom, he did play music quite loudly (and a pretty good selection) but only during the early evening. The food was ok, bit pricey for Thailand and it was the only meal I got the slight runs in Thailand. The problem was the location and the poor weather didn't help (cloudy some rain, bit of sun). It was lovely to walk along the empty beach but its too rocky to swim and there is a lot of rubbish on the beach left by idiot tourists (how it gets there I haven't a clue as the place is deserted). For the money its superb value you just need better weather and don't mind travelling to a better beach. Also, maybe due to its remoteness its the place I got bitten the most by mosquitos, despite wearing repellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed here 10 days during honeymoon after visiting all positive trip advisor candidates on Koh Lanta south part. Standard Bungalow was 1000 BHT/Day plus 200 for a scooter (to get to a sandy beach) in peak season. No hidden uplift for Dec 24th and Jan 1st ("evening buffet..."). Mixed staff - some very engaged, others more like Zombies.
Beaches in the south are better than the north, but at any Koh Lanta Beach there was a Kind of mildly nettling stuff or organisms in the sea (much weaker than jellyfish which I didn't see). Therefore we didn't swim much as we had no full body swimwear (strongly advised to use)

Strengths:
- very nice surrounding (tropical palm garden)
- quite large and CLEAN pool
- Top Value
- direct at the sea
- Core service was good, breakfast a la carte sloow (but good)
- Allowed early checkout due to health urgency
- Nice people
- good for families - good pool and safer then many other resorts

Weaknesses:
- No sandy beach, only rocky coast in front of the hotel
- Need scooter or their free transport to a beach (leave 10 am return 3pm)
- bungalows doors have open gaps to the outside (up to 1cm), so gekkos, mouses and Mosquitos can get inside
- Ouside bath has no fly screen
- Bad massage service (more stroking than a real massage)
- No Internet available, I did a free urgent session on the manager's office PC
- Doubts if pool deckchair number ios sufficient if resort is full
- Bar plays music until midnight or so, even without many guests.

Hints:
- When we were there,
- Walk 10 mins at the rocky coast to the left to a kind of nice sandy pool between the rocks
- Restaurant food tastes bad (but is safe), however spring rolls, sate, rice and fruits are ok
- ask for a mosquito net - fix it with curtain hooks to the ceiling rim
- Sit down at Bar and watch the lonely sea
- Ask Bar Keeper to turn off music in the afternoon (no guests and anyone at the pool usually prefers silence)
- Wear diving shoes at low tide (stingray!)
- Wear full body Swimwear when swimming, it also provides perfect UV protection

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perfectionist_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Positive - nice, friendly staff, big and clean rooms. Location is on the water overlooking a little rocky stretch of beach.

Negatives - quite dated could use an upgrade. Quite far from closest beach.

Quite a few families staying - good if that's what you want

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antha12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stumbled on this resort after 2 nights staying elsewhere . We called in to view Dream Team thinking we might try another location on the Island even though we were very happy with our previous 2 nights elsewhere .
On arrival the owners were super helpful and friendly and offered a great price to entice us to stay . We stayed for 5 nights and their helpful friendly attitude was always the same as was all the staff . The property is very well run by Mr Surwit and his lovely wife Bunpa ( sorry for the spelling ) and friendly staff . They have been in hospitality for a long time and it really shows. They go that extra distance to make sure all guests are comfortable . We had a lovely clean spacious room and the breakfasts were always fresh with good quick service . The pool was immaculate . Up near the main entrance to the property is a reception area which always seemed to be staffed by the same friendly gentleman who would teach me some Thai phrases everyday when I went to use the free internet . They were all so friendly . I couldnt say a bad word about the place and would stay there again .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrlordhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
390 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
4.4 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 228 in Ko Lanta
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
699 reviews
2.9 mi away
Klong Jark Bungalows
Klong Jark Bungalows
#70 of 228 in Ko Lanta
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanta Paradise Beach Resort
Lanta Paradise Beach Resort
#66 of 228 in Ko Lanta
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Team Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Team Beach Resort

Address: 38 Moo 5, Koh Lanta Yai, Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $10 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Team Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dream Team Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Team Beach Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing